• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

1-11-11

Make a wish!  Haha I’m one of the dorks that always makes a wish if I catch the clock at 11:11, so hopefully today will be full of good luck and wish making.  So thanks to everyone yesterday for their positive and wonderful comments, if not for you guys I probably would have been drinking by noon.  Some of my real life friends were not nearly as supportive, and were actually kind of judgmental and harsh.  So yeah, yesterday was rough, as can be expected when you’re getting yelled and cursed at all day.  Here’s to hoping today is better.

Needless to say, by the time the end of the day rolled around, I was more than ready to head home and hit the bottle.  I managed to talk myself into a run, thinking that would help get rid of some of the negative energy.  It helped, a little.  I still went home after the gym and made a vodka and soda.  Nothing notable about the work out, 3.2 miles, 10 minutes on the stair mill.

Something that is notable, apparently I am completely incapable of tending to a fire without burning the shit out of myself.

Yes, those are three burns, all in a row.  I have no idea, someone keep me away from the fireplace.  Today, I will be sitting at my desk and staring out the window waiting for it to start snowing, and listening to the country music radio station because it is commercial free Tuesday.  And I’m an emotional cutter.

I don’t really have much to say today, still kind of in a crappy mood.  So, instead leave me some suggestions of things I must see and do in Chicago in March.  Already mentally noted is Deep Dish pizza.  Enjoy your Tuesday.

 

22 Responses

  1. If you are happy, your friends will come around. Drama gets old really quickly, and in the end, good friends will want the best for you. Today will be better, I promise. PROMISE.

  2. Yikes, sorry yesterday was such a bummer. Just remember– only YOU know what’s right for you. Your friends will come around eventually…they’re probably just being protective of you because they don’t want you to get hurt!

  3. Sorry your friends were so harsh. I’m sure its only because they love you though. They’ll come around, and if they don’t, you can always move to Canada. 🙂

    • Haha Canada huh? No, they thought I was being an insensitive bitch. Which, maybe I was, but they’re not concerned with what I’m doing at all.

  4. I’m sorry you are having a bad day. I hope today is better for you.

  5. I make wishes on repeat numbers, too… old habits die hard.

    Cloud Gate, Hancock Building, Crowne Plaza, Lincoln Park Zoo. Architecture tour if it’s nice. Eat at a gourmet hot dog stand.

    Navy Pier is ridiculously overrated. As is Gino’s deep dish – go for Lou Malnati’s or Giardano’s.

  6. Go to the Signature Lounge in the Hancock Center and have a drink, the view is amazing and one costs as much as the admission on the observation deck.

  7. Aw, I agree with others that your friends are just worried about you. Still, cussing at you might be a little extreme 😉 Hope today is better 🙂

  8. I can understand where your friends are coming from–mine have been the same way lately. I know though that its totally rooted in love and their need to protect me. Also I think it’s easier for us to stay postitive because we’re outsiders looking in; your friends know all the dirty secrets, bad times, tears. We’re more objective opinions.

    End of the day, you need to do what’s right for YOUR life, not what your friends are saying they’d do in THEIRS. As long as you’re happy and he’s treating you well they will 100% come around. Been there.

  9. Agree about the Signature Lounge. Do the touristy Navy Pier/Bean thing. Who cares if it’s touristy, it’s fun! My SIL would have more recs. I’ll see what she says and get back to you.

  10. I always wish at 11:11 too!!!! I feel like we should be able to make extra wishes today!!!

  11. I’m sorry these past couple days have been rough. Ultimately, this blog is for *you* and *your* thoughts–if you were ready to talk about it, then I see no reason why you shouldn’t have. Ah, drama. Just keep Chicago dreamin’ to take your mind off things–it’s such a fab city to visit.

  12. Sometimes when shit gets me down, I think to myself: ‘will I care about this 6months from now? A year? 5 years?’ It helps me get perspective.
    Also sometimes I buy a loaf of bread and beat the shit out of it 🙂
    You’re totally justified in feeling crappy, I would too! I hope you manage to work yourself out of it…when you feel ready.

Leave a Reply

