• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Kiss Me, I’m Irish!

With a name like mine it’s only natural to embrace my Irish roots, so naturally I am wearing green today and planning on having a few drinks later.  My sister is already indulging in green beers (she’s a senior at Villanova) before her day of classes begin.  That’s probably why she gets A’s in college, and I, well did not.  St. Patty’s at JMU was totally a day for skipping class, especially when it coincided with March Madness.  I miss those days, flashback to 2007!

 

2007

green gin bucket

we called this Roofie Delight

 

 

way back when in 2004, my bff's

 

Both of my roommates took off from work tomorrow, and I am supremely jealous of them.  I have to conserve vacation days for my week long trip in December.  Oh, have I not mentioned that yet?  I will eventually :).  You can assume I’m very excited for it.

I finally made it to the gym last night and got in a pretty good 4 miles.  I started to get really bored after a few, so I alternated my pace between 6.4 and 7.0 every song.  One song at 6.4 one at 7.0, etc.  It helped move things along and keep me from dying of boredom.  Altogether, just short of 4.5 miles in 40 minutes.  I then hopped on the elliptical for another 20 minutes of cardio before heading home.  Well, I planned on heading home, but decided to stop for wine first, which somehow resulted in me  buying $74 worth of groceries.  I never know how that happens.

I finally sat down to dinner at 8:45 pm, and was excited to enjoy my large glass of wine, and chicken teriyaki with rice.  Before I could even take one bite of dinner, my wine glass went toppling over, spilling red wine everywhere, and my glass broke in half when it hit the ground.  It was really the most disappointing thing that could have happened.  I alternated bites of dinner, with sopping up the wine.  The rest of the bottle didn’t stand a chance, and I took it down like a champ before passing out to Criminal Minds.  BTW, doing that inspires reallllllllllllly weird dreams, fyi.

Anywho, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

18 Responses

  1. God I hope my students aren’t drinking green beer before they come to my classes today.

  2. Looks like a delightfully good time!
    happy St. Pats day

    cheers

  3. Happy St. Patty’s Day! LOL at the Roofie Delight. I’m pretty sure I’ve had something similar in college back in the day. So sorry to hear about the loss of that giant glass of wine. RIP! But glad to hear you got your revenge on the rest of it. YUM.

  4. Spilling wine is always devastating. I dropped one of my ginormous wine glasses between the fridge and counter. I thought it was a goner, but it was saved by the bag of dog food. If it had broken I may have cried.

    I’m Irish too, do you think that makes it ok to re-wear the sweater I wore on monday? Its the only green thing I own.

  5. Party foul! Good thing you knew the respectful thing to do would be to finish the bottle….

  6. I miss college days like that. I’ve gone to many a class under the influence. Makes it far more enjoyable. Unless you’re taking a final. I did it once and even though I knew all the material, I failed. I’m pretty sure the teacher knew I was smashed.
    Sorry about the wine. I definitely get upset over spilled wine.

    • I took a history of rock class that I drank during. It was fun. I once showed up to a italian test hungover as shit and stinking of booze. My teacher laughed at me.

  7. St. pat’s is always a blast! Especially in college – oh to have a time machine!

  8. I’ve always wanted to do the 6 am Finnegans Wake party here, but never did. One of these years I will. My Aunt goes every year… yeah, my Aunt.

  9. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Kelly!

  10. Kace, I’ve wanted to go as well, mainly because it’s P&S and any time with them is a good time.

    Kelly, glad the wine didn’t spill into your dinner. That happened with water and a salad to one of my coworkers, she was not amused.

    Happy St. Patty’s Day!

  11. I was going to tape a box of Lucky Charms around my chest when I got to the bars, but everyone started coming over, and I didn’t remember until I got out.

    So, I just settled for the beads I wore on Mardi Gras the week before. Good night however!

Leave a Reply

