• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Sunday Funday

Well hello, and happy Monday!  I’m here at work today, but judging by the lack of traffic on the roads this morning no one else is.  Lucky jerks.  Instead of MLK day off, we have President’s Day next month, so I guess that’s better than nothing.  After my shopping trip to lululemon on Saturday, Adrienne and I got ourselves ready to head into DC to meet up with some friends to watch the football games.

After a detour in the metro station, when we realized we couldn’t get to the stop we needed to due to track work, we hopped in a cab and made our way into the city.  The bar was a good time, there was flip cup, dancing to horrible 90s music, and of course football.

getting ready for flip cup

Adrienne and I

I ended up calling it a night first and heading on home after the Packers game ended, enjoying a cab ride with a very chatty driver.  Sunday I woke up to the smell of coffee brewing, and Adrienne offering to make french toast for breakfast, and I am never one to turn down a meal cooked for me.  After our breakfast and a few cups of coffee, we actually had a productive day.

I drove Adrienne back to her car at the metro station, which conveniently is across the street from the grocery store so we both got our weekly grocery shopping done.  That’s actually where our productivity ended, because then we went home and decided 3 pm was a perfect time to start drinking mimosas.  I was a few sips into mine when Adrienne came plopping down on the couch and whispered, “I have a secret.”  Intrigued, I inquired as to what this secret may be, at which point she giggled and said, “there’s vodka in here.”  Excellent, champagne and vodka, doesn’t get much better than that.

By 4 pm, when Dani got home from her ski weekend we had finished our first pitcher and were about to make a second.  In my opinion nothing says welcome home like a mimosa.  We spent Sunday watching the Caps game and the other two NFL playoff games, before switching to a marathon of Glee.  Mock me all you want, but I love it, haha.  Alright, well I’m off to try to make it through the day.  Did you all have a good weekend?  Are you off today?

19 Responses

  1. Bad 90’s music is probably my genre of choice. I didn’t even know what to do with myself once when I was at a house party a few years ago and they busted out the Aqua. Yessss….

  2. Ah, I love Sunday Funday. Sounds like an excellent day to me!

    Also, the fact that 90s music is the new 80s music in bars makes me feel ancient. Sigh.

  3. Boo – I have to work today too. Sunday Funday is the best way to head into a work week though – esp. one that begins with mimosas :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. Mimosas are always a good idea!

    We don’t get today off here. We don’t get Presidents day either. 😦

  5. Boo for working on a holiday!

  6. I would SO much rather have president’s day. Most of our holidays are condensed between nov and jan. And then NOTHING til May. NOTHING. NADA.

    Crap. After today I like really have to work for four months. Sigh.

  7. Maybe it is the small town girl in me, but cab rides alone make me nervous. I think I watch too many episodes of Law and Order: SVU. haha
    But I love mimosas!! 🙂 Sounds like the perfect way to spend a Sunday!

  8. I LOVE grocery shopping with a friend!

    I’m not a fan of solo cab rides – I always take a pic of the plate! Weird I’m sure….

    I’m home today but working on president’s day!

  9. Haha, sounds like a fun Sunday! I love Mimosa’s. Vodka can only serve to make it better.

  10. I don’t drink mimosas nearly enough.

  11. Gah… I think I want to come live with you. I like the way you and your roomates think… vodka and champagne at 3? Heck. Yes.

  12. wow, the days of flip cup are coming back to me! fun times!

Leave a Reply

