• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Professional Wedding Guest

Hello, and happy Monday!  For once I’m actually not dreading this week of work, I think it really helped that it was finally light out when I was driving in this morning.  I had a pretty great weekend, so let’s get to it.

A few weeks ago, I’d gotten a coupon to Coach in the mail for $100 off your purchase of $300 or more.  Originally I figured it would go to waste, since I was saving and couldn’t afford to just go buy a new purse, but after my big news last week I decided to treat myself.  I picked up this gorgeous bag, which should arrive by the end of the week!

While I was shopping, I was wracking my brain trying to come up with something good for dinner that would go well with some Trader Joe’s Smoked Apple Chardonnay Chicken Sausages.  I finally came up with something I thought sounded delicious.

whole wheat penne pasta

pesto sauce

zucchini and asparagus

chopped up and sautéed

my main ingredient

all together now

of course with garlic mozzarella bread on the side

All the flavors went fantastically together, and my mom, sister, and myself nearly ate every last bite.  I was proud of myself for coming up with this off the top of my head and having it turn out so well.  Of course, as soon as my sister walked in the door Friday night the real celebrating began!

bubbly!

I indulged in a few glasses while still taking it easy since I had a long run in the morning.  We sat around on the couch, until 10, when all three of us called it a night.  Alex didn’t end up making it in on Friday, he had to work late, so it was a family bonding night.

Saturday morning I woke up bright and early to get my run in before I had to get ready for the wedding.  There was frost on the cars and it was just starting to get light out.  I pulled on my long tights and long sleeves, and out the door I went.  My thoughts during this run went mostly like this “holy crap it’s cold, waaaah, shit now I’m too hot, oh there’s the shade and wind again, crap it’s cold.”  It really took the first two miles for my legs to warm up and start to feel loose, but after that it was smooth sailing.

I remember being briefly aware that I felt like I was moving pretty quickly, but again my Garmin was covered by the long sleeves I had pulled over my hands so I wasn’t watching my pace.  Needless to say I was very excited when I checked my stats and say my average pace was 9:07, pretty much right on my goal pace for the half in two weeks!  After my run, I had to quickly go from a sweat monster:

To wedding ready, so we would be at the train station when Alex arrived and make it to the church on time.  I definitely ran out of the house barefoot, with my toenail polish still drying.  I think we all clean up rather nicely though.

 

Alex with both his dates

Two sets of sisters

Alex and I

sisters ❤

 

We all had a really great time at the wedding, and danced and ate the night away.  By the time we got home, the four of us were exhausted and immediately crashed into bed and passed out.  I was the first one up, besides my mom, yesterday morning and decided to go across the street to buy things to make breakfast for everyone, and get a Gingerbread Latte :).  We had a breakfast feast with turkey sausage, home fries, bacon, french toast, and breakfast sandwiches.  It was delicious and I was stuffed for pretty much the remainder of the day.

We watched the NYC Marathon in the morning, switching over to football at 1 when that started.  It was a lazy Sunday on the couch, just how I like it.  I hope everyone else had a fantastic weekend!

 

18 Responses

  1. YUMMMMMM. BRB – going to Trader Joes!

    Great run!! You kick ass.

  2. I love the new Coach bag! So cute! Your dinner looks delicious!! I love pesto sauce and chicken sausage sounds good! I need to make a Trader Joe’s trip.

    Love your dress and shoes! You looked beautiful! 🙂

  3. That dinner looks incredible! I never would have thought to mix sausage and pesto. Good thinking!

    I LOVE those shoes!

  4. Wow, a very dool-enducing purse AND meal… well AND the champagne. 🙂 You looked fabo at the wedding!

  5. There’s something to be said about how fantastic it is to own a strapless black cocktail dress. Very cute!

    Glad you had a great weekend! 🙂

  6. Yay for weddings and family bonding nights! Love your dress!

  7. The purse, that dress, those SHOES… girl!!!!!
    You should do a fashion post!

  8. LOVE that bag! I have accessory envy right now. You definitely deserve it!

  9. Cute shoes!!!! I hope you had a great time at the wedding.. it looks like you did!

Leave a Reply

