• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Losing It

I HURT today, and not just like man my legs are sore.  Hitting my clutch on the drive to work this morning was legitimately painful, my IT band hasn’t hurt this much since before my PT last year, and my left knee is swollen, haha I am a mess.  I purposely parked on the top level of the parking garage so I could avoid all stairs.  If you missed my happy and cheery race recap, you can read it here.  Anyway, it’s supposed to hit 80 today so the roommates and I are grilling tonight, and I can’t think of a better way to spend a rest day.

I also seriously think I am losing my mind, either that or I need to dye my hair blond again.  This weekends happenings alone are a prime example.  On Saturday I had to venture into DC alone for the Cherry Blossom Expo, and I hadn’t used my Metro card in a while.  So while trying to look at it and figure out how much was left on it, I couldn’t for the life of me make sense of the numbers.  You see, I was looking at them vertically and trying to figure it out.  Don’t ask me why, clearly it’s obvious that your remaining balance is printing horizontally.

No, seriously, it took buying a new card to realize I still had $14 left on my old one.  Dumbass.  After leaving the expo I had to find my way from China Town to the Mall for my first kickball game of the season.  Don’t even get me started on how many times I walked in the wrong direction before finally figuring it out.  I need to take map reading lessons, even when Google Maps is telling me my exact location I walk around in circles.

Kickball was fun, even with the hail storm that assaulted us for 10 minutes before the sun finally came out.  I admit that maybe standing out in the freezing cold hail, playing kickball, the day before a race maybe wasn’t the best idea, but it was our first game!  Happy to say we won, and then my team went on to win our flip cup matchup without me while I headed home to rest up.  All that really means is I came home and spiked some Blondies with Bourbon (more on those later).  Oh wait, I had a point to make.

After playing kickball in the cold, and being rained and hailed on, I could not wait to get home and take a steaming hot shower.  In fact, it’s the first thing I did when I walked in the door, I even forgot to take my sports bra off before getting in.  Do I still have to wash it?  Dumbass moment number 2 of the weekend.

The final kicker?  While getting all my race gear together on Saturday night I moved my remote control out of the way, and not five minutes later could not for the life of me remember where I put it.  This happened last week too, so the place I found it the last time was the first place I looked.  No cigar.  Finally I gave up and just went to bed.  I finally found the remote last night in one of my dresser drawers.  Seriously, what the hell is going on with me?  I am too young to be losing my mind.

After the race yesterday, I had a lovely time at brunch with the roommates downing mimosas (I think I had 4) and destroying a plate of Oscar Benedict.  The rest of the day involved lounging on the couch, watching movies, drinking beer and eating blondies.  Not too bad if you ask me.  I’m hoping to do as little moving around as possible today, hopefully no one bothers me.

 

17 Responses

  1. Ha! That’s what my everyday is like. I’ve gotten lost on my way to work before.

  2. aw seeing that little panda reminded me how much I loved visiting DC! The last time I was there was FOR that festival too – beautiful weather!

  3. Haha…the rest of your Sunday sounds wonderful!

  4. Man, I hope you feel better soon. At least you had a relaxing Sunday though.

  5. Boo, sorry your knee is acting up. I am a little sore today after the race too, but I barely trained so I was expecting it.

    My friend and I got caught in the hail storm while were were waiting in line at the expo on saturday. Not cool, mother nature.

  6. I can’t even tell you the amount of confusion I had over my metro card over the weekend. I think I finally got it figured out by the end, but it was ridiculous.
    Sorry about the soreness. Grilling and booze definitely sounds awesome though. Jealous of all that.

  7. Hope you get to feeling better!

  8. Sorry you’re all achy. Ah the joys of running. Seriously… why DO we do this?

    I have blonde moments every day of my life. But I know what you’re talking about with metra machines and such. The machines you guys have in DC are way different than here. I think I lost $5 trying to load a card… ugh!

  9. I played kickball for several years. It was a great way to meet new people and lots of fun. Is it WAKA kickball? That’s the one that I did.

  10. I swear working out makes you lose your mind. I was leaving bootcamp one night and couldn’t find my keys, had everyone looking everywhere. My bf was moving the stuff out of my car (because I also never even locked my car) and I made a dramatic move of putting my hand over my heart, only to find out that I put my keys in the chest pocket of my fleece. oopssss 🙂

Leave a Reply

