• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Travel Day

Well this morning got off to a rough start.  Beginning at 3:30 am when I woke up with a minor headache (I may have accidentally gotten a little drunk last night) and couldn’t fall back asleep.  I heard the rain outside my window and immediately started freaking out about the weather and chances that my flight may be delayed or canceled.  I finally got out of bed at 7, got ready for work, made my lunch, poured my iced coffee, and while trying to get my front gate open dropped my travel cup, and watched my delicious iced coffee spill everywhere.  I almost cried, I was really looking forward to that this morning.

The good news though?  While I was sitting in the ridiculous traffic this morning because of the rain, I got to watch a few planes take off and land, that’s a good sign for later I think.  I also bought an iced coffee when I got to work, and while it’s nowhere near as delicious as mine would have been, hello cinnamon bun creamer, it will do.  I’m all checked in for my flight, boarding pass printed, so hopefully everything goes smoothly later.

Despite not wanting to ruin my blow out, and the just came from the salon smell in my hair, I managed to drag myself to the gym for my run.  6 miles, with 4 at 8:54 pace.  Tiring, but not to the point of wanting to die.  Although, 6 is definitely my limit on the treadmill, maybe 7, Amy I have no idea how you did 9.  The thought of attempting that on Saturday is making me want to cry.  We’ll see what happens.

So I’m going to try to check in at least once over the weekend while I’m away, but if I don’t have a chance don’t worry I’ll be back on Monday with a post full of pictures, I’m sure.  I doubt I’ll be able to stay away from Twitter, I do have it on my phone after all, so feel free to follow me there and see what I’m up to.  There will probably be some vodka/wine/any booze at all induced tweets, so it could be entertaining.

Alright, well I’m off to count down the hours until 2:30 (probably more like 2:15) when I can peace out of here.  Happy Thursday!  Oh, and if you have any last minute suggestion of must sees or things to do in Chicago, leave em in the comments!

16 Responses

  1. already sent you my restaurant recs on twitter. Hope you have sufficient shoes for all of your activities 🙂

  2. Have a great time, hope your flight goes off on time!

  3. I’ll be in Chicago too this weekend — but for a funeral so I probably won’t be able to sneak out. You can’t go wrong with a nice greasy Greek diner for breakfast. Have fun!

  4. I’m so excited to hear about your trip! Have fun! 🙂

    Oh, and 4 miles on the treadmill is all I can do, and that’s really pushing it. I’m far too ADD for any more.

  5. Chicago is a great city! The Navy Pier is pretty awesome. Wrigleyville is full of cute pubs/eateries and shops. My bf lived just outside of Chicago the last 4 years before he moved in with me this summer, so he’s more of an expert than I am. Have fun!!!

  6. Hit up Lucky’s Sandwich Shop on Clark street, just off of Addison. It’s AMAZING. Go ahead, google it. Lou Malnati’s, Gino’s East, Texas De Brazil are all other great places to eat. If you’re staying downtown, Howl at the Moon is a great time, along with Mother Hubbards. Oh! D4 is a great Irish pub as well. The touristy stuff is fun (Sears Tower, Navy Pier, Brookfield Zoo, the Aquarium). I love my city!

  7. Have a fun trip! 🙂 ❤ Chicago!

  8. Happy travels!

    And trust me- it was killa’. But the breaking it up into segments helped SO much. I used to be a bit of a snot about it and would say I don’t want to stop and break it up unless totally necessary, but hey- the mileage happened.

  9. YAY!!! Have fun!!!

  10. My coffee spilled this morning too. Hot coffee. If someone would have been around I would have cut them, I was that mad.
    I’ve done several double digit runs on the treadmill because I’m a wuss when it comes to outside running. It sucks hard, but sometimes it’s the only option.
    Have fun on your trip! I’ll be looking for those booze-induced tweets, haha.

  11. this almost made me want to create a twitter for myself…almost. You’ll just have to BBM me instead. Have a safe flight and I’ll be giving the birthday boy a call tomorrow!

  12. Have a great trip! Be safe! Make good choices! Or at least so-so choices!

  13. Have a fun trip.

  14. I do that too! I hate gymming after I get my hair done. I always try to schedule on a Saturday so she does my hair for a night out!

  15. oh man! i definitely would’ve cried if i spilled my coffee…but at least you were able to get another-not as good-cup. my roommate is obsessed with the cinnamon bun creamer, but i wasn’t a fan when i tried it..maybe i need to give it another chance.

Leave a Reply

