• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Family Tales

So I’m heading home this weekend for my sister’s college graduation, and naturally my mother is driving me crazy (sorry mom but it’s true).  She sent me an email last week with a schedule of the graduation events, times, ceremonies, etc.  After looking at it and seeing there wasn’t anything until 4:30 on Saturday, I wrote back saying it might be easier for me to just come home on Saturday morning.  Then she tells me there is something at 9:30 Saturday morning, ok fine, but if you’re going to send me an email itinerary can’t we include all the details?

Relatively soon after that, it might have even been the same day, I talked to my sister and told her I’d be there on Friday night and was staying at her apartment with her all weekend.  Yesterday morning my sister and I again had that same conversation, and I told her I’d hopefully be there by 8 pm on Friday night.  We also discussed clothing options, but that’s not really part of the story.

Yesterday afternoon I got a text message from my mom asking me what my final plans were for the weekend because neither her nor my sister knew what I was doing.  Really, that’s funny, because I’m almost positive I had a conversation with Col earlier about my exact plans.  Sigh, family, gotta love em, and also want to strangle them at the same time :).  Good news is my sister’s grad present is arriving today, much earlier than expected!

Anyway, like I mentioned yesterday, after work a bunch of us met up at Arlington Rooftop Bar and Grill for happy hour.  It was an absolutely gorgeous night to sit outside enjoying cocktails with friends.

[source]

A few people ordered food, and I have to say it all looked amazing, ok I did steal some fries from people and they were amazing.  Adrienne and I also split some calamari which was delicious.  This was our first time there, and I think we’ll definitely go back soon.  I made it home by 9 pm and was sound asleep by 10:30, that’s a perfect weekday happy hour to me :).

And lastly, if you read nothing else today, read this, because YES!

7 Responses

  1. I think theres some unwritten rule that immediate family only has to listen to 50% of what you say.
    The other night I was telling my dad about how much I liked a restaurant, and he actually interrupted to ask me if I ever wound up going to “that place you were talking about the other day”. Well, if you were listening, you’d know thats exactly what Im talking about right now.

  2. My mom is the same way. I have at least 3 or 4 conversations that are EXACTLY the same every time I plan a trip out. And I also get texts that go like this “Where R U? Weather good? Traffic? Rain here. If driving, don’t text.”

    There are so many reasons I shake my head at that.

  3. My mom also listens to about 50% of what anyone says, talks over you when on the phone, and forgets the other 50% she actually listened to. But I love her. 🙂

    That link was hysterical!

  4. I think all moms are like that. They mean well most of the time 🙂

    The Carrie Bradshaw link is hilarious. I’ve had so many people email it to me.

  5. Haha sounds like my family. We have zero communication skills.
    That place sounds great. I want to go there!!

  6. Yes, coordinating with family is so hard. My 3 sisters and I (well mostly them) do the “reply to all” emails (pet peeve) but it works fairly well most of the time.

  7. Where’s home for you? Elsewhere in VA? I’ve been wanting to try out Arlington Rooftop – it looks really cute! I’ll have to get there before the DC humidity kicks in…

Leave a Reply

