• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Taking Advantage of DC

Yesterday, in an effort to have a productive Sunday, Adrienne and I decided to take full advantage of the things DC has to offer and once again hopped on the metro and headed into the city.  Three stops later we were at our destination and braving the rainy gray day to head to the Newseum.

As a former Journalism major in college, I was totally geeking out with excitement over this.  The Newseum has been on my list of places to visit in DC since I found out it existed.  It totally lived up to my expectations, and we spent almost four hours exploring the six floors.  With exhibits featuring 9/11 and Hurricane Katrina I found myself choked up with emotion, and having to hold back tears.  Then there was the Sports Photography exhibit with featured photos by Walter looss that made me want to break out my camera and really learn how to take pictures.  I could have spent hours in the News History Gallery with the collections of historic magazines and newspaper stories.  I almost shelled out $40 for the hardcover book featuring every photo to ever win the Pulitzer Prize after exploring the gallery.  The Newseum has officially become my favorite museum, and I can’t wait to go back again.

East German Guard Tower from the Berlin Wall exhibit

West German side of the Berlin Wall, the East German side was completely blank

Great quote

Wall of 9/11 Front Page Stories

Part of the satellite tower that fell

Awesome quote in the 9/11 exhibit

Seriously recommend checking out this museum if you are ever in DC, there is so much to read and see and it is so interesting.  In fact, if you’re in town and going, invite me!  I want to go back!  After our day at The Newseum, Adrienne and I made our way back to the metro, Newseum umbrella souvenirs in hand (the rain really picked up while we were inside) and then it was over to the grocery store to do our shopping for the week.  When we finally got home, I got right to business in the kitchen making some dinner for the two of us.  My favorite, Parmesan Crusted Chicken stuffed with Asparagus and Mozzarella Cheese with a Lemon Poppy Seed Sauce.

brocoli and Rice Au Gratin

So good and a perfect Sunday night meal to end the weekend.  After dinner I sat on the couch with a glass of wine, in front of the fire, watching White Christmas.  It was a fantastic weekend in VA and DC and I can’t wait until the next one!  Also, I found out I got into the DC Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, so it looks like I officially have another race to look forward to and train for 🙂  Who else is running?!

I woke up this morning to a dusting of snow covering the grass and cars, it was so pretty!  I also am completely scatter brained today and left my work computer sitting in my living room.  Luckily I have training from 1-5 pm today and there is a computer I can use until then.  Sigh, haha, one day I’ll get it together.  Happy Monday!

21 Responses

  1. There is nothing I love more than a good historical news display! I bet I would LOVE LOVE LOVE the newseum! I’m so jealous you got to go! & that chicken looks amazing…do you have a recipe?

  2. I love the newseum! The other one I really love is the Crime & Punishment museum. I considered running the Cherry Blossom 10 miler since I am usually in DC during that time, but decided against it at the last minute.

  3. That place sounds so cool! I would definitely have teared up too.

  4. I was at the Newseum this summer, and was totally in love. I’m a news junkie to begin with, but I thought it had wide appeal. The Germany exhibit wasn’t up yet when I visited, but I hear you on the 9/11 part – there is a video in which some of my old coworkers spoke!

  5. I’ve never been to the Newseum but I have always wanted to go there. I would definitely get choked up during the 9/11 part as well.

    That chicken looks so good! You definitely should post the recipe! 🙂

  6. Other than my stairclimb up a skyscraper in Feb, I don’t have any races planned! I should get on that… my motivation is starting to slip a little.

    When my family and I were in DC in August, we had heard about the Newsuem and had gotten good and bad reviews on it.

    I’m sort of sad we passed it up…

  7. I got into the Cherry Blossom too! I registered with a group of friends so a bunch of us will be heading down from Baltimore to run it. I’m pumped! DC is sooo gorgeous during cherry blossom time 🙂

  8. I really wanted to see that while I was there. I’ve got to plan a trip back to DC so I can see more. Looks amazing!

    Congrats on getting into the Cherry Blossom, that’s awesome!

  9. I also got into the Cherry Blossom. I plan on winning.

  10. I love DC and am always looking for new stuff to do down there; last time I got into the white house ha. But this is def on the list now, looks really cool. Whenever I get back there…

  11. I’ve never been to the Newseum, but will put it on my list of things to do.
    I’m also running the Cherry Blossom 10 miler and am so excited – it will be my first time running the race.

Leave a Reply

