• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Two Different Pumpkins

Last night I had what I thought was a brilliant idea.  This:

 

scone mix

 

plus this:

 

pumpkinnnn

 

could only equal pure deliciousness right?  That scone mix was part of an Easter basket from way back in April, and I thought I had finally found the perfect way to make use of it.  Just add water and bake!  How much easier could it get?  Well apparently my addition of 3/4 cup of pumpkin threw off some things because instead of a slightly sticky ball of dough, I had this mess.

 

uuuuh?

this is not right...

omg what a disaster

 

Literally every ounce of dough stuck to my hands, but I persevered and somehow made the sticky dough into scone like shapes.  I still had no idea how they would taste, but I wasn’t willing to waste my pumpkin.  11 minutes later I had a tray of “scones” that looked something else entirely.

 

rolls?

meh

Obviously I had to try one right away.  I broke it open, watched the steam escape and tentatively took my first bite.  Well hey, at least they don’t taste like crap!  They were however, somewhat bland, and my beloved pumpkin flavor was noticeably absent.

 

are you there pumpkin?

 

They weren’t a total fail, but they weren’t exactly right either.  Now I want to try again from scratch and see if I can really get it right.  Or I might just rely on my tried and true pumpkin chocolate chip cookie recipe to get me through my pumpkin cravings.  Only time will tell.  After my pumpkin scone somewhat fail, I had to turn around and yell at the other Pumpkin.

 

bad cat!

Look at her, going in for the kill.  Every single leaf in that vase has little kitty bite marks in it.  The best part is she’ll jump up there, wait for me to look at her, and then start gnawing on the plant.  The second I yell at her she’ll jump down, but it’s like she’s waiting to get yelled at.  Why is she such a monster?

 

Grey’s was last night, I really only have one thing to say about that because really I have no idea what happened in the entire episode.  I was too busy swooning over this guy.

omg so hot

Hello Jesse Williams, I see you went to Temple, will you be returning to Philadelphia for a visit any time soon?  Can I take you out for a drink?  Seriously though, the eyes, the abs!  I’m not sure it gets any better. Ok, time to move on before boyfriend gets offended.

I’m wearing my new jeggings today, and I don’t think I want to wear real pants ever again.  Seriously, most comfortable things ever, and they fit inside my boots amazingly and without a struggle.

 

streeeeeeeeetch

 

So yes, if you have been on the lookout for jeggings I highly recommend these from The Limited.  Comfy, dark wash, with real back pockets.  Also, if you buy two pairs of any pant one is $25 off!

As I said yesterday, I’m off to NYC for the weekend after work.  I’m really hoping to meet up with Jacquie while I’m there, maybe on Sunday afternoon? Would any other NYC bloggers/readers be interested?  Let me know!

What is everyone else up to this weekend, anything good?  Have a happy Friday!

 

 

23 Responses

  1. Ha…that definitely sounds like something I would do. It seems like it would work!!

  2. Jessie Williams is hot! Did you see his abs?! I really want to try on a pair of jeggings. They look so cute plus they seem like they would fit perfect inside of boots! I totally need to check out the Limited!

    Weekend plans include working of course, and making an Italian dinner tomorrow night for our friends coming in from Maryland. 🙂 Have a good weekend!

  3. I’m pretty sure I could get hypnotized by a picture of that man. He’s wonderful. I mean, obviously everyone on that show is gorgeous. But he raised the bar.

    I laughed a little about the scone mess. For two reasons. Because I’m attempting to use real pumpkin over the weekend in my baking efforts and this will most likely be me on Sunday (yikes!). And because of your baking picture captions. For some reason I just wanted you to finish with “Are you there pumpkin? It’s me… Kelly!” and I was cracking up over “omg what a disaster”- that’s totally something I’ve said over and over while making what I know will be a fail.

    • Seriously when he was shirtless, I couldn’t focus on anything else. Haha good luck with the baking endeavors, you’re a much better baker than me so I’m sure you’ll do fine. And I almost made that the whole caption, haha but I stopped with are you there pumpkin.

  4. If you make the scones from scratch, I HIGHLY recommend this recipe:

    http://phillygirlruns.blogspot.com/2010/09/weekend-project-part-2-and-scones.html

    If I can do it, anyone can, and these came out AMAZING. I froze most of them for a couple weeks and pulled them out this weekend, and they were still incredibly delicious.

  5. OK seriously if you make scones, you must give me some!! And I love the jeggings I think between you and my roommate you have me sold. Have fun in NYC and let’s plan a fun run sometime before the Philly 1/2!

  6. I HEART JEGGINGS. I never thought I’d say it, but…yeah. They are muy bueno. And you’re doin’ it way right with the boots. I can’t wait until it’s boot weather down here.

    Your little monster is beautiful, even if she is taking your flowers down one stem at a time!

    • I know, I never thought I would ever, mostly because the fact that they were called jeggings pissed me off, but they really are fantastic. She’s the cutest little monster ever, but definitely a monster.

  7. Sucks about the scones. It seems like such a good idea! I’m sure you’ll get it right next time. 🙂

  8. Um, seriously! How do they find so many hot doctors for that shoe. He is so my type, I just want to lick him. Yep, lick him.

    Sorry about the scones, that’s way better than I could have done though.

    Thanks for the link to the jeggins!

    • I mean I had realized he was hot before, but last night really solidified it for me, but yes seriousl THE MOST hot men on that show. Where are they in real life?! Haha.

  9. What kind of shirt do you wear with the jeggings? They look comfortable, but I feel like I’d look like an upside down triangle if that makes any sense.

    • I just have on a long sleeve t-shirt. It’s somewhat loose and hangs to like the middle of the back pockets. I’ll post a picture tomorrow if I can remember

  10. I made pumpkin beer bread yesterday and it was muy delicioso. My beef with pumpkin stuff is that it’s often too sweet, and this stuff had just a bit of sweetness.

    Hope you have a good weekend! I’m watching my parents’ geriatric cat for the weekend. He is old and needs constant supervision so that he makes it into the litter box. Sigh.

  11. I want some jeggings soooo bad! If I had my way I’d wear yoga pants to work every day so these seem like a more appropriate comprimise :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  12. a) I heart him too. Ever since the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 (dont judge, and if you haven’t seen it yet, do so now. More shirtless-ness. And the fact that he’s a fellow Temple Alum/former Philly teacher makes him soooooooooooo much hotter.

    b)I have those boots : )….i’m hesitant on the jeggins. I may need to try a pair…

  13. So first of all, must get me some jeggings asap.
    Secondly, THANK YOU because there’s this guy in one of my classes and it’s been bugging the crap out of me because he looked SO familiar but I couldn’t place it.. now I realize it’s Jesse from Grey’s!!! And yes, you best believe I am HIGHLY distracted in that class… 😉

  14. At least you tried with the scones – think of all the amazing things we wouldn’t have if people were too afraid to experiment!

Leave a Reply

