• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Sportsgasmic

So how many times do you think Christina Aguilera has sung the national anthem in her time as a professional singer?  I would guess enough times to know the lyrics by now.  Clearly not, as evidenced by her major flub before the start of the Super Bowl yesterday. Instead of singing, “O’er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming,” girlfriend sang, “What so proudly we watched at the twilight’s last gleaming?” (changing “hailed” to “watched” the second time around).  Come on girl, get it together.  Maybe she was drunk?  She certainly looked a little rough.  I’m not going to go on and on about the Super Bowl, the Packers won (yay!) the Black Eyed Peas SUCKED, our party was tons of fun (pictures to come tomorrow), and the commercials amused me.

Besides our party yesterday, my weekend was relatively low-key.  I walked in the front door Friday night as my roommates were heading out, made myself a meat loaf and mac and cheese for dinner, and caught up on some things on the DVR.  Saturday morning I was up bright and early and on my way to the gym to get my long run in for the weekend.  Six miles on the treadmill in about 57 minutes.  I need to find a path outside to run on immediately, because six miles is about all I can handle on the treadmill.  Especially in the sauna like conditions of my gym, I really almost passed out it was so hot and hard to breathe.

The rest of Saturday was spent running errands to get ready for Sunday, and then another relaxing evening at home.  The roommates and I built a fire, rented a movie, and sat on the couch for the entire night.  Yesterday was totally an OMGSPORTSGASM of a day, that started with mimosas at 12 pm when the Caps took down the Pens in a 3-0 shut out.  Rough day for Pitt fans yesterday, haha suckers. (Sorry to any Pitt fans, meh not really).  I’ve said before I’m not a Caps fan, but I do like happy roommates so I reluctantly high-fived them when goals were scored.  There was a brief lull in the afternoon between the hockey game ending and Super Bowl festivities starting, and people started arriving around 5.

We upped the general interest in the game by placing bets on insignificant things like would X-Tina’s national anthem go over or under 1:54 (under), coin toss heads or tails (heads), the Gatorade color at the end of the game (orange), who would have the first commercial (Bud Light), etc.  It kept the excitement up, and held everyone’s interest throughout the game.  I finished up the night with 5 of the 12 things right, the winner ended up with 6.  The roommates and I are going to be living on leftovers all week (not complaining) one of these days our friends are going to catch on to the fact that we have parties so we end up with tons of food and booze, haha.

I managed to keep myself under control while boozing and actually feel pretty good today.  I have a five-mile run scheduled for tonight, so that’s a good thing.  Did you all watch the Super Bowl?  Favorite commercial?  How much did you hate the half time show?

23 Responses

  1. I actually saw one person on twitter who thought it was the best halftime show ever. I know what you’re thinking: what drugs was she on and how can we get some??!

  2. I think she started singing the anthem when she was like 8 or something at local events where she was from. Crazy…I hear she’s a big biatch, but I kind of feel bad for her.

  3. I kind of watched the super bowl – I definitely loved the commercials (well the VW commercials – hearted the darth vader kid!)

  4. Yah, that halftime show was shameful. What was more shameful was when Usher came out and my neighbor said “oh, that’s the guy that signed Justin Bieber”.

  5. I was really disappointed in the halftime show… I mean, I don’t mind the Black Eyed Peas, but they just can’t cut it live without autotune…

  6. I think you suck more than the halftime show did bahahhahah

  7. I watched. I was happy for the Packs. I thought the Doritos commercial and the Bud commercial with the guy singing Tiny Dancer were pretty good, but there were some bad ones. Halftime show… ugh.

  8. The Black Eyed Peas were worse than Hitler.

    (I can say that! I’m Jewish! HEY O!)

    But in all seriousness, they were terrible.

  9. Sounds like a fun weekend! They had the game on at work and wow, when Christina came on it was SO hilarious to see people’s reactions!

  10. I didn’t watch! Actually, I watched the last 10 minutes.

  11. I did not watch the Super Bowl. Here’s why: I cleaned the kitchen on Sunday afternoon, only to discover my roommate and his friends brewing sticky, sticky beer in the kitchen that evening. And making bacon. And generally undoing all cleaning. I was so angry at the world, I declared football a vile, violent sport, and sulked. Bah humbug!

  12. I love your betting ideas.. so cute!! As far as Christina, I kind of feel bad for her. She really is so talented.. it’s definitely a shame! I watched the last 10 minutes or so, but I had it on in the background all night.

Leave a Reply

