• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Roommate Dinner

Well roommate dinner didn’t go exactly as planned.  For one there was no fire.

sad

The chimney sweep never showed up, but that was probably for the best since it was about 60 degrees last night and a fire would have been unnecessary.  Second, there was a dinner crasher who went from person to person begging for food!

Who, me?!

I guess technically she is a roommate also, but she was not invited for dinner and she was not happy about it.  Girlfriend definitely wanted her share of peppers, onions, and sausage.

oh baby

There was wine, roommates, and Glee though, and those were the three most important ingredients.  Thank you Adrienne for cooking us a delightful and delicious meal!  I promise to make you some cookies soon ;).  In regards to last nights episode of Glee, meh.  The fact that it went like 20 minutes before the first song annoyed me, and then song choice wasn’t really that great.  My favorite one was the last performance, I guess the thinking “save the best for last” still holds true.

The weather here is out of control this morning!  Right now there is a Tornado Watch, Flash Flood Watch, and a Coastal Flood Advisory.  When I woke up and heard the wind and rain pounding on my window, I was so tempted to ignore my alarm and skip the gym.  Then I thought it would probably be a bad idea to start skipping on the second day, so I dragged myself out of bed and out the door.

I’m not sure if it is because of the unseasonably warm temperatures (it’s currently 63) for the past two days, or what, but the gym has been unbearably humid and warm.  I sweat a lot to begin with, but within seconds of my cardio starting, I am drenched.  Oh well I guess sweating out the toxins is good for me.  Anyway, todays workout was pretty similar to yesterday.

  • 18 minutes on the treadmill
  • 16 minutes on the elliptical
  • stretching and ab work

If I hadn’t accidentally driven into DC like a dummy this morning because I wasn’t paying attention, I definitely would have been able to squeeze a little more in.  Either way, I like having the workout over with by 8:15 and knowing I can just head home at night to relax or have fun :).  Also, for everyone who asked yesterday, I work in Gaithersburg, MD and this is what my commute looks like.

It’s about 29 miles door to door, and luckily I avoid most major traffic points, although I do feel sorry for the people I see heading the opposite direction every morning because they are constantly in traffic.

Anywho, first day of December, only 24 more shopping days until Christmas!  Happy Wednesday!

32 Responses

  1. Our fireplace is seriously depressing. We need to hang our stockings stat!

  2. Sorry things didn’t go exactly as planned but it sounds like it worked out for the better! Dinner looked delish!

    I agree with you on Glee! I loved the last performance!

  3. Ha, I’ve never really seen a CAT beg for food.

    I agree– where was the MUSIC last night?!?

  4. Wow, that’s a long commute. I officially feel better about my drive.
    I love that your cat begs. Mine used to whenever we let him inside, but I always figured it was because he thought he was a dog.

  5. What a fun night! Sometimes I miss living with a group of girls. But then, I remember the drama between us and count my blessings lol

  6. That is a bore of a commute! I did about 30 miles for a few months, and it sucked. At least you have the reverse commute.

  7. Awr, I miss having a fireplace 😦 The sausage/onions look crazy delicious!

  8. I wish I had a fireplace. I think it would make the weather maybe just a tad more tolerable… lol

    Crazy weather, huh? I think you must be getting what we had. It was 50 the other day… snow today. Hellllooooo winter.

  9. That is crazy weather! Hope it dies down before I get there. And kudos on two mornings in a row. I have to get up at 4:30 to get morning workouts in and it just never happens consistently. Though I wish it did because I haven’t really been working out at night either. Oops.

    The roommate dinner looks delish!

    I just emailed you!!!

  10. OMG that looks amazing!!
    We have a fireplace but my bf won’t let us use it 😦 He is paranoid about it actually.

  11. You commute from Arlington to Gaithersburg?! Gahhh I think I’d go bonkers….270 makes me shudder….I’m “lucky” that I can take the Metro to work…commuting around these parts pretty much all around sucks.

  12. Oh girl. That commute is nuts. I commuted from College Park to Rockville in college and it was a bia, butttt you are going out of the city for the most part and if you are going in early to work out you prob avoid a lot of it. Plus, I’d probably be cool with a longer commute if I could come home to a fireplace! That’s awesome!

  13. oh my, i cant believe you work in gaithersburg! i just moved to rockville, right next to the border. we will have to meet up sometime if our schedules ever coincide – i work in DC during the day!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. That’s quite a commute.

    My dad lived in Gaithersburg for a long time and I grew up in Rockville. Now both of my parents live in Bethesda.

  15. That is a lot of booze behind kitty. Must be monsters around…

  16. Thank you for you comments on my Marathon Story. I didn’t even quit when my pants fell down. I hope you have a great Night.
    Lew

  17. Agree about Glee–loved Dog Days, was underwhelmed with the rest, esp. conisdering Sectionals!!!! Time of My Life—really?!?!?!?!!?

  18. just found your blog, sausage and peppers is one of my favorites, looked yummy!

Leave a Reply

