• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Here We Go

So what do you do when the boy you once said “yes” to spending the rest of your life with, is now the man standing in front of you telling you he wants to be with you and you are the love of his life?  Good freakin question.  For one, when your New Years Eve plans fall through and he offers to drive down to Virginia to spend it with you, you say yes.

Yes, The German, (Darren from now on) was my NYE dinner guest who I pulled out all the stops for.  He is also the one who brought me the gorgeous flowers.  Pretty amazing that he remembered my favorite kind all these years later.

spoiling the baby

Pumpkin was happy he was here too, since he spoiled her rotten and gave her lobster and filet!  The two of us enjoyed our laid back NYE together, the last one we celebrated with each other was 2004-2005, and drank wine, some vodka, and a champagne toast at midnight.  We spent our night on the couch watching a movie and enjoying a fire.

2004-2005 NYE

Saying goodbye the next day was hard, and sad.  He had to go back up to PA to get ready to really head home, to Wisconsin.  That was when we started to throw around the idea of me making a trip out to visit in March for his birthday.  Then we also started to wonder if we were crazy for even trying this again, but as the days have gone by since last seeing each other, we realized we do still miss each other.  A lot.  We finalized plans for the trip last week, and decided to make it definite.  So today, I bought a plane ticket.

The plan is to spend a long weekend in Wisconsin, with maybe a night or two in Chicago.  I’ve never been, so I’m pretty excited, and so is this chick.  Maybe it’s crazy to start this again after it being over for four years, but I know how I feel, and I think I know how he does so I think we at least have to see what happens.  We always used to say that we met too young, maybe that’s true, and we really just did need to grow up separately before we could work together.  It sure will be interesting to see where things go from here.  All I know is that since I saw him on December 23, I haven’t stopped thinking about him and missing him makes my heart hurt.  The kind of missing someone where if you think about it hard enough, you can imagine how he smells when  you hug him.

I haven’t written about this until now for a few reasons, mostly to try to avoid hurting the feelings of someone else, but I feel like I need to.  My sister said that there would never be a good time, and this blog is my space to get out my thoughts.  What’s the point of having it, if I’m just going to write about crap and not be honest.  I know it’s crazy, and absurd, but thinking about this trip is making me so incredibly happy and I can’t wait.

So it’s looking like 2011 is getting off to kind of a crazy start, I’ll be sure to keep you all up to date on how things progress.  Honestly, I never thought things would take this turn, but I’m willing to see what happens and where it all goes.

37 Responses

  1. That is exciting! I think most people have those guys in their past that you wish it could have worked out with but circumstances made it too difficult. Looks like you are getting the second chance so many people miss out on. Good luck 🙂

  2. I got a little choked up reading this, I’m not going to lie.

    I know what it feels like to find someone again after being apart and I couldn’t be more happy for you!

    • My sister still will just randomly text me “i can’t believe this is even happening”. No one thought this would happen, it’s weird haha.

  3. Go for it! You’ll never know what happens unless you do, you know?

  4. This has it all: drama, love, secrets, cat pictures, and the upper midwest. I love it! You are young and living the dream. Best of luck to you two!

  5. So I teared up a little reading this. Its something I’ve always dreamed about happening for myself, and it kind of did happen years ago, but it just didn’t work out. You guys definitely need to give it a chance. When someone means that much to you, if there’s even a slight possibility, you need to know.

  6. I think it’s always worth giving someone a second chance, because either it works out or it doesn’t but you don’t have to wonder “what if?”.

  7. Awesome story 🙂 I cant wait for the update after the big trip!!

  8. Oooh, very exciting!!!! Your life is like a movie!! 🙂

  9. Things will work out the way they are supposed to, but until then take risks and enjoy it! We’re only young once! So happy for you.

  10. You have to do what feels right for you. You’re the only one living your life. I hope you have a great trip!

  11. long distance relationships are taxing and brutal…but sometimes they are worth it. my husband and I were long distance for the first year or so of our relationship. Now when he makes me angry I stop and try to force myself to remember how awful it felt when I used to miss him all the time 🙂

  12. I had a hunch this was what was going on behind the scenes!

  13. You definitely deserve to be happy. And good for you for having the balls to tell the story and be so honest. It should definitely help you to figure out what you’re thinking and feeling; sharing it and having people comment. I’m in a sitch that I actually wish I could do that with but I really can’t; I havent even had a chance to really talk to him about it, so putting it online first wouldn’t be fair to him, ya know?

    Anyway. YAY FOR YOU AND THE GERMAN! Everything happens for a reason…and may i say if this does work out it could be a frickin movie? haha. Keep us posted : )

  14. oh i think i am wayyyy behind! what happened to alex??

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  15. It’s funny how important timing is to a relationship isn’t it? Personalities and and morals of two people can align, but if the timing is off then things just don’t seem to work out.
    It sounds like the timing is now just right for you and The German and I hope everything works out for you. You deserve to have a wonderful relationship.

  16. i just found your blog and read your series of “love” posts and after reading them one by one and seeing this one i really hope everything works out this time around

  17. Hi there!

    I just found your blog, and the only thing I’ve read is the LOVE story posts. I’m glad you’re feeling more confident in yourself, but I do want to say that having worked extensively in the domestic violence field, the arguments where your friends ran away or hotel security checked on you and lamps were broken are very, very bad signs. It’s been a few years, so perhaps you’ve both grown and matured, but please be careful! Domestic violence is proven to escalate over time, both in frequency and severity. If someone is so out of control angry that s/he breaks a lamp, what’s to stop him/her from breaking an arm someday unless s/he figures out how to take charge of those emotions? I hope this is not an issue for you, but please be careful!

  18. I just came across your blog today and I must say, I can relate. I had a very tumultuous relationship with a man that turned into this on and off thing for 7 years. After our last breakup (which lasted 1.5 yrs and zero contact) we re-connected. With time and maturity on our side for the first time, I’m happy to say that on 1/28/11 we got engaged.
    I’m so happy to be marrying my best friend. I wish you two the best. 🙂

  19. […] Posts My Liver Needs a Rest DayAboutHere We GoWanna Eat What I Eat?My Love StoryThe EndHey, Did you know it's Hot?The Saga ContinuesAll About ITB […]

Leave a Reply

