• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Delayed

Well hello!  I’m currently still in my bed trying to convince myself to get out and get ready for work :).  My alarm went off this morning, I immediately called our emergency weather hotline, was excited to hear we were opening 2 hours late, and rolled over and went back to bed for an hour.  That means I should plan to get there around 10:30, so I’ve still got some time to relax.

I made it to the gym last night after work and got in a 4 mile run at an easy 9:30 pace, and then I made myself go grocery shopping.  It had been two weeks since I really went and stocked up on food, so I had a big job ahead of me.  In order to not go completely crazy and buy everything (which I tend to do when I shop after a workout) I wrote out my meal plans and only  bought things on my list.  I still spend a butt load of money, but at least I know exactly what I’m doing with everything I bought.

So I finally got around to making my training plan for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler yesterday, and I think it looks pretty good.  Here it is, what do you all think.

 

(click to enlarge)

 

Then after I made it, I realized that the Thursday and Saturday runs scheduled for March 10 and 12 might not  happen since I’ll be in Chicago on vacation with Darren.  Although maybe, because he’ll probably want to go to the gym also.  I guess we’ll see.  It’s pretty much the exact same plan I followed for the Philadelphia Half Marathon, just with shorter long runs on the weekend.  My last few runs I’d been having some sore shins and burning feet, so you know what that means.  Time for new shoes!  I found my favorite Aasic 2100 series sneakers at Running Warehouse for cheaper than in stores, and they arrived yesterday!

Alright, I actually do need to go get ready for work now.  My new cell phone is “On Truck for Delivery” so I’m hoping if I procrastinate enough it will get here before I leave and then I can mess with it at work all day ;).  Happy 1st day of February!

24 Responses

  1. Ha, yes, I always overshop when I grocery shop after a workout. Going in with a list is key.

  2. Apparently this “training” time is way busier than the one I did last year. I’ve been having to reschedule long runs like crazy! No worries if you miss one here and there, though… especially since you’re doing cool things like going to Chicago…

  3. I like the color coding. Very professional.

  4. I need to start shopping with a list. The $98 I spent on the weekend for a week of groceries for just myself is too much. Its a problem.

    Also, I wish my office would open 2 hours late. I would totally be ok with that.

  5. Oooh the new shoes are cute! Enjoy them, I’m sure your feet & shins will thank you for investing in them 🙂

  6. The training plan looks good! Yay for new shoes. I need some too but keep putting it off, even though I work at a shoe store. Odd.

  7. My God, that’s more planning than I’ve ever done for anything in my life.

  8. LOVE the new shoes! And girl, you look GORGEOUS in the previous post!

  9. That’s definitely better than your old plan that had you running like every single day!

  10. You should run in Chicago because the Lakefront path is gorgeous! Maybe less so this time of year, but I suggest getting out there for a bit to see it for suresies.

    • I was thinking about that. But I was also thinking that it could potentially be miserable outside and I’m a big wimp. If it’s nice though I’ll definitely venture out there.

  11. Jealous of your two hour delay! I woke up at 5 hoping to find a text that I had one…nope. So I was up an hour early instead of going back to bed for two…

  12. Hope you get your cell phone soon! And GREAT plan – personally loving the color coding – fab!

Leave a Reply

