• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Rest Days are the Best Days, Sometimes

You know what, all last night I was going around thinking it was Wednesday.  It wasn’t.  That made it especially disappointing to wake up this morning and discover today is really only Wednesday.  Sigh, after so many short weeks of work this one seems to just drag on.  Thankfully I have a half day on Friday so I really only have to make it through 2.5 more days.

Yesterday my training plan called for either rest or cross-training, and my legs were begging for rest so I listened.  Instead of working out, I went to the grocery store and spent $18 on the most random purchases ever.  No, seriously.  I bought one sweet potato, two pieces of Naan, a teriyaki marinade, whole wheat linguine, chips, pretzels, and french onion dip.  Ummm I blame that last one on the fact that it’s that time of the month.  Oh and a big bottle of Pinot Noir.  Random shopping trip that really no meal can come from.  Oh well.

While dinner wasn’t very exciting, it was still enjoyable and tasty.  There was some three cheese tortellini in my fridge and broccoli in my freezer that I decided to combine.  After cooking all the tortellini, I served myself some and split the rest between two containers.  One with marinara sauce and the other with Italian dressing.  Pasta salad with tortellini is so good.

You know what’s funny, I always forget that I’m really not a huge fan of marinara sauce or grated parm until it’s covering my dinner.  I like sauce, but only a little, not drowning the entire dish.  Still the tortellini were good, and the broccoli made the dish much more filling.

I relaxed on the couch with some wine and TV after dinner.  The CW is playing re-runs of How I Met Your Mother from 7-8 every night now and I’m so excited.  I love that show so much, and I know there are a lot of episodes I’ve never seen.  Glee was on from 8-10, so you know I was watching that to prepare for the all new season starting next Tuesday. SO excited.

Alright, I suppose it’s time to do some work.  Have a great Wednesday everyone.

8 Responses

  1. Tortellini and Pinor Noir what a great combo. Mmm! I am a huge red wine fan. 🙂

    I am so excited for Glee too!! I cannot wait!

  2. Mmmm…love tortellini.

    GLEE!!!!!!!!

  3. Love the random grocery shopping trips. I think they’re the only reason my meals ever seem to get switched up- because I pick up something I don’t normally.

    And I love that How I Met Your Mother is coming back in reruns- I didn’t really start watching until later in the 2nd season- so I have a lot to catch up on, too!

  4. Everyone getting excited for Fall TV to come back makes me so jealous! I need cable!

    Any combination of food with Pinot Noir is not random. Just sayin’.

  5. I think tortellini is very exciting. I haven’t had it in years.

    I thought I’d respond to your last training post, and say that 10:30 does seem a wee bit slow for the long run. Not all of it has to be fast, but it might make sense to run it a bit closer to your goal HM pace.

  6. I love getting random groceries! That’s when I find all the best stuff.

    I’ve been watching the How I Met Your Mother reruns too. I’ve missed so much of that show so its nice to kind of catch up.

  7. I’m just impressed that you got all that for only $18! I’m so bad at going and spending 50 bucks on nothing!

  8. Haha I can so relate to your little shopping trip… That sounds like when I go grocery shopping when I’m upset. And the wine? Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

