• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Snowed In

Yesterday was, I think, the third big snow storm of 2010 for the Philadelphia area and snow totals are measuring almost 12 inches.  Originally my plan was the head back down to VA today, but with the drifting snow and high winds, my butt will be staying put until tomorrow.  Luckily my job is awesome and was closed today anyway, and I used a floating holiday to take tomorrow off.

There was no way I was missing out on my friend Michelle’s homemade gravy (sauce) and meatballs yesterday, so despite the rapidly accumulating snow I braved the roads and drove to her house.  The last time I saw her was before Thanksgiving, so it was nice to catch up on work drama and see how her wedding plans were going.  She showed me all the photos from the Engagement shoot and they were so cute!  After dinner and some wine, it was back out into the snow to clean off the car and make my way home.  The roads on the way home were getting worse, and my sister and I saw a car flipped over on the side of the road against some trees.  The rest of the night was spent huddled on the couch watching Easy A and Inception.

This morning I woke up to gusting winds and snow everywhere, and the pilot light for our fire-place is out.  It is a winter wonderland outside, albeit a bit chilly (9 degrees).

I think we are supposed to try to make it to my Aunt’s house in NJ later today, but my mother is MIA and not answering her cell phone or work phone so I’m not exactly sure.  Enjoy the snow if you have some, if you’re at work, I’m sorry!

8 Responses

  1. I’m not sure why but I didnt think this storm was such a big deal. Then again I’m probably just used to blizzards at this point ha.

  2. The snow sure is pretty, but it can be such a hassle!! Glad you were able to take tomorrow off. That way you can enjoy the snow instead of getting stressed about it.

  3. Gah, that would kill me! I’m not good with snow. But that’s awesome that you got some extra days off work. I was off today, but it’s back to the grind tomorrow.

  4. We got like an inch. I miss real snow, especially the kind that gets you out of work!

  5. I got 18 inches up in Boston! They closed my work yesterday too and had a delayed opening of the office today (which I didn’t know and hoofed it to be in by 9, grrr).

  6. GOSH DANG everyone’s got snow but us! I want snow!!

  7. oh wow!! I can’t imagine being snowed in!! GA got a bit of snow – colo got a lot when we travelled but luckily we were there before the snowstorm hit.

  8. Hope you’re staying warm!

Leave a Reply

