• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A Much Better Run

As predicted, after a couple good nights of sleep I had a much better run yesterday than on Monday and Wednesday.  Also a perk, it was 74 degrees and somewhat cloudy so I took my run to the streets.  I started out with no real distance goal in mind, I was thinking something between 4 and 5, but I also had the “something is better than nothing” mentality running through my head.  I finished my two-mile loop around my neighborhood, and was just getting in the groove of things so I moved on out to the bike path running a long the road.  All together I did 4 miles in what I think was my fastest outside pace for that distance ever.

  • Mile 1: 9:28 (tried to start slower than usual so I wouldn’t burn out)
  • Mile 2: 9:06 (big uphill part which also includes a large downhill)
  • Mile 3: 9:25 (got stopped at a red light and lost my stride for a minute)
  • Mile 4: 8:58! (so impressed by myself with this pace for the final mile)
  • Total: 37:02, 9:14 pace

There was also wind blowing in my face the whole time, which I would like to blame for the two slower miles, haha.  That run really boosted my confidence for Sundays 5k.  I think for a while I was just expecting my runs to feel easy, and I just had to remember that running isn’t easy but that I have the endurance to do it and push through the hard parts.  Oh speaking of Sunday, the forecast is 72 and rain because it prefers to rain during races I sign up for.  It poured the whole time during Broad Street when I ran it two years ago.  Oh well, hopefully it doesn’t rain too much.

For dinner I was craving one thing and one thing only, Chinese food.  I know when I get cravings like that trying to satisfy it with anything else is pointless so Chinese food it was.

steamed pork dumplings, chicken lo mein, veggie spring roll

these are my absolute favorite

my other favorite

Obviously not the healthiest meal, but I hadn’t had Chinese food for a while and it’s all about what you want in moderation right?  After dinner I sat on the couch waiting for the return of one of my favorite shows from last year, don’t laugh, Vampire Diaries.  I really love it and the two main vampires, Damon and Stephan, couldn’t possible be any hotter.  The bf makes fun of me for loving it so much, but I think it’s really good and this season looks awesomeee.

Tonight I have no plans and it looks like I’m going to have the house to myself, which typically means cheesy movies I’d be embarrassed to watch with anyone else.  One of the last times this happened I watched RENT, and danced around singing every song in my living room.  I’m resting the legs today and tomorrow to prepare for Sunday, so hopefully I’ll have some good luck!

What is everyone else up to this weekend?  Happy Friday!

26 Responses

  1. Good job on the speedy run!

    I totally listen to the RENT soundtrack on my runs…and sing outloud 🙂

  2. Love Chinese food! Did you try the place I ordered from?

    I love RENT! The music is awesome! It sounds like you are going to have a relaxing night! 🙂 I’m not up to much this weekend. I’d like to relax. 🙂

  3. Congrats on the run! Looks like all those speed workouts have really paid off!

    Plans for this weekend?! I’m going healthy or going home! I’m starting my 30 day yoga challenge and possibly an outdoor run saturday, followed by a soccer game sunday!

  4. I love Chinese food! Especially spring rolls. They’re so good!

  5. There is no shame in singing and dancing to RENT…. I have done this myself too many times 🙂 Just checking in, yes I still read every day! Great job and good luck Sun!

  6. Nice run! I haven’t had takeout Chinese in FOREVER. It is totally a flavor that is not the best, but impossible to replicate – kind of like frozen pizza. Yum.

  7. I’m the same way, when I get a craving like that I just have to go for it or I’ll never get it out of my system.

    I agree with the hard run thing, I always forget that not every run will be smooth but the fact is that running is hard. It’s so good to finish a terrible run though, such a sense of accomplishment. Good job on your 4-miler!

    I’m going to a shrimp boil tonight, the football game tomorrow and then a long run Sunday. Gonna be busy!

  8. You cant say no to lo mein. Its too good!

    Rent is great and I totally love busting out to that song!

  9. Vampire Diaries was on last night?! NO!!! My dvr better have caught it is all I know.. I LOVE that show! No shame.

    And you just gave me the HUGEST craving for lo mein!

  10. The same thing happened to me on my run this morning! Stupid wind..

  11. Don’t you love when you have no expectations for a workout and they end up great ones?

    I love nights to myself. Looks like I get one to myself after the little M goes to bed. The husband is working on a car at his brother’s. I love the few chances I get alone time!!!

  12. GOod luck with your race. I’m also running a 5K this weekend.

  13. What 5k are you doing Sunday? Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

