• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

That Time of Year

Happy President’s Day everyone!  I am one of the lucky people who is off from work today, we get P-Day off instead of MLK Day, and sorry MLK but I am much happier to have this Monday in February off than that Monday in January that was so, so long ago.  The weekend started off delightfully, a Friday high of 75 degrees, and plans for a bbq at some of our guy friends house.  Keeping in mind my planned  7 mile long run for Saturday, I kept myself somewhat in control.  I only had a few glasses of wine, only played one game of beer pong, and leisurely sipped on some Miller Lite for the rest of the night.  The roommates, however, had different ideas for their night and I dropped them off at a bar in Clarendon before heading home and crawling into bed.  I was asleep by midnight.

I woke up Saturday morning at 11 am.  Well first I woke up at 9 to Darren texting me, I told him to go away I was still sleeping.  That should have been clue number 1 that something was wrong.  The last time I slept until 11 am, I’d stayed up until 5 and was supremely hungover.  Clue number 2 was the scratchy feeling in the back of my throat and a tonsil so swollen it was getting in the way of swallowing.  I was not hungover, just exhausted.  I crawled out of bed, and downstairs to the couch where I immediately collapsed in a heap.  I felt like death, and standing up and trying to walk were the most exhausting things in the world.  I knew 7 miles wasn’t happening, I’d be lucky to even get up and off the couch, yet I still felt guilty for skipping my long run.  I have mental problems.

I spent the rest of the day moaning on the couch and complaining to Dani and Adrienne.  I tried to shower to see if that would help me feel better, but I had to sit down half way through because I got tired.  The roommates went out for the night, and left me alone on the couch watching Titanic.  I didn’t even get to see the ship sink because I passed out at 10 pm and slept until 9 the next morning.  I woke up yesterday feeling a little better, but still overly tired with no appetite.  I made it out of the house to have lunch with the girls before returning to the couch.  Sigh, what a waste of a long weekend.

This morning I woke up feeling much better, and made my way over to the gym to get a work out in.  I did 6 miles at about a 9:30 pace and was a sweaty mess when it was over.

I’m currently watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s and doing laundry, fully enjoying this last day of my long weekend.  Although apparently there is some snow in our forecast for tonight, so maybe I’ll have a delay tomorrow?  Anyway, if you’re off today, I hope you’re enjoying it.  If you’re not, well you probably had off back in January so I don’t feel bad for you ;).

8 Responses

  1. Even though I had MLK day off, I want today off too dang it! 🙂

    Hope you keep feeling better and nice job on the run!

  2. Great job on your run! It’s always a good feeling to get the workout down in the morning and then have the rest of the day off to yourself! Glad you’re feeling better 🙂

  3. Im jealous of your day off. All of Canada, EXCEPT for BC of course, has today off too. So unfair!

    I could really use it today too after an entire bottle of wine and only 4 hours of sleep last night, todays not going so well.

  4. Ugh, it’s so hard to keep from getting sick this time of year. I hate it. Glad you felt well enough to run and hope you stay that way!

  5. Hope you’re feeling better!! I have this whole week off for my grad school break, I’m loving it.

  6. aw I LOVE breakfast at tiffany’s!! I wish I’d gotten P day instead of MLK!

  7. Glad to hear you were feeling a little better! And hooray for having the day off! Although now it’s almost over and I feel like I wasted it all at the mall… ugh

  8. I had neither day off. Boo. And I found out recently that although we used to have good Friday off, they got rid of it as a vacation day. WTF? So I don’t have a day off until Memorial Day.

    Sorry for the rant!

Leave a Reply

