• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

How to Make an Omelet

For a long time in my life, the art of making an omelet alluded me.  No matter how many times I tried I ended up throwing in the spatula and with an omelet that looked more like scrambled eggs than a delicious fluffy egg pocket stuffed with my favorite toppings.  Luckily, in the past few years I managed to read up enough on cooking an omelet to master the task.  The keys?  Patience, low heat and a great non-stick pan.

Normally, my eggs hit the pan and I want to start messing with them right away.  To create a successful omelet however, you leave the eggs alone in the pan until they start to bubble.  Now, you can add any toppings you want to before this, but just make sure you only fill one side with them so that you have an empty side to flip overtop.  Once the bottom layer of the eggs has started to cook, lift one end up with your spatula, tilt your pan towards that end, and let the still runny yolk drain underneath the cooked part you are holding up.  Do this until there is no runny yolk still on top, then flip the side without toppings over onto the side with.  Continue cooking for a few more minutes, flip once more if you want to brown both sides, then slide onto your plate and enjoy!

Last night I practiced my omelet cooking skills by having breakfast for dinner.  The vegetable situation in my house is super sad right now, so all my omelet included was bacon, cheese, and eggs.  This is also not at all what I was in the mood for last night, but again choices were limited.

There’s one and a half slices of bacon, and two slices of American cheese in there, and then of course another one and a half pieces of bacon on the side.  Well, because I like bacon.  For being not what I was in the mood for, it ended up tasting pretty delicious.

Savory and salty goodness.  I also poured myself a glass of Chardonnay as an after dinner snack.  Prior to cooking dinner, I hit up the 4:30 yoga class at my gym for the second time.  I liked it a little bit more this time.  There was still the awkward chanting at the beginning and the end, but at least the instructor spoke loud enough to be heard this time.  The class also had slight variations this time which I liked, I felt like there was more focus on legs this time and last week it was arms.  Perhaps I will make this a weekly event, it’s growing on me more every time.  I think the thing I like the most about yoga is that I leave feeling tall (not that I’m short) and strong.  I just feel like every muscle has been stretched and lengthened.  After tying my legs up in knots with run after run, it’s a good feeling.

In other news, it’s Wednesday already!  Also, I’m really loving all the Formspring questions you guys are throwing at me so keep them coming!  I plan on answering the ones I have on Friday, and I guess make Formspring a kind of Friday theme until I run out of things to answer.  So if you’ve got a question don’t hesitate to ask, it is anonymous after all.  Alright I’m off, have a great day everyone!

23 Responses

  1. I am a member of the Fear of Omelets Brigade. I like them, but chicken out every time I go to make on, turning it into a scramble or frittata (which are fine, but sometimes you want an omelet). I shall take this lesson and try it soon, but I think it might be a learning process.

  2. I can’t stand it in restaurants when the omelette is runny on the inside, so I tend to make all mine well done at home.

    And, please tell me that’s hot sauce and not ketchup. 🙂

  3. Haha…my omelets always end up SO ugly and broken! I need to bookmark this post!

  4. Yep- I’m one of those kids who has no patience and it turns into a scramble. I also need a smaller pan. Or more eggs in my omelet… either one…

    • Haha yeah that happens to me half the time. I typically use two or three eggs, any less and it gets kind of holey looking.

  5. Somehow I have mastered the omelet! Really not sure how either! I love me some spinach, diced tomatoes and finely shredded mozzarella cheese! I also like LAWRY’S Seasoned Salt with a hint of crushed red peppers when I am feeling spicey! 🙂

  6. I love making omelets but I am also really impatient. I always have to find something else too cook while I wait or else I can not keep my hand off it! haha!

  7. I love omelets!! I’m not very good at making them, but Andrew has it down so I beg him to make one for me every now and then.

  8. Oh, thanks for the tips! I don’t think I’ve ever made a successful omelet so this was very good to know.

  9. Pretty omelet! I should send the husband over to your blog, since I try to avoid eggs and he loves them!

  10. I love omelettes for dinner! I actually learned how to make one properly on the Today Show one morning, haha :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. Omelets are tricky! I’ve only just gotten the hang of them, and I still tend to get impatient and ruin them! 🙂

  12. Breakfast for dinner is the best! I still can’t make a pretty omlette, no matter how much I try. Still tastes delicious though!

Leave a Reply

