• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Earbud Mishap

Ear buds and I don’t get along very well.  I have no idea how anyone keeps the ones that come with iPods in their ears, because they fall out of mine the second I move.  Well, they fall out of my right ear anyway, the left usually stays a little better.  I blame this pesky little piercing I have on my ear bud troubles.

 

not my ear, but you get the idea

 

I got that piercing my Freshman year of college, and haven’t taken it out since, still the same earring and everything.  Changing the earring or taking out the piercing would require a trip to a piercing place, and I’m just way too lazy for that.  Plus I kind of like it still.  Anyway, because that earring gets in the way, it makes the ear buds fall out.  I’ve found one kind that will stay, until I start sweating a lot during a run, then it will slide out.  Because of this I’m constantly pushing the ear bud into my ear, and yesterday I got a little too aggressive.

When I went to pull them out at the end of my run, the soft little cover stayed in my ear while the rest of the ear bud came out.  Needless to say I panicked just slightly, thinking I’d be the freak with an ear bud stuck in her ear.  After a few minutes of prying with my fingers, I managed to get it out, but lesson learned.  Do not shove your headphones as far into your ears as they will go.

Anyway, before my ear bud mishap, I ran a three-mile recovery run at 10 min pace.  It was boring.  I did some abs after, because I’ve been seriously neglecting core work during my training, and if felt good.  The rest of my night wasn’t nearly as boring.  I was all prepared to spend time on the couch with Vampire Diaries and Grey’s Anatomy, but ended up spending close to two hours on the phone instead.  First up was some serious girl talk with my bff Meghan about her upcoming wedding, move to FL, and other life dramas.

Then I ended up on the phone with The German for a little while, because he will be home for Christmas next month, and wants to try to get together with some of our old friends.  While I was on the phone with him, ex bf Chris showed up at my door to return my Garmin and check out the stats from his training run on Monday.  I felt like I was 16 again, haha, it was a very random night.  I finally cut off communication from the world, and caught the end of Private Practice before calling it a night and going to bed.

Today is Friday, hooray, which means this time next week will be my last day at work!  This weekend I plan to organize all my crap, and start packing up things I won’t need in the next two weeks.  Oh and also do my last long run before my half.  Forecast update for the 21st, am clouds/pm sun low 41 high 55.  I would appreciate it if this would stay the forecast.  Thanks.  Happy weekend!

11 Responses

  1. I have the same problems with the ear bud things. I have apple ones that wrap around my ears. Doesnt look as cool but I didnt really have a choice. Gets the job done though haha

  2. I dont have an earring there but earbuds do not stay in my ears. I just use traditional headphones.

  3. Do not shove your headphones as far into your ears as they will go. HAAA!!

    I have the same problem…the world discriminates against us small-eared people. I actually like running during the winter because I can put a headband over my ears to hold my earbuds in.

  4. I hate earbuds. They always fall out of my ears when I’m trying to listen to something at my desk at work. It’s so annoying!

    Good luck organizing and starting to pack!

  5. I can’t wear normal earbuds (and I read this is a common problem!). I bought some awesome ones from Brookstone that have a soft gel bud and also go over your ear — they are worth the $30 pricetag!

  6. Argh. I’ve always had such a hard time with earbuds. For some reason though, the ones with my ipod are the only ones that I haven’t had issues with. Its weird.

  7. I have the worst luck with ear buds. I even bought the ones that wrap around the back of your ear. Surely those, as dorky as I look, would work, right? Nope…

  8. I have earbud troubles too– they really hurt my ears, especially when it gets cold and I have to wear a headband on top of them!

  9. I have the same problem! I do like the ones with the plastic smooshy things that you get at best buy though, they stay in pretty well. But the regular iPod ones are awful.

  10. So crazy about the ex and the german in the same night!
    And I have the SAME issue with those earbuds.. they would NEVER stay!

  11. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly , Kelly . Kelly said: Earbud Mishap: Ear buds and I don’t get along very well.  I have no idea how anyone keeps the ones that come wit… http://bit.ly/clhgM0 […]

Leave a Reply

