• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Oh Right, I’m Running a Half Marathon

With all the excitement about my new job, new house, and moving to a new city, I’d almost, almost, forgotten about my first half marathon in 10 days!  Alright, that’s a lie, I haven’t forgotten at all, but I really haven’t talked about it much recently.  Just yesterday however, I spent a good half an hour on map my run mapping out the course, and THEN I discovered you can watch a 3D video of the course you map out.  So I did that a few, ok 10 times.  It is pretty safe to say that I am already nervous, I can’t help it, I mean I did used to throw up before races in high school.

While there is no doubt in my mind that I can conquer the distance, I do have some goals for this race sitting in the back of my mind.  I was considering keeping them to myself, but hey what else is this blog for then for talking about things of this nature.  So, here we go.

  • Goal A: If there are perfect race conditions on that morning, (no rain, no wind, no stuffy nose or other illness) I really want to break 2 hours.  My 10 miler last weekend at 9:07 pace would put me in this category, so I think it’s an attainable goal.
  • Goal B: Because crap happens, the weather can suck, you can feel like ass, etc I want to run the whole thing under a 10 min/mile pace.  I’m hoping this one will be easy.
  • Goal C: Everything falls apart, the weather, my leg, and I die, I just want to finish the race in one piece, and be able to walk after because I don’t have health insurance currently, so injuries will have to be left untreated.

Not too lofty of goals I don’t think.  Now, since there are 10 days to go the only thing left to do is stalk the forecast obsessively.  I’ve run three races in my life, two of them have been in the pouring rain, I’d like to not add to that number.  Let’s hope for sunshine and not too cold of temps. Who else is running the Philadelphia Half or Full on November 21?  What are your goals?!

And because lately this seems to have become a shopping/fashion blog, I can’t leave you without something along those lines.  I was stalking Fed Ex shipping yesterday, and squealed in delight when I saw my new Coach bag was “on truck for delivery”.  I raced home at the end of the day, and sure enough there was this lovely package sitting on my front steps.

I tore open the packing tape the minute I was inside, and found another prettily wrapped box. (TWSS?)

Finally, I pulled my gorgeous new bag out.

Even prettier in person than it was online, and I’m so happy I went with the blue over the gray!  It’s the perfect size, and the shoulder strap is awesome for keeping it out of the way when you have to buy things, like multiple bottles of red wine.  I mean of course I had to test out its functionality right away.  It passed the test.

Oh, and I actually did work out last night, funny how that got pushed to the bottom of the post.  My training plan recommended a 4×1 mile workout at 8:15 pace.  Sounded hard to me from the get go, so I decided to play it by ear.  I did a half mile warm-up at 10 min/mile pace before getting into my mile repeats.  As expected, the first one sucked and felt really fast, but at the same time took forever to end.  How does that work?  Anyway, I walked a .25 mile recovery before diving into the next mile.  Mile 2 didn’t suck as much, but it still wasn’t fun.  Made it through and walked another .25 recovery.  It was at this point that I made a deal with myself to at least make it through one more, and then stop if I really wanted to.  I did my 3rd mile repeat and my legs felt heavy and slow the whole time, plus my IT band felt tight.  Meh I totally bailed on the 4th one, but whatever.  I think I still benefitted from the point of the workout.  At the finish, the run was 4.5 miles in 44:10.  Whatever, I’ll take it.

Oh hey, it’s Thursday, 7 more days left at my current job and 16 days until moving day!  Do I need to start packing yet?

36 Responses

  1. I find that the excitement of being in a race with all those other people makes me run faster. I think you can break 2 hours!

  2. Start packing the clothes you definitely won’t need. Moving is such a pain, you’ll be happy that you started early. Just the thought of moving across state lines gives me the willies – are you renting a U-Haul or something?

    As for your half, you’ve been running some killer times. If you did 10 miles at 9 minute pace, I’m sure you can do that (or better!) at Philly. It’s a super-flat course.

    • Well my relocation package comes with movers, wooooo lucky me! So I think they will provide the truck. I hope the race goes as well as my training runs have been going!

  3. I’ll be running mine the day before down in Louisiana! I’m praying that it’s not too HOT, now that I’m used to running in PA!

    Love the bag!

  4. Love that bag! It is so super cute!!

    You should start packing some of the things that you don’t use everyday now and your clothes. It will make things less stressful and easier if you start early. Trust me on that one, it sucks to be packing last minute. 🙂

  5. Omg, I am lusting/dying over your Coach bag. I totally want to rip that off!

  6. When moving, I’d always get overexcited and pack as much as I could before I’d burn out on the pain that moving really is… lol

    And I definitely have not forgotten about your half! I’m so excited to hear about it since you’ve dealt with all the injury crap… Weeee!

    Yea for Thursday! I don’t care what anyone says, I’m drinking. And calling it a tribute to the Veterans. That’s allowed, right?

  7. Ran my first half last wkd… You’ll have a blast, such a different experience from lower distance races! And I don’t spend much on purses, but if I did, I’d HAVE to have that purse!!!

  8. Oooo exciting news about your 1/2 marathon. 🙂 Your new Coach is superb. ❤

  9. Love that bag! I am running the full Philly Marathon — my first one! My stretch goal is to finish with a 9-9:30 min/mile avg pace but I have a knee injury so not sure it will happen! Good luck on the half!! 🙂

  10. I love your tweets. “The wine is gone…I guess I’ll go to bed now!”
    haha! I love the coach purse! I am so excited for all the new things happening in your life right now!

  11. Very jealous of your new bag! It is super cute. Perfect bag for carting your stuff all around your new city. You’ll need it!! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  12. Haha, I have totally forgotten about my race. Like, I never even think about it. Yikes. I’m not even hoping to beat my previous half time, which was SLOOOOW. I’m just going to head out there and hope for the best lol.

    And the bag is sooooo amazing. I need it in. my. life. Think I can talk the new bf into buying me that for Christmas? Or maybe I’ll just bust the old credit card out of the freezer 😉

    Oh and I would have already been packing weeks ago. I am crazy about packing. I almost wish I could help you. Almost.

    • Haha that’s because you’re so preoccupied and happy with your new man 😉 I think perhaps the new bf can be persuaded, it was a pretty good price, haha. I wish you could help me pack too.

  13. Love the purse!!

    Definitely start packing up the stuff you’re not going to be needing anytime soon. Moving is such a pain in the ass, get as much of it as you can done beforehand. OH, and use things like socks and towels to wrap your breakables. Its just easier that way.

  14. LOVE the purse! Isn’t it always so exciting when you’re waiting on a package!?

  15. My goal is to just finish.. as always. I’d love a 2:15 time again, however I’m not going to push it. As far as the 10 day thing.. holy wow! I can’t believe it!! I will be stalking the forecast with you.. lets pray for good weather!

  16. my sis is running that half. you’ll do great!! damn girl you’ve got tons going on.

  17. I’m running the full in Philly. It will be my second full marathon and I’m nervous as all hell. With a week to go I feel like I might puke….gahhhh. What was I thinking.

    I know you will totally rock the half though!!!

  18. Good luck on your half on Sunday! My first half was the Philly Distance Run in 2009 and remember being so nervous I always didn’t go. Your training and goals are right on target for a great race! I’ll be volunteering at the expo on Saturday and cheering on Sunday.
    Just remember to HAVE FUN!! 🙂

  19. […] for the year and switch to the fall collection.  Since I was obsessed with my newly purchased blue Coach bag last year, this one did not get nearly enough use and I figured that meant it should be first up in […]

Leave a Reply

