• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A Productive Rest Day

So yesterday I opted to follow my Sunday long run with a rest day, since I’ll be running three days in a row this week and I know my legs will appreciate it.  Since getting injured, I try to avoid running more than two consecutive days, but sometimes it can’t be avoided.  What’s a great activity to partake in on a rest day?  Shoe shopping!  I went back and forth about these boots, but ultimately decided that I would regret not buying them and I had a $20 off coupon, so they were practically free!  You can either wear them like they are shown in the picture, or fold the top over so they hit below the knee.  Pretty excited to wear them, too bad it’s going be back in the 90s this week, sigh.  I really went searching for some new black heels to wear to work every day, does anyone else have to replace theirs every year?  I really destroy mine I guess, but I didn’t find any that had a work appropriate heel height that I liked.  Guess that means I have to go back. 🙂

After shopping, I came home and got right to pulling dinner together.  I chopped up half a sweet potato into wedge slices, threw them in a plastic bag, seasoned with cinnamon and nutmeg, coated with olive oil, shook up the bag and spread them out on a baking sheet.  20 minutes later I had some delicious sweet potato wedges ready for eatin, and I partnered them with some leftover tortellini pasta salad from last week.

Dinner

yummy sweet potatoes

Pasta

I really can’t believe that I didn’t eat sweet potatoes like this until this year, not only does it taste amazing, but it is seriously one of the best smelling foods to ever come out of my kitchen.  After dinner I watched the season premier of How I Met Your Mother, delightful as always, and then some of Dancing With the Stars.  I’ll catch the half hour that I missed later this week.  Rick Fox really surprised me, he did so good and I was really surprised by it.  So happy DWTS is back!

Check out this adorable photo I forgot I took over the weekend:

My favorites

Can you see Pumpkin’s little face poking over the counter top?  Haha, Alex went to sit down to eat his leftovers Sunday afternoon and was immediately joined by the little baby.  She sat there next to him the whole time he was eating, just waiting for maybe a little piece of rib.  She’s too funny, for some reason she thinks she’s a dog and will beg for food, wait at the front door for you to come home, and always wants to sit on your lap.  Anyways she’s the best, and Alex and I both love her, which is amazing for him since he’s super allergic to her.  Also, in somewhat related news, I hate long distance relationships.  That is all.

Alright, happy Tuesday everyone.  Glee is back tonight and I am BEYOND excited, I love that show and I need some new Glee tunes to add to my running playlist.  Can’t wait!  Five miles on the training plan for tonight.  Unfortunately they will have to get done after I drop my car off at the dealership to get its sunroof fixed and annual maintenance done.  Have a great one!

Also, if you didn’t get a chance to vote for me yesterday for Project Food Blog you still can today!  Thanks to everyone who does, I really appreciate it!

12 Responses

  1. Yay for Glee!!! And I LOVE those boots!! You’ll be wearing them soon enough, sigh.

  2. Those boots are cute. I am so sick of summer temps. I want to wear boots.

  3. Those sweet potatoes look delicious! I am so excited for Glee tonight also! Yay! I can’t wait for next week which is going to be the Britney Spears episode! 🙂

    The boots are cute! I know what you mean about wearing boots. I want it to be chilly enough to wear boots also. 🙂

  4. “Alex and I both love her, which is amazing for him ”

    You seem to be taking some minor liberties as a writer.

  5. I totally have to buy real work shoes – a.k.a., not fashion sneakers or old lace-up oxfords. Heels scare the crap out of me.

  6. I seriously missed How I Met Your Mother and am pretty upset about it. I’m hoping to catch it online tonight at some point…

    I have the worst time with work shoes- I reheel my winter boots way more than necessary (as in more than once or twice is probably being excessive). I blame the sidewalks outside of my building.

  7. Cute picture! And I LOVE those boots! I bought some similar ones by Steve Madden last winter.. best decision EVER.

  8. I love cats! I want one so bad! Your pumpkin is hilarious! 🙂

  9. I love that picture! Its so adorable. My cat thought he was a dog too – its pretty mmuch the best personality trait ever!

    I beat the crap out of my work shoes. The ones I have right now are shameful. Of course, I wear them anyhow because I’m cheap. 🙂

  10. Aw, love it! My cat is like a dog too. Every time we go in the kitchen she thinks she’s getting fed.

    With you on the 90-deg days. IT’S ALMOST OCTOBER. Ridicu-tarded.

  11. Cute boots! I found some Steve Madden 2-inch-ish round toe pumps this weekend that I’m enjoying today. They’re supah comfy!

Leave a Reply

