• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Into the Wind

You know what I like about Saturday long runs?  Second breakfast.  Before heading out on my 8 miler this morning, I stuffed a bagel thin with veggie cream cheese in my face and downed two cups of iced coffee.  I’m currently snacking on a giant yogurt bowl full of Fage, raspberry’s, and half of a chocolate chip Cliff kids bar.  And drinking more iced coffee.  You know what I don’t like about Saturday long runs?  Trying to put on jeans after.  Never fun.

Anywho, after Thursday’s brutal 4 miler I was not looking forward to todays run at all.  It took me a little while to get my butt out the door, but once I did I was glad to be out there.  It was warm and sunny, despite the 35 mph gusts of wind that were blowing in my face for the first 4 miles.  You have no idea how much I was look forward to turning around and having that wind at my back.  It wasn’t my fastest run, and I didn’t feel my best, but I finished and it wasn’t horrible.

Note the difference in pace once I turned around and wasn’t running straight into the wind.  I’m also now sporting a super geeky iPod armband tanline, yay.  The roommates and I are heading out to get pedicures in a little bit, and then over to a friend’s house for the remainder of the day/night.

Last night after work, I met the girls out before even heading home.  They were well ahead of me and had been drinking since the afternoon, so I quickly caught up and enjoyed the joys of drinking outside in warm weather.  At 9:30 when I was driving home, it was still 72 degrees out.  Spring is here!  For now at least.  Alright well I’m off to enjoy my Saturday, I hope you all do the same!

6 Responses

  1. Second breakfasts totally rule!!! And I absolutely agree that putting on jeans after running or working out in gerneral is just not fun. I swear my legs are always huge after I run/workout and nothing fits them for at least a few hours! haha! Have a great day!

  2. I just got back from my run and had my second breakfast, too! They’re the BEST.

    And now I need a nap…

  3. We’ve had crazy winds here too! Like the weather is beyond gorgeous but that wind… almost knocks you off your feet. And speaking of feet, enjoy your pedi!

  4. I cant wait for the warm weather to hit here. The sun came out the second I walked back in the door after my run today. Seriously, whats that about?

  5. It was 80 degrees out here. So nice! I really need a pedicure though if I want to wear flip flops.

  6. I wish I could eat second breakfasts, or anything after a long run. My stomach is an asshole.
    Good job on the run! Wind is the absolute worst. Hate.
    I hope that weather sticks around for next weekend!

Leave a Reply

