• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Class of 2011

I think I may have finally figured out the best time to make the VA -> PA/ PA -> VA drive; Monday’s at noon.  I left Villanova at 12:20 yesterday afternoon and was back in my house by 2:50, smooth sailing.  My sister’s graduation weekend was very fun and very busy, and for some reason her internet in her apartment was acting up which is why this is my first post since Friday morning.

I hit the road to head north right after work on Friday, and made it to my sister’s apartment a little before 8 pm.  I promptly handed over her grad gift, this necklace engraved with a V on the back, and begged her to please feed me.  We headed over to Mixx with one of her roommates and her family where we sat enjoying delicious food and cocktails for hours.  It was late by the time we got back to the apartment, and with a 7 am wake-up call planned for Saturday, my sister and I each had one more drink before calling it a night.

All of us ladies were up bright and early Saturday morning to get ready for the College of Nursing Commencement ceremony held at the beautiful Villanova chapel.

The ceremony was really nice, although somewhat long to go without breakfast and coffee.  I was starving by the time we got out of there.  Luckily champagne was popped and mimosas started flowing like water once we returned to Col’s apartment.  The girls were nice enough to provide their hungry families with a variety of lunch foods to hold us over until dinner after the Baccalaureate mass later that day.

Once my champagne buzz was good and going, it was time to head over to the Villanova Pavilion for mass.  An hour and a half later that was over, and it was finally time for more cocktails and dinner :).

sis and I at Flip and Bailey's

After an early morning, and entire day of drinking, and another early morning wake-up call on Sunday, I was once again feeling lame, and went to bed early while the college grads went out for the night.  With the iffy weather forecast, we were unsure whether graduation would get to be held outside, but when we woke up Sunday it was indeed on as scheduled in the football stadium.

all the nursing students about to officially be graduates

The most entertaining part of the commencement ceremony was hearing the sounds of champagne bottles popping, and watching the corks fly into the air during the whole thing.  I was kind of jealous I didn’t have a bottle to chug out of during the ceremony, haha.  Once actual grad wrapped up, it was time for the grads to head to their respective locations and pick up their diplomas.

yayzies!

After some pics in front of various Nova buildings and such it was, you guessed it, time for more champagne and our 2 pm lunch reservation at Susanna Foo’s.

two of my favorite Nova grads!

Sunday’s day of festivities continued with an after party at my sister’s guy friends house.  There were your typical activities, beer pong, dancing, and cake fights.  Yup, cake fights, the amount of butter cream icing in my hair was sad, only because I couldn’t then eat it.  I did the responsible thing and eventually stopped drinking so I could be DD for the grads, and what does my niceness get me?  Made fun of.  I got called old, and they even went so far as to call me Ms. McCormick.  Stupid boys.  Just wait, you all will be 26 before you know it.

cheers!

We woke up yesterday morning with a tall order on our hands.  To pack up my sisters entire apartment and load the car in about two hours.  They had until noon to get their crap out, and of course she hadn’t packed anything yet.  We stuffed as much as possible into garbage bags, and fitting things in the trunk was like a 3D puzzle.  Somehow I managed to do most of the heavy lifting, and my arms and shoulders are KILLING me today.  Probably because I had to rearrange everything my sister put in the car, she is not an efficient packer, haha.  Somehow we got all her stuff moved out, and I left her and her roommates alone for the cleaning aspect.  I have no idea what time they actually left their apartment for good.

Back to work today, it’s rough, but luckily only one full week of work to get through and then another long weekend for Memorial Day and then summer hour Friday’s start! Yay!  Have a great one!

10 Responses

  1. How fun! Congrats to your sister and her class!

  2. I was just in my old college town of Shippensburg (oddly enough for a work event…) and I swear I felt about 100 years old. Do college kids look younger or is it just me?! I also suspect there is something they add to alcohol now to make hangovers worse and last longer…bc it cannot be that I’m getting old… no I will not accept that.

  3. I really love your dress that you wore to the ceremony… too cute!

  4. Sounds like a good weekend! Congrats to your sister. 🙂

  5. You know, I didn’t go to my own graduation and I’ve only ever celebrated one other person’s. I think I’m missing out. Sounds fun!

  6. That sounds like a fun weekend! Congrats to your sister! You look so pretty in that dress!

  7. Sounds like a great weekend!!! Congrats to your sister!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

