• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

DC Blogger Invasion

After my run Saturday afternoon and crushing some Panera, I managed to drag myself up off the couch and headed over to Northside Social in Clarendon to meet up with about 50 other bloggers and readers who were in town for the Marathon/Half Marathon.  Northside Social is a really cute coffee/wine bar which made for a perfect meet and greet space.

I had a lot of fun meeting some new people, putting faces to blogs, and getting to see some of those that I’d met before as well.

Caitlin, me, and Kacy

Me, Lauren, Lauren, and Megan

Kacy, her SIL, and Steph and I actually hung out for a while after the meet-up ended enjoying some more wine and chatting.  It was a great night, and I was more than ready to faceplant into bed by the time I got home.

Sunday I had the chance to meet up with Tina and Anne for brunch in DC at Zest.  Anne and I both had the Chesapeake Eggs Benedict which was Eggs Benedict with a crab cake, and was amazing.  I think she took a picture of it so check out her blog, since it’s probably a lot better than anything I could take :).

Anne P and Tina

It was great getting to chat more with these ladies in a less crazy and crowded environment.  Both of them ran awesome half marathons and PR’d on Saturday, so congrats again!  After brunch, I immediately changed into sweat pants and immersed myself in a Law and Order SVU marathon, only getting up when the roommates drug me out to dinner with them.  Then all three of us resumed watching crime TV on the couch in pj’s at 6:30 pm.  Only it was Criminal Minds and not SVU this time.

It was a fun and exhausting weekend that left me feeling like a zombie on my drive to work this morning.  So, I’m going to try to cut out some of the booze this week in preparation for my race Sunday, we’ll see how that goes.  I’m getting pretty exciting, although I’m kind of happy I won’t really have anyone there watching me since I’m not sure how trained I really am.  Let the pre-race week jitters begin!

24 Responses

  1. That’s quite the blogger meet up. 🙂 Sounds like so much fun!

  2. My race is on the 10th and I’m trying only drink once before then (next weekend clearly!). We’ll see what happens…

    Glad you had a great weekend meeting everyone! 🙂

  3. What a fun weekend and how exciting that you got to meet some fun ladies!

  4. Your weekend sounded like so much fun! I’m jealous you got to hang with Kacy. 🙂 I have a feeling you’ll rock your race this upcoming weekend. 😉

  5. It was so nice to meet you! We were at Zest on Friday night, it’s a great little place. Hopefully we can meetup again soon.

  6. Oh, and I forgot you work right by my house, right?! We should get lunch or dinner sometime in the Kentlands!

  7. That looks so fun, I’m jealous! I wish I lived in or around a big city where ‘Blogger Meet-ups’ were going on, bummer! So many people I’d love to meet 🙂

  8. Looks like a fun time. I like the detail on your grey shirt!

  9. Ugh Im with you on needing to cut out the booze..its seriously ruining my running plans!

  10. Wow! I’m getting social anxiety just thinking about that. Or a wine hangover. But I’ve found that fake internet friends (let’s call them FIFs, rather than bloggies, which sounds like a diminutive for blog and is weird) are pretty cool. Also cool are those SVU marathons, to which I’ve lost years of my life.

  11. What a fun, meet-up!

  12. envious of you all;! looks like you had a fun and delicious time!

  13. It’s the best week of training; rest week! ha. Hope the weather is better next weekend than it’s been lately : )

  14. It was so good to see you again! Such a fun weekend.
    You’re going to do great at the race.

Leave a Reply

