• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Last Day!

Today is officially my last day at work, and while I’m sad to be leaving the friends I made here over the past three years, I can’t wait to move on and start my new life in VA!  Moving day is in one week and I still have a ton to do, like make it through my first half marathon.

Last night was supposed to be my last run of my training plan, but by the time I got home from work I really didn’t feel like doing it.  I also got to thinking, throughout my entire training plan I was doing a short run on Thursday followed by my long run on Saturday.  One day of rest in between, and it worked pretty well.  Why should I switch up that routine now, so I think I’m just going to go out for a short 2-3 miles this afternoon instead.  Or maybe not, we’ll see :).  Instead of running I gave myself a pretty holiday manicure.

In my opinion, anything with sparkles is holiday themed, although my sister and boyfriend disagree with me on this matter.  And yes, I do have the smallest hands/fingers/nails ever, I know.  And a burn from my straightener on one finger, cute.

To celebrate my last day at work today, my girls are taking me out for one last lunch, and then we are having ice cream cake.  I’m not supposed to know about the cake, but my boss accidentally copied me on the email, although I don’t think he knows he did.  Meh whatever, haha, ice cream cake is my absolute favorite thing ever so I’m pretty excited for this afternoon.  I also have this currently burning a hole in my pocket.

That would be a $50 gift card to Lululemon that I won last month, and I’m hoping (seriously fingers crossed here) that I’ll get to leave work early and have a chance to hit up the one in Princeton and get home before rush hour traffic.  Tonight I plan to rest on the couch with my feet up, hydrating with some water, and trying to avoid the wine.  There’s just something wrong about not having a cocktail on a Friday night, especially when it’s your last day of work, but I think I can make it until Sunday to celebrate.

Tomorrow morning I have plans to meet Steph and Chrissey at the expo to pick up our race packets and then grab some food.  Pretty excited for the expo, not going to lie.  The only other one I’ve been to was for Broad Street two years ago, and I didn’t stay long or really check it out.   Again, if you want to receive text updates Sunday, here is the link!  The weather is still looking good for Sunday, at 6 am the forecasted temperature is 36 degrees.  With a race start time of 7 am, I’m thinking capris and a light long-sleeve shirt?  If I get too hot I can just push the sleeves up, I don’t want to have to worry about having my number pinned to a heavy long sleeve layer and then moving it around if I decide to lose a layer.  Blah, I don’t know! Haha.

Oh, and good news, despite still being wide awake at 11 pm, I managed to eventually fall asleep and sleep through the entire night!  So that’s at least one good night’s sleep before the race.  We’ll see how tonight and tomorrow go.  Happy Friday everyone!

 

12 Responses

  1. Enjoy your last day of work!! Ice cream cake seems like a great way to go out 🙂

  2. You will kick ass at your race. I know it!

    Have fun at your last day of work. Leave early!

  3. Is the race on Sunday? Good luck! And good luck with the move! PS there are lots of Lulus here in VA 😀

  4. I love your nails! So pretty! 🙂

    Have a great last day at work! I can’t believe it’s already your last day. Time goes by so quick! Good luck with the run and everything to come!

  5. Yo, your weekend rocks. I am jealous all around, not least because of your nails. I also agree that sparkles equal holidays (although purple is stretching it…). But milk it for all it’s worth – you’ve got errything going for you! Congrats on your last day!!

  6. Last day of work = don’t do shit.

    Love it.

    And love the nails. I saw your picture and then looked at my own… um… I need to redo them asap.

  7. I always have one glass of wine before a race. It’s tradition. Even before the marathon. It’s really a matter of how much you’ve been hydrating all week, rather than the night before. But then again I do everything wrong so you probably shouldn’t take my advice.

    I’m so excited for you!! There’s nothing like a big race and you’re gonna do so good. God, that sounded so momish of me. “I’M SO PROUD OF YOU BUBBY!”

  8. Enjoy your last day!! Try not to be too productive. 🙂

  9. Yay good luck Sunday, I’ll be thinking of you!

  10. loving your polish color it’s gorgeous.

    xo

  11. Yay for being done with your job! Happy to hear you made it through the race today. Can’t wait to hear about it.

  12. Ok, I know I’m late and you are already done with your last day, but CONGRATS! And I can’t wait to hear about the move to VA!

Leave a Reply

