• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Feeling Blue

So many sad and depressing things about today.

  1. No more holiday cups at Starbucks
  2. Not a day off until February
  3. It’s January
  4. It’s Monday

Grumpy enough for you?  Good, then you’re clued in as to how I’m feeling today.  At least it’s not February?  Sigh, I promise I’ll cheer up as soon as I finish my coffee.  I was hit hard with the end of holiday/vacation blues on Saturday and Sunday, it didn’t help that I was alone.  Saturday I spent the whole day on the couch watching Lifetime, only moving to go out and pick up some Chinese food when I thought I might actually die of starvation.  At least I had these pretty flowers to look at and feel happy :).

My absolute favorite flowers

Sunday brought much of the same, except I didn’t even get out of bed until about 12:30, again to only go pick up food.  I watched the entire Season 4 and half of Season 5 of Dexter yesterday.  I’ll let you do the math and figure out how many hours that is.  The roommates finally returned from Pittsburgh around 6:30 and I was so happy to see them, and to hear about their weekend.   Then it was back to watching more Dexter.  Watching it all in a row like that is so much better than waiting for a new episode from week to week.  It’s like a never ending Dexter movie, and really, who can complain about that.

So, somehow with moving, starting a new job, getting adjusted to the area, the holidays, I kind of forgot to work out for the past two and a half weeks.  Kind of shocking since I’m typically a freak about things like that, but I’m actually ok with it.  Today though, I’m hoping to end the non-working out streak, since I am signed up for a 10 mile race in April and I would really like to run 1:30 or below in it.  The real problem is I still don’t have my gym situation figured out.  I never joined the one across the street from work because our fitness facility in work is scheduled to open in January or February.  The gym I do belong to is closer to my house, which means I have to convince myself to go after my 40-50 minute commute home.  Blah, someone motivate me!

Um, alright, I guess that’s enough complaining for a Monday.  I have a feeling a full five-day week might be torture.  Good luck everyone.

20 Responses

  1. Chin up, Charlie! Lots of winter drinks to be drunken yet this season. There’s Super Bowl Sunday and winter nights under a quilt. Life will be back to the newawesomenormal before you know it.

  2. Yeah, the first Monday after a long holiday sucks…but at least you have those beautiful flowers!

  3. I don’t have another day off until March! Last night I was very, very cranky.

  4. I’m soooo with ya on how you feel.

    When I realized there are no days off until Feb, I made the decision to probably insert a random vacation day into the mix at some point. For sanity’s sake.

    On the day after Thanksgiving, I went through the entire 5th season of Weeds. Nonstop. I’m cool.

    • I know, I may need to do that too, although with perhaps some traveling coming up I may need to save those days. Hmmmm… cheese and guns?

  5. I feel ya. I didn’t have the blues post-Christmas but now they’re hitting me hard. Blah.

  6. I have today off. That probably doesn’t help you to know, but I thought I would share.
    Actually, I’m not confident that we’re closed today, but I haven’t gotten an angry call yet so I figure I’m good. 🙂

  7. TV show marathons are the best.

    The question is, after that much Dexter…who are you in the mood to kill? 😉

  8. I have a case of the post holiday blues myself, and when Starbucks is done with those festive cups…I get extra depressed.

  9. I don’t have a day off until April, so it could be worse!

  10. Ugh, I know what you mean. This is the worst time of year. But hey, there’s Valentine’s Day! Here’s to hoping it will be a good one!
    On a positive note, those flowers are BEAUTIFUL! 😉

  11. Stargazer lillies are my all time favorite too!!! And this is the time of year I always watch TV shows on DVD. Last year I got into Glee, once it was Mad Men… its way better.

Leave a Reply

