• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

College Nostalgia

I miss college.  Yes, I’m well aware that I graduated waaaaaaaaay back in 2007, but my four years at James Madison were by far the best four of my life and I miss them.  Specifically on mornings like this, when it’s cool and crisp, and I can imagine myself walking across the quad in Uggs and a Ralph Lauren cable knit sweater, coffee in hand, to my 9:30 Italian class.  I met my four best friends on the first day of Freshmen year, we all lived on the same hall and were Irish Catholic girls, and we’re still just as close now if not closer despite living in four different states.  I miss college every day, but I especially miss it in the fall when I’m reminded of football tailgates, blockparties, and the changing of leaves on campus. JM I ❤ U.

My favorite place

Sigh, alright enough nostalgia for today.  Yesterday after work I hit the treadmill for a run, and almost immediately knew it would be a rough one.  You know, when you think you’re at least 1.5 if not 2 miles into your run only to look at the display and see you’ve just hit 1.  That was kind of crushing and I was pretty defeated from that point on, which is when the bargaining began.  Ok, if you just do 4 today, you can do 5 tomorrow and add an extra after your 5k Sunday.  Or, just run the whole 45 minutes but you can slow your pace down.  In the end, the second choice was what I went with and did about 4.8 miles in 45 minutes.  I’m finally feeling significantly less tired today, so hopefully my run goes better.

After the gym, I kind of had to book it home to shower and eat dinner because I had my Fantasy Football draft at 8 pm.  Yup, I play.  My college friends and I all play together, this is my third year.  I think I ended up with a decent team, but we’ll see how it goes once football actually starts tonight!  True story: two years ago I took the Friday off after the first Thursday of football so I could go out and have fun and not worry about work.  That won’t be necessary this year, but I’m still very excited for the return of football.

Dinner was absolutely delicious.  All day at work I was dreaming about the sweet potato I had at home, but couldn’t decide what to have with it.  My mom happened to stop at the grocery store on her way home from work and picked up lunch supplies, and nothing sounded more delicious than a ham and cheese sandwich with my sweet potato.

ham and cheeeese

sweet potato chips/fries

For my sweet potato I simply cut them in round slices, seasoned with olive oil, cinnamon, and nutmeg and popped them in the oven at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, flipping every five.  Soooooooo good.  I of course had a lovely side of ketchup for dipping.  I can’t believe I used to think I didn’t like sweet potatoes, what a fool I was!

That’s it from me today, have a great Thursday everyone, only one more day until the weekend!  Is it sad that I’m super excited to sit on my couch and watch movies this weekend and not have to go anywhere?

24 Responses

  1. Have you applied to the J. Peterman catalog? I think they’re looking for a new writer.

  2. Yeah, even teaching on a college campus, I STILL miss college! Fall is definitely a nostalgic time for me to.

  3. I totally miss college also! I miss the days of being carefree and not having a ton of bills to pay. I miss pub night Mondays and Thirsty Thursday. I miss playing beer pong with random people. I miss it all.

    I am so looking forward to fall though. This summer has been way too hot and humid. Let the countdown till we can wear uggs commence! 🙂

  4. I kind of wish I was going to be sitting at home all weekend. I’m excited for football, but I’m tired!

    I wish I did a fantasy draft, I always say I’m going to and then I don’t.

  5. Mmm ham and cheese sandwiches are so good! That sounds like a perfect dinner!

  6. I miss college more and more every day! My friends and I are also doing a fantasy football league but I don’t know how well I will do…I don’t know much about the sport!

  7. I was just talking about this! It’s always about this time of the year- when the weather starts to turn and football starts. I can seriously close my eyes and remember walking around campus… 😦

  8. I miss college this time of year too. I loved the start of classes and grabbing Starbucks on the way. Sitting on the mall and reading while I waited for another class to start. I graduated about 2.5 years ago (Dec. 07) and man I still miss it a ton.

  9. “Uggs and a Ralph Lauren cable knit sweater” your Uggs look better with your pink skirt…just sayin. I immediately thought of you while walking home from class today and how I was sure you’d be looking forward to Uggs, spandex, and sweaters.

    I’ll make a toast to you and your college years while I’m at dollar drinks tonight 🙂

  10. I miss college too–and I graduated in 07. I think I’ll always miss it!

  11. I miss college too… I was actually just thinking about that yesterday. I think fall is a time when lots of us think back to those times since that’s when we first started college. My sister goes there now, so I think a visit is in order SOON! 🙂

  12. We have similiar minds – I just wrote about the whole bargaining with running thing last night.

    I miss college too.

  13. That’s only the BEST way to eat sweet potatoes!

Leave a Reply

