• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Snowy Night

Well the snow fell here pretty much all day yesterday, and they let us out of work about two hours early which was awesome and definitely saved me some time on the drive home.  Don’t get me wrong, it still took an hour, but it very easily could have taken two if I had waited until 5 pm to leave.  I stopped at the grocery store on the way home, and I think the contents of my shopping cart were amusing other people.  Three bottles of red wine, two bundles of fire wood, ricotta cheese, and garlic.  I bet they were jealous of the night I had planned ;).

The parking lot of the grocery store was an unplowed mess, so please picture this if you will.  Me, trying to push the grocery cart through a few inches of slushy snow, in heels.  Got a good visual, I assure it, it was as hilarious as you’re imagining and I came close to wiping out multiple times.  I made it home without any other major incidents, despite the streets of my neighborhood being completely unplowed and slippery, and was met by cheery roommates already well into their first bottle of wine.  I made my way right to the kitchen to start making us a good dinner for a snowy night, and they poured me a glass of wine and uncorked a second bottle :).

the house in the snow

Dinner was Zucchini and Yellow Squash Lasagna.  I’m still trying to figure out the difference between cooking with a gas stove and electric, so it wasn’t my best effort (some of the veggies burnt in the oven) but the girls still loved it so I’ll call it a success.

The rest of the night was spent sitting in front of the fire, and drinking almost two more bottles of wine.  Yes, that would be almost four for the night, haha.  We watched Charlie Brown Christmas, and Adrienne prayed the high school she teaches at would have a two-hour delay this morning, which it did!  The bundles of fire wood had been sitting outside in the snow at the grocery store (way to go Harris Teeter) so they were somewhat damp, and in order to dry them out we had this set up going on for a while.

We may actually be trying to burn the house down

Smartest idea to have the fire wood lined up and leaning into the fireplace? No, probably  not, but it was sure effective!

Roommates enjoying the fire

It was a great night, with the roommates, and fun continues tonight as one of our other best friends from college and my sister arrive for our big Holiday party tomorrow!  Lots to do tonight and tomorrow before then, but first I have to make it through the work day, sigh.  Happy Friday, one week until Christmas!

9 Responses

  1. It’s so weird that you’re getting snow down south whereas there hasn’t been more than a few flurries up here. Oh well. You can keep it, as far as I’m concerned. Have fun shoveling if it comes to that!!

  2. I’m jealous you got to leave work early. I hate driving in the snow. I don’t usually have any problems, but no one else can figure it out. Such a mess!

  3. god knows I love my husband and I love living with him, but entries like this REALLY make me miss living with my girlfriends 🙂

  4. Your house is so cute!!! I love how cozy it looks!

  5. That lasagna looks delicious! I wish we had enough snow to get out of work early. We only got a light dusting. It was still pretty though. 🙂

    Have fun this weekend! 🙂

  6. Nice groceries. Sounds like you’re going to get hammered while trying to burn the house down.

    That would make for one hell of a party… have fun this weekend! 🙂

  7. Aw i’m so jealous of the snow!! But sounds like you have an amazing weekend in store!

  8. The best part of snow is sitting inside and drinking wine with friends, especially when it gets you out of work!

  9. I want to make a fire in our fireplace but I’m scared of burning the house down too. Was it easy to do? I don’t know if I’ve ever actually made a fire.

Leave a Reply

