• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other subscribers

A Weekend at Home

Wow, Monday again and the last week of July.  This summer is seriously flying by, it’s really sad.  Saturday I did end up going to the pool for about an hour and a half, but it was just too hot to sit there for much longer.  Every time I dried off, I needed to jump back in and get wet again.  Either way, at 3:00 it was time to head home and shower because my sister and I had plans to head out to KOP for a little shopping and dinner at Seasons 52.

Our first stop was Nordstrom’s where I got my watch sized so that I can finally wear it, and of course they were having a giant sale so I couldn’t help but browse through the denim.  I ended up finding a really nice pair of dark denim Paige jeans on sale, and my sister found a pair of petite Citizens that fit her perfectly (she typically needs to get everything hemmed).  It was a successful stop, and surprisingly those jeans were my only purchase.  Then it was on to dinner!

This was only my second trip to the restaurant, but the first was for lunch so I was excited to see the seasonal dinner items.  My sister and I arrived around 5:30 and there was already a half an hour wait for a table in the dining room.  Luckily we were able to snag a table in the piano bar area, and didn’t have to wait at all.  I of course started with my favorite cocktail from last time, the Firefly Vodka Raspberry Teatini and on my recommendation my sister ordered the same.

Then as an appetizer we agreed on the Garlic Chicken flat bread with balsamic red onions, roasted red peppers and Mozzarella cheese.  It was fantastic, and the two of us finished the entire thing.

I typically am not a red meat eater, but when I saw the Char Crust Filet Mignon with garlic mashed potatoes, fresh vegetables and tamarind sauce I knew it was what I wanted.

The steak was prepared perfectly for my liking, and each bite had so much flavor.  The mashed potatoes were delicious, and not too buttery.  The asparagus and carrots were also fantastic, and not covered in butter or oil.  I ate everything on my plate except the mushrooms.

My sister went with the Cedar Plank Atlantic Salmon with whole-roasted sweet carrots, fresh asparagus and red bliss potatoes.  The salmon was amazing, not fishy tasting at all and perfectly cooked.  She loved it also.

And then of course, onto the best part of the meal, dessert!  Both my sister and I each picked out one of the desserts and shared with each other.  I went with the Belgian Chocolate Rocky Road and Colleen picked the Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse Cake.

We each had a bite of each others, and then finished the ones we picked out for ourselves.

Such a delicious, satisfying, and healthy meal.  My sister enjoyed it as much as I did, and we’re already talking about going back in the fall to see what they offer then.

Sunday was a day filled with more errand running.  I wanted to pick up a travel case for my new MacBook, so Best Buy was our first stop where I found a pretty pink one.  Then it was to Barnes and Noble where I picked up the latest issue of Runners World to read their Sub 2:00 half marathon article.  Very glad I did because there is an awesome training plan included, and our last stop was Michael’s where I picked up some craft supplies for scrapbook I’m making.  In the midst of all this errand running, it started to downpour and my poor sister and I got caught in the rain and soaked.  Luckily the storms brought the temperature down by about 30 degrees, and it is absolutely gorgeous today!  Maybe I’ll even be able to get in a run outside.

Alright, I hope everyone has a good Monday I’m off to actually do some work!

21 Responses

  1. I cannot decide what I’m more jealous of nordstroms or season 52. I LOVE them both. And the food looks soooo yummy!!!

    Also, so excited for your half marathon plan!!!

    • Haha well I’m jealous of you being able to eat whatever you want with your IM training! I’ll be posting my full plan soon!

  2. What a great weekend….Nordstroms is my FAVE!!!

  3. I went to Seasons 52 this weekend also along with 7 other Atlanta bloggers!! I LOVE that place!! And the dessert shooters are the BEST part!! 🙂

  4. Cedar plank salmon is just awesome. It’s one of my favorites when I find it on the menu at a restaurant!

  5. I always have to get my pants hemmed. Even capris are sometimes too long for me. Looks like a stellar meal, but those desserts are sooo small. Probably a good thing, but still! MAS CHOCOLATE POR FAVOR.

    • I can never find pants that are long enough. All my dress work pants are like floods because Express makes like 2 colors in long length and I own both of them. Because the deserts are so small it makes it ok to order multiple!

  6. I am dying to eat at a Seasons 52, such a bummer that there’s not one anywhere close to here.

  7. We just had a blogger meet up at Seasons 52! It was my first time dining there and it was soooo good. I had my eye on that filet but opted for something cheaper instead. I now see I should have gone with my gut. It looks amazing!

    Love your blog. 🙂

    • Hehe well my mom was treating for my birthday which is why I went with the filet, but yes I seriously recommend it! Thank you 🙂

  8. I just ate there! I also inhaled that same flatbread, as well as a goat cheese and artichoke one. I ate lite though so its ok! We had the desserts too, loved rocky road. My girls and I decided we’re gonna go back every season.

    • It’s so hard for me to pick just a few things to order, I seriously want to try everything! Are you still running, I need a running partner. Email me so we can be facebook friends!

  9. I love Seasons 52. I just went there on Friday and had the tomato flatbread for my entree. Yum.

  10. That pizza looks amazing.

    How are you liking your MacBook? I’ve been wanting to get one.

  11. I just noticed Seasons 52 the last time I went to KOP! How good was Nordstroms sale?! Your dessert looks fab.. yummm!

Leave a comment