Not Typical

Heyo, back to work after a long weekend, sucks doesn’t it.  If you follow me on Twitter, you know I ended up spending yesterday in the ER like this:

Dehydrated and vomiting every 10 minutes, no seriously, from 7 – 8 am I threw up every 10 minutes.  When I was still throwing up at 2:00 in the afternoon and couldn’t keep any water down, I had Adrienne take me to the hospital.  Then I threw up in the waiting room while waiting for them to see me.  Fun times.  Four hours later I got to go home with a prescription for anti-nausea meds that I couldn’t get filled because all the pharmacies were closed on Memorial Day, and diagnosed with some sort of nasty virus.  I bought Adrienne dinner to thank her for sitting with me all day, and myself a giant smoothie.  I’m feeling better today, but still not 100 %, and I still don’t really have an appetite, which is bizarre, but at least I stopped puking!

Before my trip to the hospital, the weekend was actually pretty amazing.  Friday night, the roommates and I headed out to the Nats game where we picked up $5 tickets and enjoyed the night.

A nasty thunderstorm rolled through, that postponed the game for a little bit, but luckily since we had seen the clouds coming, we’d managed to position ourselves next to the bar before everyone crowded under the concourse.

I called it a relatively early night and headed home by myself after the game ended.  Saturday, we were up bright and early to take advantage of the gorgeous weather, and our first official pool day.  A few weeks ago, there was a Groupon for a summer membership to the Capital Skyline Hotel’s pool for a super discounted price, so the three of us jumped on it.

The crowd at the pool is… interesting, to say the least.  There are a lot of men in teeny bathing suits, and I’m pretty sure the amount of straight men can be counted on one hand.  Needless to say, the people watching is spectacular.  We enjoyed a few hours at the pool before venturing over to Eastern Market for a late lunch/early dinner.

We ended up not going out on Saturday at all, the sun and afternoon margaritas kind of took it out of us, but instead spent the evening preparing for Sunday’s BBQ.  I made Black Bean and Corn salsa, and then proceeded to having burning hands and fingers for the rest of the night.  I blame the jalapeños.

Sunday before the BBQ, Adrienne and I decided to again venture to the pool to even out our tans and get some more sun.  We left around 2 to head home, grab our food, and make a quick change for the party.  The BBQ was officially called Crab Fest, and while the crabs were good, this guy was the star of the show for me.

That’s Watson, he’s fantastic, and I have about 1,000 more pictures of him.  But I suppose other people thought these guys were the real star of the day.

The BBQ was a lot of fun, and I was home and in my bed by 11 pm, unfortunately only to be woken up barfing at 5 am.  Sigh.  You win some you lose some.  I am at work today, mostly because the AC works better here than at home, and it’s going to feel like 105 degrees today.  I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and did not end up in the ER.

12 Responses

  1. Well, I’m glad you’re feeling better. My boss’s son had the same thing on sunday. He wound up in the hospital too. That would suck so bad.
    Glad you had a good weekend despite the sickness though.

  2. How scary! Scott caught a virus like that the night before St Patty’s Day. I luckily didn’t have to take him to the hospital, but ended up calling out of work because neither of us slept that night. Glad you’re ok!

    We were in OCMD and I didn’t get to have crabs this weekend, but there are plenty more weekends down there to come this summer, so it’s on the list.

  3. Glad to hear you’re feeling better, I despite throwing up. I do everything humanly possible to prevent it (which almost never works) so I can’t even imagine.
    Also, that pool looks kind of amazing, and could only be more so if riddled with men in inappropriate swimwear.

  4. Watson looks just like my basset! No one can blame you for 1,000 pics- he’s a cutie!

  5. So sorry you ended up so sick! That sucks. Everything else looks fun though. You have to get pics of the choreographed dancing if it ever happens again!

  6. So sorry to hear about your ER trip. I hope you’re feeling better now, dear! XO Mmm crab!

  7. Ugh! That sounds awful! But it does seem like the perfect weekend up to that point! 🙂 The crabs look AMAZING. I heart sea food…

  8. That is so scary Kelly! I am glad you were able to eventually get better. Eeks!

  9. Whoa. I’m sorry you had a rough time. At least you had a little fun though right?

  10. Booooo that sucks! So sad you had to go through that : (

  11. Glad you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

