Wedding Number 3

Alexis and Jay tied the knot on Friday during a beautiful ceremony on the beach.  The weather was perfect, and the bride and groom both looked great.  Michelle, Ashley, and I left work at 11 am picked up our respective boyfriends and were at the beach by 1.  We had a quick lunch at Buffalo Wild Wings (my favorite) and then it was off to the hotel to get ready and party before the ceremony.  I almost lost an eye opening a bottle of champagne, but that was really the only troubles we had.

For cocktail hour, we moved inside and were greeted with an array of butlered hors’dourves, and they were incredible.  There were pigs in a blanket, lamb chops, spinach pastry puffs, a pasta buffet, crab cakes, mini cubans, sirloin served on chips, shrimp cocktail, and a cheese, fruit, and veggie display.  Everything I tried was delicious, and the things Alex had that I didn’t he said were amazing too.

Alex and I ❤

our sexy dates

Pretty ladies

Gorgeous nighttime views

beautiful bride

First dance, Better Together

Me with the bride

Sandcastle Cake!

The wedding was so much fun, I danced and drank the night away and woke up Saturday morning remembering why I need to stay away from champagne.  My head felt like it was about to explode off of my body, and I was so incredibly nauseous.  In case you’re wondering this is what I like to call a Monster.

Haha that is me struggling to get myself together so that we could check-out on time.  I think I probably scared little children in the hallway.  Thank god for large sunglasses.  I entertained Sahil, Ashley, and Alex on the drive home with stories of high-school Kelly getting engaged at 18 and being a non-drinking, engaged chick for the first two years of college.  Haha, ask me about that sometime, I’ll dedicate a whole post to it.

Since yesterday was Yom Kippur, Alex had to fast all day so we came home and took a 3 hour nap, haha  Hey, it helped to pass the time.  We woke up around 3:30 and debated about where to go for dinner when the sun went down.  We ultimately decided on JB Dawsons, and it was incredible as always.  I forgot my camera at home, but you can go look at my previous post about my last visit there, since I pretty much ate the same thing.  Alex started with the boneless buffalo tenders, I had some crab dip, then he had the full rack of ribs, mashed potatoes, and fries.  I went with the tenders platter, mashed potatoes, and fries also.  I ate about 1.5 chicken tenders and two bites of mashed potatoes before I was stuffed.  Lucky for me, that means I have tons of leftovers to dive into for lunch as soon as I publish this post.

After our dinner, we came home and watched Up in the Air with George Clooney and we both loved it.  Seriously, I had remembered hearing things about it when it was in theaters, but never saw it.  When I read the description on the box and saw, “Up in The Air is light and dark, hilarious and tragic, bouncy and brainy, romantic and real,” I was trying to figure out how that could be possible but it is pretty accurate.  I laughed, I felt bad for the characters, and it was a relatable story.  Anyway, so if you haven’t seen it yet I recommend it.

This morning I woke up to tackle the fist long run of my half-marathon training plan.  When I tried to wake Alex up, he rolled over and threw an arm across me so I accepted the fact that I would be running alone.  The furthest distance I had previously run alone outside was 4 miles, so 6 was a new goal for me.  I pretty much wanted to kill myself during the first mile, but I find with me that’s typically the case, found my stride by 2.5 and I was half-way done before I knew it.  At mile 4.5 I ran into the grocery store to grab a drink of water and use the bathroom, and then turned around and ran my last 1.5 miles home.  Now, my training plan says to keep my LSD runs at a 10:30 min/mile pace, but I tried that and it seemed like more of an effort to keep myself that slow than to just move in my natural stride.  All together I did the 6 miles in 58:35.

Mile 1: 9:58
Mile 2: 9:44
Mile 3: 9:52
Mile 4: 9:54
Mile 5: 9:29
Mile 6: 9:33

I felt really good on this run, strong, and fast.  Although thinking about running double that in two months is a little overwhelming at the moment, but I think I’ve got it!  Ok, this is the longest post in the history of the world, I’m off to watch the Eagles, maybe they’ll win today, and eat some leftovers.  Have a great Sunday!

8 Responses

  1. I hate the first mile- it’s always the worst, right???

    And I loved Up in the Air. It left me feeling really sad, but it was still such a good movie!

    I’m glad you had a great weekend!

  2. Good job on your run! My mom always fasts on Yom Kippur and sleeps the whole time to make it go faster too.

  3. You were engaged at 18?! Girl. Must tell!! Haha.
    Sounds like an interesting wedding! And I know that feeling alll too well 🙂

  4. I love your hair and dress! You looked so pretty! I agree, Up in the Air was a good movie. We watched it a few weeks ago.

    I definitely want to hear the story about you being engaged at 18!!! Have a good Monday! 🙂

  5. Looks like a very pretty wedding! I love beach weddings.

    I think Up in the Air might be one of my fave movies of all time. I loved it. Clooney didn’t hurt either.

  6. HEH – I love the water on the floor. That way you don’t have to lift your face off the pillow to drink it. Great minds think alike.

  7. […] Saw three of my friends get married […]

Leave a Reply

