A Little Detour

Wooo Friday!  Today is pretty much like a half day for me since I am leaving at 11 to attend the department Christmas party at some godknowswhere country club in MD.  And yes, I am wearing a Christmas outfit, in fact it’s the exact same outfit I wore to my company Christmas party last year.  New company this year means no one will know, haha.

Last night, thanks to some ill advice from my GPS, it took me almost two hours to get home.  I thought I’d be smart and use the detour feature to avoid some traffic, but instead ended up taking a lovely scenic tour of Maryland, DC, and Georgetown.  It was lovely really, and I drove past Georgetown Cupcake and saw them filming!  At least now I know where all the good shops are in GT?  Anyways, by the time I finally made it home I was in no mood to cook and just heated up some leftovers from Wednesday night, poured a glass of wine, and joined my roommates who were watching Love Actually.  Nothing like a sappy romantic comedy about Christmas to get you in the Holiday spirit!

Now, I know I posted my Winter Wish List a few weeks ago, but my mom asked for more ideas so here is Winter Wish List Part II!  My new house doesn’t come equipped with all the nice kitchen appliances that my mom accumulated over the years, so I really need some of my own.  First thing on the list, this AMAZING Kitchen Aid mixer.  I’m obsessed, which is why it’s on here despite the ridiculous price tag.  It does everything, everything, and comes in so many pretty colors!

Kitchen Aid Artisan Series

Second on the list, is a set of nice wine glasses.  The roommates and I have a bunch, but they’re all mismatched and pretty much leftover from our college days, and I really miss the giant fish bowl sized ones my mom used to have.

BIG Glass!

These have been showing up in the blog world a lot lately, and I think it’s because they really are the perfect gift for any runner/athlete.  They are a pretty way to organize all the race medals you get so that you can keep them on display with pride :).

Medal Organizer

 And of course, anything and everything from lululemon would be appreciated.  Maybe specifically a pair of Wunder Under tights?  I mean obviously I’ll be happy with anything that appears under the tree Christmas morning, but it’s always nice to have a list to go off of ;).

Also, thanks to anyone who offered up hair dresser advice.  It seems we are all on the same page when it comes to finding a good one.  1) it’s impossible 2) if you do, don’t ever leave.  Happy Friday!

 

10 Responses

  1. Ugh. I spent the first two years here getting lost everywhere I went. And still after 5 years I only know one way to get anywhere. And I’ve heard the DC area is nuts to maneuver.

  2. kind of obsessed with the kitchenaid mixer especially the color! I think it’s a must for all women (no matter how feminist they are…a woman needs to have a mixer!)
    I’m loving your roommate time! I wish I had a room in my house that was equivalent to a “family” room!

  3. I totally want to try Georgetown Cupcakes! I used to watch it when it was on tv and the cucpakes looked so good!

    I am with you on the Kitchen Aid Mixer! I totally want and need one of those. I told Mike that as soon as we get engaged and start registering, that is the first item on our list! 🙂

  4. Great list 🙂

  5. Blehhhh commute. Hopefully you will discover the clever back roads/routes. Although that could be dangerous. Funny, sort of related story: one time there was a horrid jam on my normal way home, so I turned on the GPS and took the non-highway route. Fun stuff: it took me through the [insert PC term for ghetto], where I saw no fewer than THREE men being arrested, their hands up on cop cars. Interesting, but really, not much faster than going through the traffic jam.

  6. Ok, I’m excited that you saw Georgetown Cupcakes!! I love their show so much! 🙂

    My mom has that mixer. They got it for free when they redid their kitchen in the old house and got all Kitchenaid appliances. I’ve tried talking her into giving it to me. No luck.

  7. Love Actually is one of my favorites- especially in the holiday movie category. Which is hilarious, because most of list contains comedies and action flicks- not much of a rom com kind of gal…

    I want a stand mixer soooo bad! But I have no idea where I’d put it in my teeny tiny kitchen… lol

  8. I love those medal hangers! I’m going to buy one after I’ve gotten a few more races under my belt.

    Do you watch Cougartown ever? The glass thing reminded me of that show. I love it.

    Have fun at the Christmas party! Be sure to post pics of the Christmas outfit, haha.

  9. I asked for that medal thing too.

    I am going to a new hairdresser tomorrow. I’m scared. But I hated the last one that I used so I vowed to go some place different.

  10. Once you use a kitchenaid mixer you can’t go back. It’s that important in the kitchen….one year mine broke right before christmas. It was touch and go for a while but we got a new one in time!

Leave a Reply

