• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The Countdown Begins

Yesterday I did something I’d wanted to do for the past two years, at least.  I walked into my boss’s office, told him I was offered a new position, would be relocating to Virginia, and this is my two weeks notice.  The look of surprise on his face was comical, but he quickly regained his composure, offered up congrats and wished me good luck.

My last day here is November 19, and I am pumped.  Also, I now conveniently have off the entire week of Thanksgiving and the day after my half marathon.  Not complaining about that at all ;).  Moving day is tentatively scheduled for November 27 and my first day at my new job is November 29.  I have a lot to do, in very little time.  Including lots and lots of shopping :)!

Last night, per my training plan, I did an easy 3 mile recovery run on the treadmill.  Why does 3 miles sometimes feel more difficult than 10?  I was so bored and just not feeling it last night, but it did feel good to loosen up the legs and stretch.  Although I’m very glad I wasn’t out doing a 20 mile training run, like my friend Chris was.  How’d it go? Did my Garmin work for you this time?

This morning I had to run by a Lab to get my pre-employment drug screen test done (read: pee in a cup).  Why are those places never open at convenient times?  This one happened to be open only during the hours of my work day, so I showed up at 6:45, was the first one in line when they opened at 7, and out the door on my way to work 11 minutes later.  Normally my work day starts at 7, but I called saying I would be late.  Since I was already going to be late, I figured wth, and stopped and picked up a Gingerbread Latte from Starbucks :).  Still made it to work by 7:45, a lot earlier than most people.

This morning really reminded me of high school.  Once I got my driver’s license I always encouraged my mom to make doctors, dentist, eye appointments etc. in the morning.  Morning appointments automatically got you a note to give the office that you were late, and I took full advantage of it.  Driving around to grab a coffee, taking the long way to school, grabbing a bagel, and finally making my way to school.  Haha, it was the best.

My motivation is seriously lacking today, I plan to do some online furniture shopping (I need a bedroom set that will fit in my tiny new room), perhaps order a cute gift for me and my new roommates, and browse for the other things I need.  Have a great Tuesday!

18 days…

35 Responses

  1. Hope you pass your drug test! Bwahahahah….

  2. Congratulations, Kelly!!! I’m so happy for you!!

  3. I’m so excited for you! Shopping for new things for a house is so much fun! These days will fly by and before you know it you will be at your new home with your new job. Congrats!! 🙂

  4. I have a hard time with three miles too. It’s like with longer runs, I finally get to a place where I zone out, but I never get there with 3.

    Seriously let me know if you want to grab a drink on the night of the27th since I’ll be in DC. I totally understand if you are busy/tired though.

  5. How exciting!!! I’ve never officially “quit” a job like that, but I’ve always wanted to, ha!

  6. Congrats on the new job and relocating! I want to find a new job, but I’m scared of change. Maybe I’ll start looking now…what have I got to lose?

    • Nothing! I was so nervous to start looking and make the change and move, but now I’m so excited and pretty confident this will be the best decision of my life!

  7. Congrats – giving notice can be nerve-wrecking but so liberating once you’ve done the deed. 🙂

    Good luck getting everything together over the next couple of weeks!

  8. Congrats on finally getting to say something!

    And how well does that work out for you to get a sweet holiday break like that? I’m jealous!

  9. Soooo excited for you to start this next chapter!! I can’t wait for what’s in store! I’m so jealous you’re moving to Virginia 🙂

  10. Nothing starts your day off like peeing in a cup! 😛 But I do agree, I’d rather do appointments first thing in the morning (because I’m impatient and hate to wait in line).

  11. So exciting!
    I love how you worked in that extra time off. Its such a good idea, especially when you’re moving. Moving really sucks. I think its the unpacking part. No fun!

  12. Yay! I dream of the day I get to do that! So happy for you 🙂

  13. Congratulations!! How exciting that you only have 2 more weeks at that job and have some time off with it. 🙂

  14. WOOOOOO!!! So satisfying! Congratulations. But I wonder…do you still have a good relationship with your boss? I wouldn’t slack too much, lest you get a bad referral in the future.

    • Oh don’t worry, I’m still doing just enough work to not look like a total slacker. When I handed in my two weeks he said to use him if I ever needed a recommendation.

  15. Big congrats! I was scared out of my mind when I quit my job 2 years ago…but it was the best thing I ever did for my career.

    Can’t wait to follow how it all turns out.

  16. Congrats Kelly!! Where will you be working?? You will LOVE DC, I’m sure :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  17. Woohoo for your 2 weeks notice! So exciting!
    And I was the same way with appts..and still am! totally take advantage of it if you can!

Leave a Reply

