• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Weekend Fun

It’s a rainy and dreary day here in VA, as I believe it is up and down much of the East coast.  A perfect day for staying inside and watching movies, which is exactly what the roommates and I have been doing.  So far we’ve watched 127 Hours and now have moved on to Across the Universe.  The three of us actually saw this in theaters together and then spent the night roaming around the streets of Baltimore singing All You Need is Love at the top of our lungs.  That seems so long ago now. Sigh.

Anyway, backing up, Friday night the three of us headed out to Sushi Rock for dinner and drinks.

 

ready to go out!

 

fun drinks with rock candy

The food at Sushi Rock was average, but the atmosphere and drinks were fun.

 

Adrienne and Dani

Dani and Me

 

Unfortunately after dinner and a few drinks I had to call it a night and head home so that I’d be able to get my long run in on Saturday morning.  I think I was in bed and asleep by 11 pm, I really can’t wait until training is over and I can stay out and play :).  My alarm went off at 7:30 and I was up and out the door by 8:30.  The run wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t amazing either, and I really really need to get over my hatred for the first three miles of every run.

Also, clearly I didn’t run 8, mainly because I ran out of bike path after 3.5 miles and just decided to turn around and come back.  Whatever, I’ll take it.  My IT band is a little tight today, and I’m experiencing twinges of pain every once in a while which is annoying, but I think with some stretching, ibuprofen, and foam rolling all will be alright.  After my run I ended up sitting at the car dealership waiting for my car to get serviced for two hours.  On an empty stomach.  After a long run.  By the time I got out of there at 2 pm I thought I was going to pass out, and couldn’t wait to get food in my face as fast as possible.  Sadly, that’s as eventful as my Saturday got because I was exhausted and in pain.

This morning I woke up, went to the store, and cooked a lovely breakfast of homefries, bacon, and eggs for Dani and myself.  I’m currently walking around looking like a giant slore, because I burnt the shit out of myself on Friday with my curling iron and it looks like a giant hickey.

Classy right?  If only people knew that me having a hickey right now is about as likely as a nun having one.  Hopefully the burn fades soon, and I can at least cover it up with makeup, otherwise I’ll be wearing my hair down all week at work.  Anyway, that’s about it from me for the weekend.  I kind of want to go get some ice cream, but the chances of me leaving the house again are slim to none.  Have a relaxing Sunday!

4 Responses

  1. Curling irons are dangerous! I have a scar on my forehead from my hair straightener, and one beside it from the curling iron.

  2. I was just thinking last night that I’m taking several months off racing after this half because it’s making me so lame. I turned down free concert tickets so that I’d be up to my run today.
    Good job with your run though! Your pace would KILL me, haha.

Leave a Reply

