• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Bikram… Spin

Well I made it to spin last night, and I loved it, and hated it.  I’m pretty sure the last time I took a spin class was when I was still in college and my roommates were the instructors.  I always swear it off because my hooha hurts almost immediately after, yes even though you are barely in the saddle, and yes it hurts right now.

It’s funny to take a spin class as a runner who can run 10 mile races and half marathons and considers themself in shape, because spinning is a whole different kind of workout.  No lie, I was tired and sweating 10 minutes in.  That could also be because the fans in the spin room are broken and absolutely no air was coming in or circulating.  Yup, you read that correctly, I have never sweat so much in my life.  The manager joked with me that it was probably like Bikram spin, yeah dude, it was.

But yeah, spin was good, and I’ll definitely go back because I can see it really supplementing my cardio and giving me a kind of workout that running and ellipticalling don’t.  The music was my kind of tunes and the instructor was kick ass and tough, although I do feel bad that he had to teach the 6:45 class right after.  I would have passed out, or slipped off my bike due to sweatiness.

In other unshocking news, I’m already having issues with packing for the weekend.  We’re taking a bus, there will be walking from said bus to hotel, and the forecast looks like this.

I also have to pack tonight because we’re going to the Phils/Nats game tomorrow and I won’t have time.  So far the only thing on my list is rain boots. Uuuh, help?  I hate packing for things this time of year, the weather is weird, it’s always debatable whether a coat is necessary or not, and of course it’s rainy.  Blah.

Also, I have an apt at the lady doctor tonight which I am dreading, because I know I have to get weighed.  I have not stepped on a scale since last July, and I like it that way.  No matter what the number is I know I won’t be happy with it, and I especially won’t be happy with it today because I know it’s higher than it was last July.  It’s going to depress me, and I don’t really want that because despite knowing I’ve gained a few lbs, I don’t think I look that bad.  Ugh, freakin lady doctor.

Well anyway, at least it’s Wednesday and I have a three day weekend to look forward to, even if it is going to be a rainy mess!

8 Responses

  1. Can you ask not to know your weight? Sometimes doctors will weigh you and you can ask not to be told the number. But you ARE beautiful and I just hate to think that a number might make you upset!

  2. I need to try a spin class but I’m scared. 🙂

    My doctor doesn’t let me see my weight. I stand with my back towards the numbers. Maybe you can do that?

  3. I would just like to say that I really enjoy that you use the term “hooha”. That is all.

  4. That is why I don’t spin. I’m afraid my crotch will burn for days. The only thing I want putting my crotch out of commission is good sex.

    • I have to say, you’re right.

      Spinning sucks. Running does far less damage to the crotch…unless you have to run with a pad because you forgot a tampon and it happens to be a really long run. (don’t ask me how i know.)

  5. Whoa, bikram spin? You’re crazy!

  6. I swear, if you wear a Nats shirts to the Phils game tomorrow I’m disowning you. That is all.

    Go Phils.

  7. That’s crazy. Spin is tough! Especially that hot.

Leave a Reply

