• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

From 36,000 Feet

Good morning and happy Friday!  I’m currently coming to you from 36,000 feet somewhere above West Virginia near Kentucky at the moment en route to good old Memphis, TN.  I was smart enough to check the on board wi-fi options last night, and realized you save almost $2.00 by buying before you fly.  It’s awesome.  Getting to NYC last night however, not as awesome.

I made it to the train station relatively painlessly, but then 5:55 rolled around and no train. Still no train at 6.  It finally showed up around 6:05, 10 minutes late, and it was an old train, not one of the nice new NJ Transit double deckers.  I arrived in Penn Station around 7:30 at which point I had to navigate through the station to the subway with my gigantic suitcase.  Not an easy task, but apparently I looked nice and like I needed help because multiple people stopped to ask me if I needed help lugging my suitcase up the stairs.  I declined, but it was still nice of them to offer.

I originally was planning on trying to run 2 miles when I got to NY, but the Subway was a disaster and the L train took forever so I didn’t even make it to Alex’s until after 8:00 at which point all I wanted was a drink.  So that’s what I made, and then I waited for him to finish his fantasy football draft and pay attention to me :).

Our 4 am wake-up call came a little too soon, probably because we stayed up a little too late, but we managed to get out the door by 4:30, right on time.  It’s funny, even at 4:30 in the morning NYC still has a lot going home.  We even got stopped by a drunk couple who couldn’t find the building they were looking for.  They were just coming home as we were getting up to leave, oh to be young again :).  We hopped in a cab and made it to LGA in Queens in about 20 minutes.  Security was a breeze and we made it through and were ready to get some breakfast by 5 am.

LGA actually has some pretty good food choices in the Delta terminal and I got a turkey bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich on a roll, and picked up a turkey sandwich to eat on our second flight from Memphis to Iowa.  I also grabbed a Fage peach yogurt, that I ate on the plane as soon as we were allowed to put our tables down.

breakfast

We land in Memphis around 8:30 and hopefully our connecting flight is nearby because that leaves at 9:20, and then we finally land in Iowa at 10:55 Central time.  Trying to figure out how long our flights were with the time change was driving me crazy, I always get so confused, haha.

sun coming up behind our plane

I think our hotel is about an hour away from the airport, so hopefully we get there by 1 and I can take a nap before it’s time to get ready for the rehearsal dinner at 5.  Lord knows I’m going to need it.  We actually lucked out on this flight, and there was an entire empty row so Alex and I moved over to it to have some more space.  He’s already asleep haha.

Alright, well I hope everyone has a great weekend!  What are you all up to?

10 Responses

  1. Sounds like the traveling isn’t going tooo badly (or at least the air travel part…). Enjoy the weekend! 🙂

  2. Have a great weekend! Can’t wait to read all about it!

  3. Have fun! 🙂 Enjoy the wedding weekend!

  4. Have fun! I love flying. In-laws are coming to town – AAA baseball game and some touristy stuff down south. Woo Woo. But I’m sneaking us into a brewery for “lunch” tomorrow.

  5. Have fun! nice that the ride in wasn’t a nightmare. Make good choices!

  6. I do not like flying at all! 😦 It scares me and I just can’t stand the process of it! So good job of the smooth boarding! Have funnnnn!

  7. I would be suspicious of people offering to help me with my suitcase. What if they stole it?

    Have a good time at the wedding!!

  8. I really want a fantasy football league! I really wish they did it for college tho.

    Have a good time at the wedding!!

  9. Oh travelling – it can never go smoothly, can it!? Best of luck with the rest of your trip. Hope you guys have fun!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  10. Have a great trip!! I hate time changes too.. it always confuses me with flight time!!

Leave a Reply

