• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Lots of Snow Pictures

Well it certainly is a mess out there!  The roommates and I are all snowed in together celebrating our snow day today.  My work let us out around 2:30 yesterday to get a jump on the commute and beat the snowstorm home.  I’m so happy they did because I hear commutes were BRUTAL last night. like taking people 7 hours to get home from work brutal.  Luckily I pulled onto my street just as sheets of ice started to fall from the sky, and made it home safely.

The weather was crazy last night, we had ice, thunder and lightning, and then around 5 pm it finally changed over to heavy wet snow.

After a few rounds of drinks, we decided to venture out in the snow to play.  What do three somewhat drunk 25 year-olds do in the snow you ask, we build a snowman.

Then we lit the snowman’s eyes on fire, or we tried to anyway, they didn’t stay lit very well.  After that it was time to take our drinks on the road and wander  around the neighborhood streets investigating the snow.

It was around that time, as we came slipping and sliding down the street, that we saw our friend Emily’s car stuck at a 45 degree angle.  She was coming to spend the night at our place since she works in DC and lives in Maryland, you remember her she brought us all the cupcakes :), and her car got stuck as she was trying to park.  We dug out the snow from around her tires, and gave it a big shove to help her get out of the street.  We had a fun night playing in the snow and crossing our fingers for snow days today.

Today it’s so quiet and peaceful outside, it’s really nice.  It looks like there may have been some more sleet during the night, because the snow is very crunchy.  It also destroyed the tree in our front yard.

So many of the branches fell off during the storm last night, there’s a lot of cleaning up to do.  No matter the destruction though, the morning after a big snow is always so pretty.

Alright well I’m off to do nothing and enjoy this snow day.  Enjoy your day off if you have one also!

9 Responses

  1. That’s an awesome snowman! I’m jealous. I want a snow day where I can actually PLAY in the snow.

  2. That snowman looks drunk.

  3. My friend lives in Alexandria and said it took him from 2:30 to 10:30 to get home. And that the only snow plow he saw was in a ditch on the side of the road. Crazy!

  4. I love snow days! Have fun! 🙂

  5. For three years now, I’ve been trying to get someone to build a damn snowman with me. Everyone’s too cool. Which I find ridiculous.

  6. Lol…posts like this make me miss living with girl roommates. My husband is fun, but you know…there are just certain things that are more fun with the girls (like drunkenly building a snow man and attempting to light his eyes on fire).

  7. I can’t believe how much snow people are getting on the East Coast. I’m not sure I like it. But enjoy your snow day!

  8. It’s like that here too!!! Enjoy your day off! I think I’m going to venture over to a treadmill. Being stuck in the house is so not my thing!!

  9. Have fun! We had a big snow fall (for GA) a couple of weeks ago. Being off work was nice!

Leave a Reply

