• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

10 Weeks to Go

So maybe I’m a little superstitious, but after getting hurt before I could even start my Broad Street training I wanted to wait until the very last minute to unveil my half marathon training plan.  Well, yesterday was officially training day one so I suppose it’s safe to reveal it now.

This is a plan I found in Runners World to help you break a 2:00 half time.  Easy and long slow distance runs start around a 10:30 pace and work down towards a 10:18 by the end of October/ beginning of November.  There is one tempo run a week, and a mile repeat workout about every four weeks.  I’m kind of wondering how running my long distances at a 10:30 pace is going to prepare me for a sub 2:00 half time, but I suppose I can trust Runners World, right?

Anyway, perhaps running a 5k race the day before I was supposed to start half training wasn’t the best plan, because my legs were sore and tired yesterday.  I didn’t want to bail on the first day of training though, so I sucked it up and headed to the gym hoping that the run would shake out some of the muscle tightness I was feeling.  In keeping with my plan, I hopped on the treadmill for 4 miles at about a 10 min/mile pace.  My legs were tired and heavy, but it did feel good to loosen them up and stretch.  Tonight is either a rest or cross training night, and at the moment I’m leaning towards rest :).

On a related note, it seems that Alex was by the racing bug and has already signed up for his next 5k.  He even created a team for it, and I’ve joined.  The 5k is in NYC on Saturday October 16, and it’s the Terry Fox Run for Cancer Research.

At 18 years of age, Canadian Terry Fox learned that due to bone cancer his right leg would be amputated above the knee. Terry had a terrific spirit that cancer could not defeat. During his ordeal, Terry became convinced that a cure for cancer could be found through cancer research but funds were needed.

On April 12, 1980 at St. Johns, Newfoundland, Terry dipped his artificial leg in the Atlantic Ocean and began what he called the Marathon of Hope. Terry planned to run across Canada, some 6,000 miles to raise money and awareness for cancer research. For the next 142 days he ran 26 miles per day, the marathon distance, crossing 3,000 miles until, on September 1, 1980 near Thunder Bay, Ontario, he was forced to stop. The cancer had spread to his lungs. He died on June 28, 1981, a month shy of his 23rd birthday.

Since his death, thousands of runs have been held in Canada and around the world in Terry’s name raising funds for cancer research. Terry Fox, a true Canadian hero, has become an international symbol of perseverance and dedication. Help us to continue and celebrate Terry’s legacy with the New York Terry Fox Run.

If there are any NYC runners who would be interested in joining our team, shoot me an email and I’ll send you the link to sign up!  If you’re not from the New York area but still want to participate, feel free to donate to our teams fundraising efforts.  All proceeds go towards the Terry Fox Foundation and the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.  To make a donation towards me and my team click here.  Anything you can give would be really appreciated.

Alright, that’s all I’ve got for today.  Have a great day everyone!

15 Responses

  1. Which half marathon are you training for? My goal is to break two hours this year too. I created a hybrid plan based on plans I found in Runner’s World and Hal Higdon. I’m hoping it works!

  2. ha ha… I knew it! I swear- it only takes one 5k to get people addicted to our running sickness! lol

    Good luck with the plan! Looks like a solid one!

  3. I think “caught” is an odd choice of word.

    More like I spend all of my time with an infected host who may or may not have injected me in my sleep

  4. Wow– what a great cause to run for!

  5. Nice training plan! Was there a specific program you used or is that just a personal calendar? it looks very user friendly!

    If I was in NYC I’d TOTALLY run that race with y’all!

  6. I’m glad you guys are doing a Terry Fox run! He’s definitely a hero around here.

  7. Looks like a great plan!!

  8. The Terry Fox run! That run was a huge deal in Canada so it brings back memories of college to see you mention it. I didn’t know they held the run in The States too – awesome!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  9. Your plan sounds great! You’re going to rock it girl!

Leave a Reply

