• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Day 1 and the Rehearsal

I feel like a completely new woman after getting more than 4 hours of sleep last night.  It is glorious.  Our first flight from NYC to Memphis went smoothly and we ended up landing a few minutes early, Alex managed to fall asleep for most of the flight while I read some blogs and took pictures.

sleeping babe

Ohio River I believe

When we stepped off the plane in Memphis, I was greeted with the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen.  A Starbucks.  Luckily we had enough time before our next flight that I could stop and get some, and it was amazing.

so happy to have coffee

So that’s what I look like after 4 hours of sleep and minimal make-up, in case anyone was wondering, haha.  Conveniently, the couple we were hitching a ride from to get from the airport in Des Moines to the hotel in Ames was on our flight from Memphis to Des Moines, so we met up with them at the gate and chatted for awhile before boarding.  John (the guy) was Alex’s brothers roommate at JMU and is conducting the ceremony today and his wife (Kristin) is super sweet and from Fargo, North Dakota.  Yes people, I can officially say I’ve met someone from North Dakota now.

Our second flight went off without a hitch also, although this plane was significantly smaller and lacking wi-fi, booooo, so I watched the end of the movie I started on the train ride up to NYC Thursday night and took some more pictures.  First, I dove into the turkey sandwich that I bough back at LGA.  Hey when you’ve been up since 4 am, 10:30 is lunchtime.

turkey on multi grain

farms

more farms

We landed in Des Moines, grabbed our rental car, and started our drive through the country.  Iowa was pretty much what I expected, lots of corn fields and farms, but pretty.  We got to the hotel, checked in, and laughed when we discovered our room had two Queen beds.  Check out our view.

view from our room

Meh, whatever, I’m currently blogging from one and Alex is eating in the other, so it’s working out just fine.  After a little down time and a quick lunch with Alex’s brother and some other wedding guests, it was time to get ready for the rehearsal dinner.

Thanks to my friend Ashley for lending me that outfit, I loved it!  BCBG skirt and J Crew t-shirt.  The rehearsal went well I think, and I got a sneak peak at the brides dress which is beautiful!  The wedding is taking place in the brides families backyard, so dinner last night was bbq and amazing.  Alex requested I not take pics of the food, so I have none but I had some amazing baked beans and a bbq beef sandwich.  General consensus is that it was brisket.  After dinner and dessert, everyone went out to a local bar to hang out some more, but Alex and I were so beat that we called it a night after one drink.

at the bar

Check out this crazy Bloody Mary that our friend Jon ordered.

It has a whole shrimp in it! Anyway, I think we came home around 9:45 (10:45 to us) and I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow and slept like a rock until 9 am.  I’m off to go check out the hotels fitness facilities and get some miles in, and then it’s wedding time!  I’m so excited, Lisa and Zach are an amazing couple and I can’t wait to watch them get married.

Have a great Saturday everyone!

8 Responses

  1. I laughed when he requested you not take pics of the food… :p

    Cute skirt! Very “summer-y”!

  2. Have a fun time at the wedding!! Love the outfit you wore to the rehearsal!! 🙂

  3. Very cute skirt!

    That blood mary looks good. I like bloody mary’s but they have to not be too chunky.

  4. I love that skirt!! Have a good time at the wedding!! I love weddings! 🙂

  5. haha when I saw the picture of you in your outfit I was like whennn did she get that outfit?! and then I continued reading and you answered my question. You know me so well. Iowa looks delightful…still confused by the Midwest though. Miss you lots!

  6. I love your outfit! Too cute!

  7. yeahhh – LOVE bloody mary’s. We bought this hellfire novelty BM mix yesterday I’m just dying to try.

  8. Cute skirt!!! I hope that the wedding went well! It’s amazing how much traveling takes out of you!!

Leave a Reply

