• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Tales of my Travels

So what is normally about a three and a half hour drive at most, took me four hours on Friday afternoon, but I finally made it to Arlington around 7 pm.  I quickly pulled myself together, stole some clothes from the girls, freshened up, and we were back out the door heading into DC for dinner and a night on the town.

Dani and Adrienne

Deciding to fully embrace the first weekend of October I packed leggings and boots for the weekend, and was excited to actually have a chance to wear them.  Dinner was at RFD, which boasts an epic beer menu, and I enjoyed a Sam Adams Octoberfest along with a Philly Cheesesteak burger.  After dinner we moved on to Rocket Bar, a favorite of Dani and Adrienne’s as well as every other Caps fan since it is right across from The Verizon Center.  I had one more Octoberfest before switching to water for the night, I mean I had a 9 mile run to take care of in the morning.

me with my favorites

I was actually pretty proud of myself for hanging out at a bar until 1:30 in the morning without drinking, and believe me there were many people trying to convince me to skip my run and drink, haha.  Rocket Bar was fun and laid back, we hung out with some other friends, played shuffle board, and had an overall good time.

Saturday morning, Dani, Adrienne, and I were all up early.  They were heading back into DC for an AIDS walk, and I had to get out the door for my 9 mile training run.  This run went a lot better than last weeks 8 miler.  I’m guessing the temperature difference and not drinking the night before are the two key factors in that.  I originally planned to run East on a trail all the way to the Potomac and back, but couldn’t figure out how to get around 395 so I turned around and followed the trail West instead.  It was a gorgeous morning, about 55 degrees when I started, and the trail was really nice.

I was going strong until mile five, when my hips started to really tighten up.  I took a few walking breaks, and stopped to get a really good stretch in at my turn around point.  The stretching break made all the difference, and as you can see by my splits I managed to pick it up for the last four miles home.  Before I knew it I was telling myself “only two miles left, that’s nothing!”  With .3 left to go, I saw Dani and Adrienne drive by me and stop at a red light.  They waved and asked if I wanted to hop in and hitch a ride the rest of the way home, but I was determined to hit 9 miles even so I declined.

Unfortunately, around mile six I started to experience some chaffing pain from my shorts, and just tried to ignore it but man did it burn.  I will definitely be breaking out the body glide for next weeks 9 miler.  I’m really pleased with my overall time, especially with all the hills Arlington has compared to NYC and my home town.

Before I even went inside the house to stretch, I stopped at 7-11 bought a huge bag of ice and a Gatorade to give myself an ice bath.  While I stretched, I let the tub fill up with cold water and then dumped the bag of ice into it.  I sat huddled in a sweatshirt in the ice water for about 15 minutes, hoping it would keep my legs from hurting too bad.  My friends thought I was insane, but hey I think it worked a little bit as they were not completely dead on Sunday.

After our respective mornings of exercise, the three of us went back out because the girls had a football game and I was their cheerleader.  It was an exciting game, and they won as time expired with a last-minute catch by our friend Adam in the end zone.

Fooootballll

As with most intramural leagues for people our age, the main appeal is the beer specials after the game at the bar who sponsors the league.  The whole team and their fans, caravaned over to Union Jacks for $3.00 16 oz Bud Lights and some food.  I was absolutely starving by the time we got there, and housed a bacon cheeseburger in about five minutes flat.  That’s one of the best things about knocking off a 9 miler on a Saturday morning.  You don’t feel even a little bad about eating a giant burger and drinking beers :).

$366 later, hey a football team can eat and drink a lot, exhaustion started to set in, and Dani, Adrienne, and I said our goodbyes and called it a night.  I think we were all sound asleep by 11:00, but it was absolutely a fun day.

Sunday morning, Adrienne and I both were up at the crack of dawn and decided to take a stroll to Caribou and Harris Teeter to pick up coffees and breakfast fixings.  It was another beautiful morning in Arlington, and the crisp air finally felt like fall!  We picked up some bagels, bacon, and eggs to make our own breakfast sandwiches, and I have to say I think they were better than any bagel place would have done.  I think Dani also enjoyed waking up to the smell of bacon wafting from the kitchen ;).

After breakfast, we were off to take care of some errands and then watched a little football before I finally hit the road around 4:30.  It was a fun yet exhausting weekend, but I can’t wait to go back!  Miss you ladies already.

Today, I’m back to normal routine.  I have a 5 mile recovery run tonight, and then I’m finally getting my hair cut.  My last hair cut was Mother’s Day weekend, so I’m waaaay past due.  Today is also the last day to enter my give away, so if you haven’t yet, you have until midnight EST.  Happy Monday!

14 Responses

  1. Nice job, lady! Bet that is a beautiful place to run. What I love most is being able to eat whatever I want for the rest of the day!

  2. Fun weekend! I am impressed you stayed out without drinking as well. Sometimes a hangover run is worth it, but maybe not when you’re going so far. And lucky you for being close to a Caribou Coffee!! I miss Caribou. It’s good stuff.

    • Well with the crowd I was with, if I decided the hell with it and to drink I would have been so hungover the next day I probably would have been throwing up, haha. After my semi-hungover 8 in NYC last week I wanted to try it feeling good.

  3. I have yet to experience the chaffing issues… but I hear it’s quite uncomfortable and sucky. 😦

    I love watching league games. Yes, I’m always the cheerleader, too. But that’s mostly because I’m horribly uncoordinated when it comes to organized sports. At least I can admit my weakness… 🙂

    • Ugh you’re lucky, this is the first time I’ve really had a serious problem with it. I think it might have just been the shorts, so those will not be making an appearance on a long run again. They tried to get me to play on Saturday, I declined. haha.

  4. Good job with your run! I’ve heard that Arlington is beautiful! I’ve never had Caribou Coffee! It sounds like it would be good! 🙂

    • It is really pretty down there, but super hilly also. I had the Caribou version of a Starbucks caramel machiatto and I like the Starbucks version better.

  5. Sounds like fun!
    Icing definitely helps!! And if you bundle up your top half, drink some hot tea or coffee, and distract yourself (KEY) with a magazine or music or a book, it’s over in no time!
    And go you for resisting the beer.. you’re a bigger woman than me!

    • Haha yeah I put a sweatshirt on with the hood up and read twitter updates while sitting. Omg you have no idea how proud of myself I was/ how shocked my friends were that I was able to resist.

  6. Sounds like a fun weekend. Great job with the 9 miler!

  7. Sounds like a fun weekend! I love when I have a good time and am able to wake up without a hang over, it truly makes me a happy person 🙂

    Good job on the run!

  8. We went to RFD the night before my wedding!

Leave a Reply

