• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

New York, New York!

Well the 5k on Saturday morning went pretty well.  It was windy and hilly, but I managed to finish in 28:08 for an 8:50 pace overall.  Our friends Jon and Nicole met us in CP and the four of us got ready to run together.  The first mile we pretty much all stuck together and wove in and out of the walkers and joggers pushing strollers, but about half walk through we had almost all separated.  I came up behind Jon and Nicole with about half a mile left and we ran it into the finish together.

 

Alex and I after finishing the 5k

 

 

finish line

 

After the race was over, Alex and I headed back to the East Village to shower and get ready for our day out on the town.  I was a horrible girlfriend this year and still hadn’t bought him a birthday present, so I said we could go shopping and he could pick out whatever he wanted.  Within reason that is.  Our shopping adventures took us to The Gap where Alex got two new pairs of jeans, and I picked up a pair of grey jeggings (um I have an addiction) and two long sleeve thermal shirts.  Then, unfortunately for my bank account, we ventured over to Nordstrom Rack where Alex found a winter coat that he decided he wanted for his b-day present and I fell head over in heels in love with a pair of 6 inch platform Stuart Weitzman heels that I am regretting not buying still till this very moment.  They were incredible, gorgeous, the perfect fit, and surprisingly comfortable, and the best part marked down to $139 from $375.  Insane.  It took absolutely every last ounce of my self-control to not buy those shoes.  Instead I just took pictures and continue to stare at them every now and again.

 

 

The shoes I should have bought

 

 

Alex in the coat I got him

 

We picked up some beers after our day long shopping extravaganza and made it home by 4:00 to watch the Yankees game.  Alex actually cooked me dinner, haha he called it Bachelor Pasta Surprise, and it was very good.  Some cut up chicken sausage, angel hair pasta, and a box of cheesy vegetables, mixed together with some marinara sauce.  We tried to make some plans to go out, but ended up getting pretty drunk just sitting around on the couch, so after the Yankees game we made another booze run, picked up some vodka and settled in on the couch for the night watching the Phillies follow up the Yankees loss with one of their own.  Neither boyfriend or myself can remember exactly what time we called it a night, but my guess would be that it was sometime around 11:30 which was fine by me.

 

some pumpkin beers that we enjoyed

 

Yesterday morning we woke up and participated in one of my favorite Sunday activities.  Brunch!  We walked to Esperanto, a cute Brazilian place on 9th and Ave C and hung out on their steps for 20 minutes until they opened and were willing to seat us at 11.  Alex and I both ordered the Spanish omelet with Chorizo, peppers, onions, & Manchego cheese, and served with home fries.

 

enjoying some much needed coffee at brunch

 

 

bottomless coffee might be Alex's most fav thing

 

 

omelet

 

 

home fries

 

Oh, and don’t forget the mimosa to wash it all down.  For some silly reason, boyfriend didn’t want his mimosa so I got to drink both.  Both the omelet and the mimosa were delicious and I was very satisfied after our meal.

 

 

mimosa

 

We had just enough time after brunch to walk back to the apartment, grab our jerseys and head out to Brother Jimmy’s in Union Square to watch some football games.  While watching the Eagles destroy the Falcons, we partook in some pitchers of Bud Light and good old Southern BBQ.  Alex ordered the Carolina Pulled Pork Sandwich and I had some Buffalo Wings, which were just the way I like them.  Not too saucy or spicy, but perfectly flavored.  It was nice to switch up our normal football watching bar from Finnerty’s to Bro J’s and people watch and see a different crowd, although we of course made an appearance at Finnerty’s when the 49ers game started at 4.

Sadly we had to go back to the apartment at the half so I could pack up and get ready to head to Penn Station to catch my 7:00 train, which I almost missed.  The L train took forever to arrive at the 1st Ave stop, and by the time I switched from the L to the A and arrived at 34th Street, I had to sprint off the subway, through Penn Station and onto my NJ Transit train home.  I literally jumped on board as the doors were closing and had to walk through a few cars before I even found a seat.  I made it home by 8:30 and was able to catch a majority of the Phillies game.

I was exhausted, and ended up going to bed before the end of the game, but was excited to see that they had won when I woke up this morning.  The Yanks play game 3 tonight, and I’m really hoping it goes much better than games 1 and 2.  Let’s go Yankees! How was everyone else’s weekend? I’m seriously so exhausted right now.  Sigh Monday.

23 Responses

  1. Sounds like a fun weekend. I would have totally fallen over in those heels!

  2. I’m glad the race went well! It seemed like a gorgeous weekend again!

    And you do have a bit of an obsession with the jeggings. I’m almost concerned… or jealous because I’m still getting over my fear of skinny jeans!

  3. Sounds like a great weekend! Good job on the race– it was SUPER windy here too!

  4. Great race!

    I’m so impressed (and jealous) you can wear 6 inch heels. I sprained my ankle doing that. My aunt gave me some Christian Louboutin’s her friend bought in Italy that don’t fit her and I can wear them for exactly five minutes.

    P.S. MIMOSAS YAY.

    • Um, I’m sorry you have a pair of Louboutin’s?! I dream of owning a pair some day, dream. I would sleep in them, forget walking around in them, haha.

  5. Haha I saw jeggings at the store yesterday and totally thought of you!

    Sounds like a great race, looks like it was the perfect day for it too!

  6. I love bottomless coffee. The cheapest buzz there is! Additionally, I’m with Marie – only in my dreams could I wear heels like that. And – AND!!! – I’d only be 5’6″! NOT WORTH IT. Anyway, looks like a great weekend. The wind was gnarly on Saturday, and yet you two still look lovely.

    • Yeah Alex was literally looking up at me when I had those shoes on, I’d say I was at least 6’3. I wish I was shorter so I could wear super high heels all the time and not be super tall.

  7. what is that hat Alex wore to brunch?

    Can’t wait to rage this weekend!!!

  8. Sunday was a great day for Philly sports 🙂

  9. OMG I’m lusting for those shoes. Go back and get them! They are adorable!

    I had a great weekend. Dropped an assload of money on new black boots, jeggings and a dress for a date. Then I ended up wearing the jeggins and will probably never wear anything but jeggings every again so the dress was a waste, haha. Loove them.

    • You have no idea how hard it was for me to walk away. Completely unlike me. Haha and I feel the exact same way about jeggings, I never want to wear anything else ever again.

  10. Good job with the run!!!

    Those shoes are super cute! I must try on jeggings. Everyone keeps talking about them and I want to see what they are all about! 🙂

  11. Sounds like a fun weekend! And girl.. those SHOES!! You are one strong strong woman..

  12. […] Ran a 5k in Central Park […]

Leave a Reply

