• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Time with My Sis

This morning something happened that hadn’t in months.  The cold weather warning display came on in my car.  I heard the ping, looked at the dash, and sure enough there was the little snowflake encased in a triangle indicating that the temperature was at 37 degrees.  I think it is safe to say that fall is officially here, and here to stay.

Yesterday afternoon I got home from work, changed, and my sis and I headed on over to the gym.  She ellipticalled while I did my tempo workout on the treadmill next to her.  About 2.3 miles into my run a funny thing happened.  The fire alarm in the gym started to go off, and no one left.  People paused their workouts for a second, took their ear buds out of their ears, and looked around at each other, but no one did anything.  My sister and I looked at each other, and decided that since none of the actual gym employees were leaving, we were probably safe to continue our workouts.  The alarm continued to go off for a few more minutes before someone finally turned it off.  Guess we were all pretty intent on getting our workouts in, haha.

  • 1 mile warm-up 10 min/mile
  • 2 miles @ 9:05 pace
  • 1 mile cool-down 10 min/mile

I felt so much better than I did on Monday, and this run went really well.  Half-way through training and 5 weeks to go!  Honestly, when this half is over, I’m going to take a break from training and running 4-5 days a week before signing up for another race.  I am getting burnt out and I know I’ll be ready for a break.

After the gym, we ran into the liquor store to pick up some wine to have with dinner.  I was making Ravioli Lasagna, and nothing goes better with lasagna then red wine!  My sis had yet to experience the gloriousness that is pumpkin beer, so while I was cooking we each had one of these.

I used two different flavors of Buitoni ravioli and a jar of Classico vodka sauce.

I really like both flavors of this ravioli, they combined pretty well in the dish, and Col said it was her favorite version of Ravioli Lasagna so far.

Yummy.  This is so fast to throw together, then you just stick it in the oven for 40 minutes and wait.  While we waited, we broke open the red wine and settled on the couch for a night of ABC comedy.  The best part about watching these shows with my sister is that we both start snickering at the same time, which leads to full on laughing, and eventually me snorting.  As of right now, I’m thinking Better With You is my favorite new show of the fall season.  It’s so funny, and so relatable and true.  Plus I’ve loved Joanna Garcia since her Reba days.

Somehow today is already Thursday, for some reason this week really flew by.  I’m heading up to NYC tomorrow after work for the weekend, and running the Terry Fox 5k on Saturday morning with Alex.  No other real plans except for that, but I’m sure it will be fun.  Have a great day!

16 Responses

  1. 37 degrees?!?! Holly CRAP! I am upset because it low in 50’s in the morning and high of 80’s in the afternoon! I am freezing my arse off already! EEKS!

  2. I love vodka sauce! It’s soooo good!

    I am loving Better With You too! It’s such a good show! Joanna Garcia is so funny!

  3. I think I love Better With You, too!

    Can’t fight with someone who’s naked…

    After my race in November, I think it’s safe to say I’ll be chilling out a little on the running, too. I’m looking now for more weight-training dvds and such to mix it up with until I start missing the heavy mileage again.

  4. Once the fire alarm went off when I was grocery shopping. No one moved then either.

  5. I’m a big fan of that brand of pumpkin beer. You can really taste the pumpkin which is nice!

    I am still on a break from running since my half marathon, a month ago :). I’ve tried a few times since but I really am feeling the burn out! I know what you mean…

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly McCormick, Kelly McCormick. Kelly McCormick said: Time with My Sis: This morning something happened that hadn’t in months.  The cold weather warning display came on… http://bit.ly/9i35pB […]

  7. 37 degrees?! That is not okay with me!

    I’m definitely going to cut way back on running after my race, I am so burnt out.

    The ravioli looks seriously delicious right now.

  8. You’re car makes a cold weather noise? Im intrigued (and I have an old car!)

    That ravioli looks good! I just ate dinner but I want some.

  9. I’ve really cut back on running, but haven’t seen a difference in my long runs… so if you really wanted to train for another race after this one, you would be able to cut back without losing the stamina! When are we having a Philly blogger date??

Leave a Reply

