• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Thunder Thighs

I’ve been somewhat grumpy and down on myself lately, and this post is going to be about that.  So if you don’t feel like listening to me whine and complain feel free to stop reading now.  Although there is a cool video at the bottom, so you can always just skip to that.

I don’t think I kept it a secret that towards the end of half marathon training I started having trouble getting my jeans over my thighs.  Whatever, I chalked it up to the extra mileage I was adding and the muscle I was building.  I used to weigh myself every week, but got away from that habit (I haven’t stepped on a scale since July) because it really messed with my head and would ruin a day if I didn’t like what I saw.  I figured once I stopped training, my jeans would start fitting again.  Then the holidays rolled around, I moved, started a new job, got out of my routine, and probably added 5lbs or so.  That’s a conservative guess.  However, I’ve been back in my routine for a good 7 or 8 weeks now, working out 4 or 5 days a week, and my jeans?  Still too tight on my thighs, and I’m beginning to get very frustrated.

My eating habits are basically the same as they were when I was living at home.  I eat my breakfast, bring my lunch from home, and cook dinner for myself pretty much every night.  I usually go out to eat with the roommates one night a weekend, nothing out of the ordinary.  I just can’t pinpoint what to change to get my freakin pants to fit.  Although they do still fit the same in the waist, it doesn’t matter if I can’t sit down.  Giving up booze isn’t an option, so let’s not suggest that, plus I’m drinking just as much as I was when I was living at home.  If not less, since my weekends have been sort of lame lately as opposed to when I used to trek up to NYC every weekend.

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to think about what I did when I lost all my weight back in 2009, and the main thing I remember is vodka.  Lots of vodka.  So maybe instead of drinking a few glasses of wine at night, I’ll go back to one large vodka and club soda?  Haha, sound like a plan?  I don’t know, I’m just really frustrated and starting to hate on myself a lot, so I thought I’d let it all out here.  Am I just getting old and my metabolism slowing down?  Blah, I hope not.

Anyway, last night Amy informed that the weekend I’m in Chicago is their St. Patrick’s Day festivities, so here’s a cool video of them dying the river green.  Not going to lie, I’m pretty excited!  Yesterday was a rest or cross training day, and since I ended up leaving work 35 minutes later than usual, and hitting more traffic than usual I called it a rest day and headed straight home.  I can’t believe tomorrow is Friday already, having Monday off made it fly by!  Oh, and this time in two weeks I’ll be leaving for my trip :)!

28 Responses

  1. I’ve heard this is a common thing for runners. I’m sure it’ll go away once you aren’t training so hard.

  2. Aw Kelly, don’t get down on yourself. I think you look fantastic. Honestly, its probably just muscle anyhow. That’s a good thing, even if it is annoying when clothes don’t fit anymore. I’m having that issue with my new found arm muscles. My sleeves are super tight all of a sudden.

  3. Might just be that it’s winter. We’re conditioned to “hold on” to fat during the colder months…damn evolution.

    But what the hell do I know.

  4. btw – I’ve always wanted to see the river dyed green! We’d do that up my way…but, well, the river is already green. Or some unnatural color.

  5. That is EXACTLY the reason I had issues with dress shopping. My boobs and waist are too small to fit into the size of dress my ass and thighs need- which is a problem I’ve never dealt with before. I think its the combo of half marathon training and training for the stairclimb… or at least that’s what I’m calling it.

    Currently, I’m lowering my sugar (less desserts) and overall alcohol intake during the week to see if that helps the issue- which could also explain my weird mood this week…

    When I didn’t have a booty, I really wanted one. Now I understand why it’s such a nuisance.

    • Hahaha yes, I feel the same way about my butt currently. See I don’t even eat dessert ever so I don’t know what to cut out! Chips I guess? Also, the one dress I got from VS would be a good vegas dress.

  6. It’s hard to not get down on yourself sometimes. I know exactly what you mean here– when I trained for my first half marathon, I thought for SURE I’d lose weight, but instead I GAINED about five pounds!! It’s frustrating for sure, but try to think of it as muscle and strength gained.

    • Yeah I definitely thought I’d lose weight too, silly me, haha. I’m ok with the muscle, I just don’t want to have to buy all new pants.

  7. Aww, sorry you’re feeling that way! I think it’s pretty common for half-marathon and marathon runners to put on about 10lbs. I’m sure a big part of it is muscle. When I first started running I lost weight but then after awhile I put on about 5lbs (I think my mentality of running a lot to me meant I could eat and drink a ton too) and my body just got used to the running and put on some weight from the excess eating/drinking. I found incorporating spin spiked my metabolism, plus was just great cross-training instead of always running.

    • Yeah, when I first started running I lost weight SO easily. I guess I need to incorporate something different into my workout schedule again.

  8. thunder thighs run in the family, oh, round faces too…I obviously have them as well haha. At least you have those extra 4 inches of super model length on your legs! You’re gorgeous!

  9. The last time I went to Chicago the river was still kind of green (it was late March) but I think it’d be so fun to be there for the real celebration. You’re going to have a blast!

    I totally understand your feelings. It’s so frustrating when you’re doing the same things but not getting the same results. I haven’t been very happy with my weight lately and I’ve tried to ignore it, but it’s there.

    I like the vodka idea 🙂

  10. I could have written this. I’m feeling down and myself and my weight doesn’t seem that up – but the pants are TIGHT. Even some of my workout shorts. I’m going to try your vodka plan – i’ve been letting in too much beer. ARGH

  11. Giving up alcohol is never an option for me either…I’ll just run more! haha

  12. I feel your pain: I am 10lbs heavier than I was in October and it’s all gone to my thighs too, which I’m particularly self-conscious about since ‘Thunderthighs’ was my nickname all through school.

    Unlike me, in your recent photos you still look so trim and toned. Please don’t try to get so down on yourself because to me you look amazing and I’d trade bodies in a heartbeat.

    xxx

    • I’ve always had muscular thighs, it seems that’s where I tend to pack on weight the easiest. Thank you, I’m sure you’re being hard on yourself also!

  13. You are so gorgeous…don’t let it mess with your head!!:)

  14. I have that thigh issue too and it’s such a pain. I honesty think it’s really muscles from running and not from wine.

  15. […] the occasional 10 miler and 5k, and one half marathon, but lately my workouts are more about fitting into my jeans this […]

Leave a Reply

