• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Sad It’s Over

Well Christmas has officially come and gone, and I’m pretty sad about it.  Now there is nothing to look forward to about winter and bitter cold temperatures except maybe the hopes of a snow day.  Speaking of snow, while we did not have a white Christmas, I’m currently sitting on the couch waiting for the huge snow storm that’s expected to hit.  Christmas was a great one this year, and Santa was very good to me.

 

The tree!

presents!

 

My mom’s sister and brother and their families arrived at our house on Christmas Eve for appetizers and cocktails before we headed over to the restaurant for dinner.  We used to cook a whole big meal like Thanksgiving, but as everyone has gotten older it has just become easier and more fun for everyone to go out to dinner.  The past two years, instead of my sister, mom, and myself making the trek down to New Jersey, the family has been coming here.

 

sisters

 

And yes, I am wearing the exact same outfit that I wore for my Christmas party in VA last week.  Whatever it’s a very Christmasy dress!

 

with our favorite uncle

 

Then my mom and Aunt started urging me to open one of my presents, even though it was only Christmas Eve.  Typically we are a family that opens stockings on Christmas Eve and all the presents Christmas morning, but hey if they really wanted me too who was I to argue.  Very glad I did, because look what I got!

 

eeeeek!

 

It was super geeky how excited I was when I tore off the wrapping paper and discovered my fantastic new mixer.  The roommates better prepare themselves for lots of baking adventures and get their appetites ready.  A little before 8 we made our way across the street to Christine’s for dinner.  Everything was amazing, I went safely and ordered Vodka Rigatoni, but stole some of my sisters meal which was incredible!

 

Lobster and Crab Ravioli, topped with crab meat and Shrimp

 

So good, and definitely what I’ll be ordered if I return to Christine’s any time soon, minus the shrimp though since I don’t like those.

 

cheers to Christmas!

 

After dinner my sister and I said goodbye to the family, and goodnight to our mom who was heading to bed, and made our way over to Darren’s house to hang out with him and his family for a little while.  His little brother and sister were 8 and 5 when we started dating, so it’s was so weird to sit and hang out with them as a 17-year-old boy and 14-year-old girl.  We had a great time sitting around the table talking, laughing, and having a few drinks, and before we knew it, it was 3:30 in the morning and time to head home.

Christmas morning I woke up to my sister climbing in bed with me, just like when we were little ;).  We slowly made our way downstairs, where I immediately put on a pot of coffee.  Then it was time for presents!  Along with the Kitchen Aid mixer I ended up with season 1 of Glee, The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook, the North Face long puffy jacket I asked for, some clothes, and every single old family video on DVD.  Obviously the rest of the morning was spent watching those old family videos and laughing so hard there were tears in our eyes.

There was another Christmas party at our neighbors house last night, where we enjoyed a full Italian feast.  Todays plans are somewhat up in the air because of the impending storm, but we’re supposed to go to my Aunts and then tonight I’m having dinner with my girlfriends.  The original plan was to head back down to VA tomorrow, but I may be stuck here until Tuesday.  I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and enjoys the rest of the time with their families!

6 Responses

  1. Still have New Years to look forward to, right? We actually did have a White Christmas here in Atlanta. It was the first time it snowed on Christmas day since the 1940’s!

  2. Seriously jealous of the mixer.

    But it’s cool. I guess we can still be friends. :p

    Glad you had a great day! 🙂

  3. You will LOVE the mixer and wonder how you ever existed without it. Have fun : )

  4. SO jealous of that mixer!!! I keep trying to convince my mom to let me steal hers. She hasnt gone for it yet.

  5. I would love that mixer! My little hand one just barely does the job…

    I think giving old family movies on DVD is an awesome gift idea!

  6. I have some post-Christmas blues also. But it was such a good one so I’m thankful for that!

Leave a Reply

