• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Busy, Busy

Phew, what a morning!  I’ve been in my New Hire Orientation since 9 am, and then I have an afternoon of meetings from 1-3, so I’ve got a little over an hour to update you all on life!  Last night was pretty uneventful, stopped at the store on the way home, picked up a couple of bottles of wine and some snacks, changed into pajamas and cooked dinner.

Originally I though I had one bottle of teriyaki marinade left, but turns out it was Caribbean Jerk, so my initial idea of teriyaki chicken stir fry was scrapped.  Instead, Caribbean Jerk chicken stir fry haha.  I already had the veggies and chicken so I just used a different marinade, and you know what it was still fantastic.  A lot spicier, but delicious. 

It still pretty much looked like this

I used a pre-packaged bag of stir-fry veggies (with the water chestnuts picked out because I hate those), three boneless skinless chicken breasts (thin slice), and two servings of whole wheat spaghetti (leftovers!).  Definitely a success in my book.

This morning I made it to the gym for the third day in a row, hooray, and actually had a decent run on the treadmill.  So decent that I’m sort of thinking the treadmill was broken, because 8:06 pace is usually not a comfortable pace for me, but for my last mile it was.  Oh well, I’ll take it.  Three miles in total, which is officially my longest run since the half marathon on the 21st.  Looks like my desire to take a running break is starting to wear off, which is probably why I registered for the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run lottery yesterday.  I’ll find out in about two weeks whether I got in or not.  Should be fun if I do!

Ok, now I need some help from anyone in the Northern VA/DC Metro area.  I need to find a new hairdresser, I am super picky, and nervous about switching and I want someone good with long, wavy, thick hair, and color.  Anyone have someone they absolutely love, or know of a great place?! Help a girl out!  Alright, time for lunch, only one more day until Friday!

17 Responses

  1. try yelp.com

    its how I found my fav hairdresser, Audrey, at Salon Mint in Fairfax, VA!! love herrr

  2. I LOVE water chesnuts!!

    Finding a good hairdresser is so hard. It took me YEARS to find one I liked.

  3. I’m the same way about my hair. Finding a good stylist is harder than finding a good guy, haha.

    I have barely ran since the half, I need to get my ass in gear.

  4. I love stir fry! There are so many different ways that you can prepare it and it always turns out delicious!

    I am exactly the same way with hairdressers. I finally found one that I feel comfortable with and that always knows exactly what I’m looking for when I go to her. I’m sure you will find a good one! 🙂

  5. Wheres the cat?!

  6. Finding a new hairdresser is the worst! Luckily, I have a friend here who cuts hair- as does her sister. Whew!

  7. Man, finding a hairdresser can be so hard. I hope you find one you like!

  8. That stir fry looks the bomb!
    And good luck finding someone to do your hair.. i’m SUPER picky about mine so I understand!

  9. When I moved to Arlington from Chicago, I had the HARDEST time finding someone here. After testing out places in DC and Alexandria, I looooove Salon Joseph in Arlington. I go to Jordan for color and cut. Here are some reviews: http://www.insiderpages.com/b/3722790943/salon-joseph-arlington – Hope this helps eliminate some time searching 🙂

  10. I love stir frys! And water chestnuts 🙂

    I’ve been with my hair stylist in NY for 8 years, I live in Boston and STILL go home to do my hair. I hate going to someone new

    • Haha yeah I did that all through college, just waited until I went home. I think I need to find a new one now that I live down here permanently though.

  11. I love water chestnuts! I usually pick them out too—to make sure I get them all!

Leave a Reply

