• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Body Image

I think it’s probably obvious by now, but Thursday is my favorite day of the week.  I think it goes back to my college days when I didn’t have Friday classes and my weekends started usually by noon on Thursdays.  I would then hit up the dining hall for grilled cheese day, followed by a workout at the gym, and then head home to get ready to go out.  My roommates and I would dance around our upstairs, usually while blasting Justin Timberlake or the Step Up soundtrack, and head out to the Thursday night bar in time to beat the line and hit the happy hour.  It took me a few hungover Fridays at work after graduating to realize that Thursday isn’t actually the official start to the weekend once you are an adult.  Still, in my mind it’s completely appropriate to celebrate with a few drinks :).

Step Up was on ABC Family last night, and it brought back all my fond memories from college of being with my roommates and partying to the soundtrack.  Plus I love Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan, and it makes it so much better that they’re married in real life.  Alright enough of that tangent :).

Last night I again hit up the gym to get in a run, gotta get 15 miles this week somehow!  I did 4.45 miles in 40 minutes and these were my mile splits.

  • Mile 1: 9:05
  • Mile 2: 9:05
  • Mile 3: 8:57
  • Mile 4: 8:34
  • Mile 4-4.45 8:20

Towards the end of miles 3 and 4 I started to feel some shin pain on the inside of my right leg.  Unfortunately I’ve always gotten shin splints, even since high school, so I know the routine for treating them and can recognize the pain as just shin splints.

Yesterday at work we had a bridal shower for Alexis, and if you follow me on Twitter you know I stuff my face full of cake.  Like an idiot I decided to bring some cake home, and after my lean cuisine ravioli dinner I stuffed my 4th piece of cake of the day into my face.  I have no self-control, haha.

But I mean, would you be able to resist that?  The chocolate filling in the middle is like a chocolate pudding, and oh so delicious.

Body Image

In honor of the Operation Beautiful book release this week, I wanted to talk a little about body image, mostly our distorted body image.  Lisa talked yesterday about the last 5 lbs, and how as women we are always struggling to lose the last 5-10.  But why?  I know personally this is something I’ve always struggled with, even at my thinnest.

Something my mom always told me was, “appreciate how you look now, because one day you’ll look back at pictures and be sad you didn’t realize how good you looked then.”  I look back at pictures from high school and the beginning of college, and wish I could have been happy with how I looked.

fall 2005

This picture is from the beginning of my Junior year of college, and I know for a fact I wasn’t happy with how I looked and still trying to lose weight.  Looking at it now, I wish I could have seen what everyone else saw when they looked at me.  I wish I could have appreciated it.

Five years from now, I’ll probably look back at pictures of right now and think the same thing.  It’s sad because I still wear those same jeans.  Sure they may fit a little differently, but they still fit.  Why are we always working towards some unattainable goal?  Why can’t we be happy with how we look?  Why do we feel the need to shoot down compliments from people when they tell us we look good?  Well honestly, who knows why.  Yes the media and the image it puts out plays a role, but despite all the things we know about photoshopping, and touch-ups, why can’t we just realize it’s not real and not normal?

Every day I try to remind myself to appreciate me for me, and my body for the way it is.  To be ok with eating four pieces of cake in one day because I felt like it and it was delicious.  To run for the joy of running and not to burn calories.  Honestly, sometimes I feel as though it is a never-ending battle to see myself as beautiful and to accept compliments as genuine, but hopefully one day it won’t be as hard.  Here’s to being happy the way we are and realizing that we are all beautiful!

Love yourself!

Also, if you missed Caitlin on The Today Show this morning, here is the clip from her interview.  Congrats Caitlin, it was amazing!

24 Responses

  1. I agree. I look back at old pictures and think WTF was I thinking trying to lose weight when I look great! (And this STILL holds true).

    oh, and thank you for posting Caitlin’s interview…I hadn’t gotten a chance to see it! She looks great!

  2. Great post!

    I look back at old pictures of myself and I wish I could have appreciated the way I looked. It took so much away from my life, and I wish it hadn’t taken me so long to lighten up a little.

  3. I love this! You’re so right…we’re always shooting down compliments. Maybe some day we will finally be happy with how we look…or maybe its an evil game! 🙂

  4. I feel the same way– I always thought I had fat thighs and then I found a picture of me from sophomore year in college and I was like, “holy crap!!” I like to whip that picture out every now and then just to peep my skinny legs. Still white though. Very, very white…

  5. Yes, yes .. I am trying to seriously shake the 10lbs I put on since last summer. I was a size 1 now I am a 3…I think I should be fine with that but I’m not! My bf says I have a distorted image of myself. I’m working on trying to except I don’t need to be a size 0-1 at age 24…my body needs to change and I am trying to change with it…mentally. It’s tough though!!!! I know if I work out for the joy of it I will feel much more comfortable with myself and size that I wear. Great post my dear.

    • A size 3? I didn’t even know clothes still came in that size, haha biotch. JK. Seriously though, that’s tiny, you should be more than happy with that!

  6. Yep, I have the same thing– I look back at pictures from high school and college, and think, “Man, why couldn’t I have just been happy with myself the way I was?!”

    Step Up was the first date my now husband took me on. My choice, not his. I knew he was a keeper if he was willing to sit through that movie for me 🙂

    • Aww he is a keeper for sitting through that movie! The first movie I made my bf see was Dear John, haha. Maybe he’s a keeper too.

  7. Great post!! I’m so glad that you are reflecting on body image now before it’s too late. You are beautiful inside and out!! 🙂 And I can totally relate to looking back on old pictures and wishing I hadn’t thought I was fat b/c I wasn’t!!!!!!

  8. I’m so with you on the whole “why can’t we just be happy now” thing! It’s such a hard concept these days, with media and other people constantly judging others!! Umm.. that icing looks fabulous. I could totally go without the cake part, but icing.. YUMM! Oh, and I love Step Up (and Channing Tatum) too! We’re so freaking similar!

  9. My mom always said the same thing to me as well, they can be so smart right?! It’s so true though. We’re way too critical of ourselves.

    I miss college weekends so much. I wish we could get off at Thursday noon in the real world, haha.

  10. I am so bad about that too. I look back at old pictures and am amazed that I didn’t see how cute I was…oh well.

  11. I was actually far uglier as a teenager than I am now (I can’t be the only one who was really odd looking as a kid…), and I currently look like Zach Braff in drag. Heh.

    Also, I’m hungry after looking at those cake pics.

  12. you’re so right…we should just appreciate how we look right now! i always look at pictures of me from college and hs and wonder why i struggled with body image so much…i looked perfectly healthy! lovely post 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. It’s great that you realized this though and hopefully you’ll be able to appreciate the way you look right now too.

Leave a Reply

