• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Big News!

Three and a half years ago I was a 22 year-old recent graduate, with no job, moving home to live with my mom.  That was never my plan, I had all these dreams of moving to NYC and living a Devil Wears Prada type life while working at a magazine.  Three  months after moving home, I met a boy, fell head over heels in love, and all dreams of moving away were pushed to the back of my head.

Seven months after I graduated, I was finally offered a job at a pharmaceutical company, ironically the same one my boyfriend at the time worked at (although different campus locations).  I accepted, and here I am, still working the same job three years later.  Eventually that boyfriend and I called it quits, and I was smacked in the face with the realization that for the previous two years the only friends I had in the area were his, and that was why I was miserable.  I wasn’t living my life, I was living his, and it was never the life I wanted for myself.  Then I met Alex, and the convenient trip on NJ Transit from here to NYC kept me here longer.

Around six months into mine and Alex’s relationship he began applying to law schools, and at one point had committed to one in VA (he has since decided not to go).  It was a few months after that, when I woke up from the fog I was living in and went “what the fuck am I doing?!”  I’m working at a dead-end job, I’m constantly jealous of all my friends who still live near each other in Virginia, and I am miserable here in Pennsylvania.  It was a random weekday, when I emailed my friends and told them, “I’m going to move down there, job or no job, in November when Dani and Adrienne’s lease is up, and live with them.”

The next few months, I scrimped and saved, putting as much money as I could in my savings account each month to make sure I would have a buffer if I happened to move before finding a job.  As November drew closer and closer, I began to become more nervous and stressed about money, and trying to decide whether making this move was a smart decision or not.  Then, in the middle of October the girls and I found the PERFECT house, and signed our lease last weekend.  It became real, I had a 15 month lease on my hands and rent to pay now, I was going.  While I could have moved in last Sunday, my plan was always to stick it out here in PA at least until after Thanksgiving, it still is, only now the whole situation is a little less stressful.

 

roommates!!!

Yesterday, after a month of interviews, two phone and one in person, and two weeks of waiting I was offered an amazing job near my new home :).  The weight that had been sitting on my shoulders for months, worrying about finances, and how I would pay my bills was lifted, and I have never been so happy about something in my entire life.  It may have taken me three years longer than I thought it would, but I’m doing it, I’m moving out and away from home.  I’m finally moving back down south, to be with the people I spent the best four years of my life in college with, and the subsequent three years after visiting.  I’m starting a completely new chapter in my life, and I couldn’t be more excited to see where everything goes from here!  Arlington, Virginia here I come!

Needless to say, after my endorphin powered work-out, I was celebrating!  I did 2 miles on the elliptical and then a fast 2 miles at 8:45 pace on the treadmill.  Then it was to the liquor store where I splurged on my favorite bottle of Malbec, Layer Cake.  Besides the one glass I kicked over, I finished the whole bottle :).  I’m not sure whether I should be proud I could do that, or ashamed that I could do that and not have a headache today, haha.

Alex is coming in tonight, I think, my sister is coming home, and we will be opening the bottle of champagne my mom bought to celebrate.  Then tomorrow we are all off to my cousin’s wedding, which will bring more celebration I’m sure.  Somewhere in this weekend, I need to fit in my second to last long run of half marathon training, so that should be interesting.

Happy Friday everyone, what are you all up to this weekend?! Oh and good luck to everyone running the NYC marathon on Sunday!

21 Responses

  1. Congratulations, Kelly!!! You totally, 100 percent deserve this. Good luck to you in your new job and awesome new life!

  2. Congrats lady!! You worked hard and it paid off.

    And, I can totally kill a bottle of wine by myself…um, you work hard and it pays off.

  3. Congrats, Kelly! I am so happy for you! Good luck to with you everything. 🙂

    You better come back and visit! We still need to hang out more before you leave!

  4. Congratulations!!

    My parents live like 15 minutes from Arlington, in Bethesda, MD.

  5. Congrats!! That is so awesome. I wish I had the balls to do something like that haha 🙂

  6. I’m so excited for you!!! Sometimes just sucking it up and taking chances like that really work out! Hooray!

  7. yay! congrats thats amazing!

  8. Congrats, Kelly!!!! How exciting! Get your celebration on!

  9. I’m so happy for you! I may be a little jealous of “415,” but look forward to visiting you all, often! Love you 🙂

  10. yay yay yay!!! Congrats Kelly! You deserve the best & I’m so happy you landed the job & the house!! Everything happens for a reason! 🙂

  11. Congrats Kelly!! That is such awesome news! 🙂

  12. In addition to my tipping of the hat to you, I must also tip the hat to Alex for deciding not to go to law school. ha ha ha ah ah 🙂

    Two rounds of shots!

    And pssshhh…one bottle of wine? Totally normal intake for a weekday. Once you can do three or more it may be an issue. 🙂

  13. Congrats! That is awesome. I wish you the best of luck 🙂

  14. congratulations and welcome back to virginia! i love it here : )

  15. Congrats Kelly!!!! Welcome back to the DC-area! It’s a good place to be!

  16. Good for you!!! It must feel so good to take charge of your own life and have everything fall into place!

  17. Sounds like you have some very wonderful things falling into place for you — way to get out there and make it happen!

  18. Wow girl, CONGRATS!!! That is amazing!
    I’m 22 and still living at home as well… never thought I would be here. But sometimes things work out for the best and I know that when things are meant to be, they will be.

  19. Congratulations!!! I am so, so happy for you! And I really hope we can get together when I’m in D.C. (actually I’ll be in Fairfax but I’m really close to the metro) because I think we would have a blast. I looove me some Malbec 🙂 Have fun celebrating!

  20. Congrats on your news!! Are you ready for the half in three weeks?!

  21. […] on getting out of PA and my mom’s house and moving to Virginia, and I managed to do it.  In Big News I write about how I went from fucking miserable and depressed to landing a new job, new home, and […]

Leave a Reply

