• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Grillin’ Season

Good news!  I remembered my purse this morning, and I no longer feel like death.  I spent the majority of yesterday trying to figure out if I was going to throw up on my desk and freezing.  No bueno.  I hightailed it home after work and immediately crawled into my bed and stayed there until my alarm went off at 7:15 this morning, and now I’m feeling much better.  My stomach still feels a little off though, I don’t know, whatever.

With this weekend being Memorial Day and all and the official start of summer weekends and bbqs let’s chat about your favorite summer bbq foods!  Sunday I’m heading to a “Crab Fest” bbq and while our gracious host is providing the main dish, she’s asked us all to supply the sides.

One of my favorite summer dishes is this amazing Black Bean and Corn Salsa.  I made it for the first time last summer, and it is always a huge hit.  Minus the cilantro, I don’t really like cilantro.  This is what I’m bringing on Sunday.

And what’s a bbq without a delicious summertime cocktail?  This Sangria is always a crowd pleaser with both those who like red and white wines, plus it has rum, which is always a nice surprise :).

Now don’t get me wrong, I dig a nice juicy cheeseburger as much as the next person, but sometimes an amazingly seasoned Turkey burger is more up my alley.  These Turkey burgs, combine peppers, onions, garlic and Worcestershire all in the patty, which fills every bite with flavor.

Finally, it’s not unusual to find mayo loaded pasta and potato salads at every bbq, but I personally prefer a version that includes tortellini and Italian dressing.  Season it with McCormick’s Pasta Salad Seasoning and you’re good to go.  I also make a version of this with Riggatoni, cucumber, and carrots.

So there you have it, some of my favorite summer time bbq staples.  What are your go-to recipes when you’re asked to bring something to a bbq?  Go ahead, share some recipes, I need some new ideas for this summer!

15 Responses

  1. Well, now you’ve gone and made me hungry. I could really go for a turkey burger right about now.

  2. That all looks amazing!
    Didn’t I say I’d bring something? I remember saying I’d take something specific but now I can’t remember what it was… Haha.
    Maybe you had food poisoning? Glad you feel better today!

  3. I want sangria and BBQ!! I’m so jealous!! My staples are a 3 bean salad I make with tons of veggies/olive oil/vinegar/lemon and feta cheese along with fresh corn on the cob and Sweet Baby Rays for my baby back ribs. YUMMY!

  4. I made these turkey burgers a month or so ago and I swear to God they were the best I’ve ever had:
    http://stylishstealthyandhealthy.com/2011/04/10/buffalo-turkey-burgers-from-heaven-recipe/

    And this quinoa salad is kind of like a bean dip…but with quinoa…and its a salad….
    http://stylishstealthyandhealthy.com/2011/05/04/southwest-quinoa-salad/

    But those are two things I’m planning on making for all my outdoor summer activities 🙂

  5. I feel like people are either lovers/haters of cilantro. It raises really intense emotions… ha.

    My BBQ staples are brats and some sort of chip and dip (not picky at all… most dip makes me happy).

    And of course something sweet. I find scotcheroos work well bc they’re easy. :p

    • I really really hate it, it was in the salad I ordered at lunch yesterday and I was so mad. Ooooh dips are delicious, specifically french onion dip.

  6. ahhh come home and grill with ASAP pleeaase!

  7. They all look delicious! I might have to make that salsa.. yum!!

  8. I always bring this salad to summer parties and everyone loves it!!

    http://whatkellysaid.com/2011/05/18/why-i-dont-set-goals-a-recipe/

  9. That pasta salad looks delicious. I’m a big fan of a burnt hot dog at a bbq. I usually bring a big salad with dried cranberries, feta and shrimp in it.

Leave a Reply

