• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The Inside Scoop

So, I randomly posted the majority of my weekend re-cap last night, so if you missed that go check it out now.  Despite once again staying up late on Saturday drinking, my dumb internal clock had me wide awake at 9 am yesterday.  Darren does not operate on my internal clock, so I kind of just laid in bed poking at him and staring at him until he finally woke up at 10:30.

After making some egg and cheese sandwiches for breakfast, we lounged around most of the morning drinking coffee.  Well, I drank coffee, somehow Darren can exist without the aid of caffeine.  I know, it blows my mind too.  It was kind of gloomy out yesterday, so we were having a hard time trying to figure out what to do before his 6 pm flight.  Eventually I decided we should just brave the chance of rain, and head into Georgetown.

We ended up eating at Thunder Burger, which I originally thought I’d never been to, but after walking in I realized I had in fact consumed many glasses of wine at the bar there before :).  When at a restaurant with “burger” in the name, Dar and I both thought it would be a mistake to order anything else, so burgers are what we went with.  Me with a traditional bacon cheeseburger, and him with some weird Bison burger wrapped in bacon.  Mine was amazing, and Dar said his was too.  I’ll definitely be back for more than just wine.

please excuse my 4 chins

After eating, we walked down to the waterfront to check out the flood damage from last weeks storms.  It’s pretty sad to see how damaged everything was, the clean up is going to take a lot of work.  We also got to see one of the lock systems on the C&O  Canal in action, which was pretty cool.  Pretty soon it was time to head home to grab Dar’s suitcase and take him to the airport :(.

The nice thing about living so close to DCA is that we didn’t have to leave until about an hour and a half before the flight.  We got there about 45 minutes before boarding time, and Dar was checked in and ready to go through security 10 minutes later.  I hate airport goodbyes.  I’m a giant baby, and can never keep myself from crying, although I usually make it until I’m walking through the airport alone.  Then I’m just crying by myself looking like a crazy person.

We hugged and said our goodbyes, and pretended that the next six weeks will fly by.  As soon as Dar turned to go through security and I turned to walk back to my car my chin started quivering, and the tears started flowing.  Blah.  I shook it off somewhat quickly, no point having a complete meltdown, and drove myself home.  I’m heading out to Chicago for a work conference June 16, so Dar is going to try to come spend one or two nights with me while I’m there.  It sucks, and the goodbyes just keep getting harder.

Some of you have asked if one of us has plans to move anytime soon, and the short answer is no.  I just moved to Virginia and started a new job 6 months ago, and he has his own company that he runs in Wisconsin that he can’t move.  I more or less signed a contract when I started here that would have me for-fitting some serious cash if I leave before the 3 year mark, and so that is what we’re dealing with.  I also don’t feel comfortable moving half way across the country without a sign of serious commitment (a ring) and a proposal is not in the near future (which we are both ok with).  So yeah, that’s the situation and it sucks, but we’re trying to figure it out.  Theoretical moving date for me would be Nov 2012, if we can figure out a way to be ok with giving money away, but we’ll see what happens.

Anyway, so now it’s Monday and I’m back to work, and it’s May which is absurd.  Facilities threw out my Vera Bradley lunch box, which I’m pissed about, and I have no milk for my cereal.  Great start to the week, haha, but at least OBL is dead?

25 Responses

  1. Throwing out a VW lunchbox should be a federal crime.

  2. Eric and I were long distance for 2 years before moving to Philly together. So while it SUCKS, it’s doable and totally worth it in the end!

    • I know, it just seems so daunting and far away before we might live together, and at least you got to move to philly. Wisconsin does not seem nearly as fun 😦

  3. Long distance is so hard and I’ve failed miserably at it–sounds like you are doing as well as you can with it.

    I think it’s great that both of you are willing to work on it and move and committ when the time is right and NOT just because you miss each other.

  4. I cant even imagine how hard long distance must be.
    Im glad you two are able to find some time together though. Sounds like it was a pretty great weekend.

  5. I’m sorry you’re feeling down and having to deal with that distance. Just try to focus on all the fun you had together this weekend.

  6. boo that’s a lot of long distance but if it works for you that’s all that matters. And I don’t blame you for not traveling without a commitment – I had a hard time just going 2 hours to meet Austin (then bf; now hus) without a ring. It will all work out!

    • Yeah I mean I know it’s what’s in the future, but I just can’t see myself leaving my job, and moving 13 hours away without actually being at that stage.

  7. “Well, I drank coffee, somehow Darren can exist without the aid of caffeine.”

    That’s bothersome to me because I fail to understand it. :p

  8. Thunder Burger sounds awesome. Adding it to the imaginary list I have of palces to eat when I move.
    Sorry about the sad goodbye. That part of LD definitely sucks, but being with someone you love is awesome even if it’s only every six weeks. Or at least that’s my attempt at cheering you up. If I was there, I’d get you drunk, haha.

  9. Long distance is so hard and I have so much admiration for those that can make it work. Relationships are tough when you see the person all the time but they are even more challenging when you don’t. Keep your chin up girl!

  10. That’s a crappy situation to be in…sorry girl. But everything happens for a reason!

  11. You seriously are a strong woman.. I can’t even imagine being away from my man that long. But i’m glad you’re happy 🙂

    • It’s hard, but it helps that I have my friends around to hang out with during the times we don’t see each other.

  12. Oh my heart goes out to you!! When Keith and I did long distance I would bawl at the airport. It was so sad. It was so hard on both of us. I still hate airports to this day because they bring back so many memories!

  13. Hi! I just found your blog. Love it already! I am also doing the long distance thing and this is year 3. 😦 It really sucks, but I truly believe that if both people are committed and willing to make it work, it’ll be fine in the end. It’s not for everyone, so I think it’s great that you two are making it work. 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

