• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

For some reason I wasn’t really looking forward to today’s race at all.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t feel like training for it, so I didn’t really, or that I was going all alone to a race for the first time, I don’t know what, but I never got nervous which is extremely odd for me.  For going into the race unexcited, not really trained as well as I should be, somewhat sick, and with a nagging hamstring (geez could more things have been wrong?) I am very happy with my performance at the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler today.

 

Waiting on the Mall for the race to start and sun to come up

 

  • Mile 1: 9:02
  • Mile 2: 8:55
  • Mile 3:: 9:03  <— technically 12:03 because I was standing in line waiting to pee (which I’ve never had to do before) watching the minutes tick by
  • Mile 4: 8:46
  • Mile 5: 9:04
  • Mile 6: 8:57
  • Mile 7: 9:13
  • Mile 8: 8:53
  • Mile 9: 9:27
  • Mile 10: 9:18

I knew from the beginning the race was going to be a struggle.  The first two miles my toes were numb as was most of my body and everything felt like it was taking so much more energy than usual.  I tried to focus on the pretty sights going across the Memorial Bridge, and by Mile 3 was just falling into my stride when I was hit with the “hmm I think I have to pee” thoughts.  It was one of those things that would have been on my mind the whole race had I not stopped, so I just sucked it up.  Some people need to learn how to pee faster, just sayin.

Miles 4-6 were fine and dandy and I just took in the pretty sights of the water around me and blooming Cherry Blossom trees.  At the turn around on the course to head back towards the finish we were running into wind, which was not so fun, but whatevs.  All I could think about was finishing, meeting up with Dani and Adrienne and heading to brunch to drink mimosas.  When I saw the sign that said there were 1200 meters to go I tried to haul it in, but the final hill kind of made that impossible.  One of these days I’ll learn how to save some energy for the end of a race.

Yeah miles 9 and 10 were a little rough, especially the final hill before the finish line, that’s just mean.  I walked through all the water station which were ever other mile or so, because I mostly felt horrible the whole time haha.  Once I hit mile 7 I was just wishing it was over and trying to remember why I sign up for races.  The Cherry Blossom course is a beautiful one though, and there was lots to look at to distract me from how much my knee and legs were starting to hurt.  My IT band is actually verrrrrry cranky right now, which is in turn making me very cranky.  I’m actually really happy it’s almost summer, because I am definitely over racing for a while.  Although I did wear my medal proudly all day long.

 

Will run for BEER (or mimosas or any booze really)

Eh, sorry I’m not more uplifting in my race recap.  I’m just really happy the course was pretty, because honestly I may have bailed half way if it wasn’t.  That’s the kind of mood I was in.  Anyway, I hope everyone else who raced had a great day! At least we had nice weather!

 

23 Responses

  1. I think you did great! I hope you got a nice mimosa afterward.

  2. At least you finished!! Go YOU!

  3. great job, 10 milers are hard to run

    cheers

  4. I am proud of you for doing it even when your heart wasn’t in it. Lots of people would have just said “f” it and gone back to sleep when their alarm went off. Good job!! 🙂

  5. Definitely an awesome job for everything you had working against you. Maybe next year we can run it together!
    Post-race booze are def the best part.

  6. That’s a really pretty medal!

    and good job for just gettin it done. They can’t always be amazing ya know?

  7. Not every race has to be amazaballsyourfaceoff. That is a fallacy. Some are just okay. Your life didn’t change, but you DID run 10 miles. So that’s a good workout!

  8. what a cute medal! i would run it just for the medal, and the pretty course! our wedding stuff had cherry blossoms on it so it excited about them. 🙂

  9. Well i’m proud of you, and i’m glad you did the race! EXCITING!

  10. You really kicked ass! 🙂

    I hope you’re wearing your medal as you take down beer tonight… 🙂

  11. You did an awesome job Kelly! 10 miles is freaking far. 🙂

  12. You still did really good for feeling undertrained!

    This is what I’m afraid of for my half, even though I hate to admit it, I’m about half way through training and I’m starting to feel undertrained. My own fault of course. Hopefully I can pull my shit together before the race.

  13. It sounds like a tough race. You did well especially since you weren’t feeling it.

    At least you got a pretty medal!

  14. […] Cherry Blossom 10 Miler […]

  15. Considering the flat course and the good weather, I guess I was expecting a knock out race, but Sarah is right – not all races can be life changing. Meh (and sucky) races make us appreciate the good ones even more 🙂

    • Yeah I always go into races thinking that maybe for once I’ll have a great one and feel amazing and surprise myself. Never happens though, haha.

  16. I had a tough race too, but hey we ran 10 miles, that is still pretty badass in the grand scheme of things, right? Congrats on your race!

  17. Congrats! I bet the course was beautiful. I’ve heard how lovely DC is in the spring!

  18. The cherry blossoms were beautiful yesterday and motivating. I also have IT band issues and bought an IT band strap for the race yesterday. I was nervous trying it out at a race but am glad I did. I had minimal IT band issues!

    Congrats on finishing, it’s hard when you just aren’t feeling it!

  19. Great job on finishing! Always an accomplishment!

  20. […] of long distance relationships, and oh yeah the occasional recipe and workout. I’ve run a few races, the occasional 10 miler and 5k, and one half marathon, but lately my workouts are more […]

  21. […] if I don’t write it down. If any of you have a better memory than me, you’ll recall I ran it back in 2011 right after moving to Virginia. Let’s see if I can catch you up in bullet point form. The […]

Leave a Reply

